Control || 5-minute Daily Freewrite by @mariannewest

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

Often times, when I saw my son out of control, I tend to ask him to control himself. Or I would ask him to calm down. That suggestion itself would make him even worse, because he got upset with me asking him to control himself when he was already obviously could not.

I humbled myself and acknowledged I was making a mistake in saying so. Trying to improve as a mother, so I read up this article, that blog, this parenting website, so on and so forth.

Turns out it is true that children's inability to control themselves is valid. They can't. And they just can't. It has to do with the development of the brain — one part of their brain is still growing.

Ironically, when children cannot control themselves and start to have meltdown or throwing some tantrum, you notice adults follow suit. I thought adult's brains are fully developed? Go figure. Haha.

Well, I was guilty as charge. So I vowed to improve.

I have improved alot since then. I learn that when my sons become uncontrollable that is the moment they need me to be the most controlled person. Able to squat down to their eye-level and still tell them, "I know you are having big feelings now and it is challenging, so mummy is right here with you" instead of "control yourself please!".

Parenting is a gift. A blessing. To unlearn and relearn many things. Because you tend realise you also actually can't control yourself and you are starting to learn to control yourself in times of children's meltdown.

pixpoetry-762223-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Pixpoetry is taken from Unsplash.com

iw3z5idqf5.png

image

This is another 5-minute freewrite using daily prompt by @mariannewest. You can check her out. If you want to know more about 5-minute freewrite, click here.. Join us as at the @freewritehouse

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_round.png
20180212_193505 (1).png
thealliance_ladies_1.png
20180516_002249_0001.png
esteem-banner-credits-dunsky-podanrj.png
4i88GgaV8qiFU89taP2MgKXzwntUGAvkoQiKU7VxyD37q9aa9d37vam1ey34p61Vic24To2egoaWyzoxaU15ES7uTztUYnGRP9j7mgNK7FFc6KJWBZLdMtdUpe.png

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

I found your thoughts the same as mine when I was a young mother. I also had to unlearn my family's way s once I saw myself doing what I disagreed with as a child. It took me awhile to see myself but I'm glad I finally did.

Me too, unlearning family ways. Thank goodness nowadays there are lots of educational blogs out there for us to learn from as well.

Nice meeting you here, @willowwisp :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by iamjadeline💕 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Saya terharu dengan anda @iamjadeline selalu berusaha menjadi ibu terbaik putranya.

We would not say 'control yourself' but: 'behave' or 'behave yourself'. It all doesn't make sense.

Posted using Partiko Android

What children deem as control is far different from what we adults perceive it to be. You're doing great, mummy! Xx

The @freewritehouse sparkle is here for today's prompt delivery: hear, here
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-515-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-hear-hear

You’ve been featured in our weekly curation post Freewrite Favorites at @freewritehouse. Thank you for participating and raising the bar with awesome, creative freewrites! Freewrite On!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66