Grief -5minutefreewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-298-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-grief

Let's talk grief!

I haven't had a ton of real grief in my life. People I knew and admired have died, but not so well that every waking moment I am hit with a sense of loss. Just some of the waking moments. And when I am, it is more as an empathetic reaction, imagining how I would feel if I were one of the people who were closest to them. I imagine what it would be like for @stinawog or @loch or myself to die, and how each of us would feel.

I experienced grief when my childhood dog... died. I spent years mourning that dog, and thinking about him, and when I do today, it's a little more present, but the thought of all the years that we could have been together hits me hard. It is a mourning for what could have been. But everything goes on, and that means other things are not chosen. I try to figure out in each moment whether I'm doing what I'll be glad to have done. Moments with the kiddo are obviously easy to be glad of. It's hard to measure moments spent on the non-acting portion of my career. By that, I mean, investing time in trying to GET jobs. When I'm actually acting, I don't regret it - or in rehearsal or doing something that is a part of the actual work... but when I'm...whatever, taking myself away from my family to worry over headshots or

oh, 5 minutes ended.

Sort:  

A one year old dog is as physically mature as a 15 year old human.

Hi @improv, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @loch doesn't exist on Steem. Did you mean to write @boch ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

That's true, thanks @checky! I'm hoping/planning that it will be my son's handle, though.

You better get the name now, dear friend. It may be gone before he has a chance to get it.

We've applied.

Posted using Partiko Android

A good write in five minutes! I believe gref is what we each, individually, handle situations life gives us. I've know all kinds of people, from one girl who wanted to kill herself for several years over the lose of a dog, to my dad who I have never seen cry. (Even at the death of his mother and other loved ones.) I'm in the middle. After loosing my first son, I came to grips with the fact that life ultimately death(on this level of existence) and become much more accepting of the things in life that normally cause grief. Life is as it is, and on a daily basis has the potential to do multiple 180s. So, I go along with the flow and vibrations of life as I always try to maintain a positive mindset and always look for ways to help others. (DON'T GET ME WRONG, I DEFINITELY HAVE SOME REALLY OFF DAYS)😁
Annnyhow, I've rambled to long. Have a great day, enjoy that kid brother and always love!

With the flow is the only way to go. I'm sorry about your loss, friend, and glad you've found a way to move forward through the world with the grief. I hope to never experience that. Much love to you.

Posted using Partiko Android

invest your time in steem lol

Well, I do. ;P

Nice to be able to say you haven’t had a ton of grief in your life. Long may it last!
It’s the midweek prompt delivery service here with the challenge for today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-300-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-towel

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59583.90
ETH 2578.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48