Looking at you (freewrite)

in #freewrite6 years ago

Sometimes I think about you and I can't think straight. I think I see you in the window and I get scared. So terribly scared. I try to scream, but no words come out and you smile because you know. You put your hand on the window-seal and I shake my head. No, don't please, don't come in. I ask you not to come in and you ignore me, like it's all just a dream.
Maybe it is, but it's a very strange dream, because in my dream, blood starts pouring down your eyes and mouth and the more I try to scream 'no', the more right you are, the more blood comes out and then the window starts becoming unhinged and you tilt it and wiggle it and you yell at me to open the door, the window, anything just to let you in but I can't. I can't. I can't.
I can't let you in because you're dead. I watched them as they closed the casket over your cold dead body. I know it was cold because I leaned in to kiss you one more time. On the cheek, like all we ever were was friends. Pals, passing one another through life, eh?
36451458_1717875288268265_5535798891301044224_n.jpg
I kissed your cheek and I remembered how you used to kiss me on the forehead when I was a little girl. You used to come into the house and scoop me up in your arms and kiss me and how I never felt alone when you were around, no matter how bad things got at home, no matter how much I hated them or how close I was to the edge, you always made it better.
And now I can't open the window, I can't let you in anymore and it kills me.
It kills me to see you on the other side of the glass, to see you out there in the cold, all alone. And I'd love for you to come in. I'd love to kiss you, just once more. To make you feel okay like you used to make me feel.
But I can not. Because you are no longer there. You're dead. I know you're dead because I listened to the grand piano play at the funeral.
I'm sorry but I can't open the window. You stay there, little ghost, 'cause I can't help you now.

Today's prompt was 'grand piano' and this just came to my mind. Thanks to @mariannewest for hosting the 5 minute freewrite challenge. Check her out!

Thank you for reading,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

@honeydue nice miyu tree in colourful red variety nice amazing tree beautiful colours


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Hi honeydue,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Your post was nominated and featured on this week's Freewrite Favorites at @freewritehouse

Thanks for joining us for this #freewrite challenge and keep up the great work!

freewriteFavorites300.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66081.13
ETH 3315.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69