Kitchen Knife -5minutefreewritesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite5 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-695-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-kitchen-knife
Kitchen The kitchen has a lot of sharp things. Not all of them are knives, but many of them are. There’s just so much to hurt yourself with. When Lochlan was little, we decided that we would always put knives down in the sink rather than ever on a countertop. We’re pretty good at doing that, though it’s occasionally not intuitive. It didn’t matter for a goodly portion of his existence so far, but now it matters.

Once, when there was a knife in a hand. That was not a complete sentence, but I like it the way it is. The hand’s owner said, “I’m afraid that I’m going to lose control and stab you.” This didn’t scare the other person, but it scared the person saying it.

No one lost control. No one got stabbed. But it’s that same feeling as when you’re on something tall, and you just wonder and worry that you’ll decide to jump over the edge. You know that feeling? It’s terrible and confusing.

Why oh why do our brains lead us down dark paths? I understand it evolutionarily. I think we imagine the worst things so that we can prepare from them, er, for them. But it’s debilitating. And I’m not sure it prepares us so often as it paralyzes us.

Was there a time when I took more risks? Like, fun risks? Was there a time when my body was fun? When I leaped and ran?

Sort:  

You sure have deep thoughts on this one, @improv. I have had some paralyzing times myself recently and it is not good. I force myself to do something - anything.

Here is your next prompt:

https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-696-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-naked-baby

And I would like to ask you to help me win - or stay in second place in a dpoll contest by theycallmedan. it should be the second poll on this page:

https://dpoll.io/?page=7

You will see:
"NewSteem Twitter Memes & Gif Contest DPoll" and dan's cartoon face, lol.

It is so old now it is hard to link.

When you get to the dpoll, you will need to login there with keychain or steemconnect and vote for me if you like my poster. I am the last out of 108 choices, so scroll to the very bottom. This is a dpoll vote - not a steem vote, so you are not using your voting power if you vote.

Thank you so much if you can do this for me, @improv. A win will really help me succeed on steem as well as help the small blogs I vote for. The fork has had fairly good results for me - not so much for those under 500 sp.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Intrusive thoughts + impulsivity + uninhibitedness + thought disorder , and perhaps a dose of unfortunate happenstance upon an irreversible timeline ...
Can result in one finding themselves atop a tall and dark spot. Maybe it's in the climbing down and the lumination that we find we are paralysed.

I am frozen in my kitchen right now typing to you. Typing nonsence that has layers of ambiguity and memory and contrived concealment. I was the most impulsive youngen. I am now very different. So many risks taken I am too aware of the possible, I try to contain everything to protect my loves. I know it inhibits them and no doubt steers them in the direction of another danger or uncertainty, or limits there own experience. But what do you do?
There was a time when my body was fun? When I leaped and ran?
How I long to run again. I would run with scissors if I could run again, it was my drug.
That reminds me of a weird Al album


Sourced randomly from youtube, don"t have permissions from Al, don't know if that person has permission... Living more dangerously already! It feels a bit weird, pun not intended, but hey, you are the pun man.... I have tried to pun for you several times btw, I just can't force a pun out, not matter how hard I try.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ps
I didn't think I could do a five minute free write today, when I saw the prompt my brain went in several directions that I didn't want to go in. But I guess I just did. Thanks. I did half the 3 prompt write as a ballad, then binned it. I have attempted a few weekend writes recently, without success.
I am counting this random commentary as a success.

Also, I had to inhibit my wording with reference to my use of inhibited. Although it is grammatically incorrect, in psychiatry they say disinhibited not un. I also dislike using ness on words. I think it happens to much, people chuck a ness on everything these days. I have been composing a list of pet hates... yes I'm in an interesting place psychologically atm. Pet hates and aversions posts coming soon. Bet you can't wait for that one? Will be like a whinging Seinfeld ep. Apparently Seinfeld is retro cool now. That makes me feel old.

Yay! Any writing is a success! It's hard enough just to start.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61497.86
ETH 2992.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69