History -5minutefreewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-419-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-history

Which history?

The history of freewrites?
The history of my freewrites?
The history of my typing?

Oh, yes. That's a neural pathway I haven't journeyed down in quite some time. Typing. Let's see.

I think I remember elementary school. There was a computer room that was on the other side of... it was

Hm. So, te computer room was long and narrow. One row of computers on one wall, another opposite it, and just enough room when the chairs were pushed in to get by.

I imagine it had been a coat/cubby room. It was just past the school entrance. Oh, the layout of the school is flooding back. It was a cool layout, IMHO as I remember. So you walked in, and there on the right was the kindergarten classroom. You had to walk through the computers to get to it. And next to that doorway, also through the computer room, was the library. I think they both had doors to the outside on the other side of them. Easy access to recess. Did kindergarteners have recess? I can't remember.

The computers themselves were ... well, they had Oregon Trail and some rocket ship game that I always imagined would be cool if I could ever successfully land, but it retrospect, knowing what games really were like back then, the entire game may have been landing the rocket. I imagined going out of the rocket to explore a strange new world. But even nowadays, games rarely have a lot of exploring you can do built into them. Sigh.

Anywhoodles.

There's the rocket game. Did I learn any coding? No, I'm confusing this with middle school there. No, but there was surely a game that was typing disguised as a game, but I wasn't fooled and didn't enjoy that game, and therefore never learned how to type. Funny how I learned work was something to not enjoy. I wonder how I learned that, because it's definitely not inherent.

DSC05266.JPG

Sort:  

When I was in school there were no computers and I longed for a typewriter of my own. When I finally have the opportunity to take it, I ended up getting a D in it! We had to have perfect papers to turn in and I didn't have any extra class time in order to go back and fix my mistakes. Who knew that I would be on the computer all day long at work typing? I never did like those typing games either.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, you have won a full 100% upvote from MAP Rewarder Free Vote Friday!
Congratulations!

As your posts have already been upvoted, I voted on this comment :-)


MAP Rewarder Makes Delegating More Rewarding!

Thank you very much! 😃😍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

@improv Thank you for not using bidbots on this post and also using the #nobidbot tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45