Day 110 Freewrite - Meeting my Spirit Animal in California

in #freewrite7 years ago

California. What a place. I went there for the very first time just a few months back. It was an incredible experience. There are so many things that are very different there.

The first thing I noticed is that everything is BLOODY HUGE. The cars people drive are all huge. The highways are massive. Everything is very spaced out. All the packaging and portions were bigger. Oh and course... the costs were bigger too.

As we drove through the beautiful mountain ranges and redwood forests of Humboldt county, I couldn't help but be totally mesmerised by the surroundings and scenery that flooded past. It truly is a beautiful place.

Then we have Garberville... What a weird old place that is! I wasn't there often but my friend lived there so I would visit him from time to time during my 6 weeks in that area. From knife fights, vagrants, drug addicts and general weird vibes... Garberville definitely isn't a place I would necesarrily recommend people to go to.

I also discovered my spirit animal whilst in California. For over a year I had a strong feeling that the Stag was my spirit animal (story for another time). When I got to Salmon Creek, the place I would be staying, I kept seeing groups of deers walking together, which in itself was a beautiful sight. But after several weeks, I was still yet to spot a male deer... the stag. With this strong feeling I’d had, I wanted to connect with one in the flesh.

So I said to the Universe....

"YO!!! I wanna know my spirit animal y'all... So I'm gonna say to you... if the stag is my spirit animal, then show me one before I leave here"

Then I forgot about my request.

On the last day, after the whole crew leaving me alone to visit a state fayre, I decided to take advantage of the situation and do my work completely naked on what was a scorching hot afternoon atop a beautiful mountain.

After over 4 hours of being truly connected with nature in that way, I loaded the truck and began the drive down the mountain.

When coming to an opening, my eyes darted to the horizon and I came to a complete halt as I locked eyes with the most noble and majestic creature I have seen with my own eyes...

The stag.

So now...

Now I know.

=====

Thanks for reading my daily 5 minute freewrite and thanks always to @mariannewest and @improv for making it real.

I had to go over by about 30 seconds to finish the story. Written and timed used The Most Dangerous Writing App.

I don't usually include pics with these but I had to for this one!

2017-09-24 18.40.12.jpg

^^ This was the moment we locked eyes… we literally just stared at each other for what felt like about 3 or 4 minutes, in total silence, as I turned the engine of the truck off. It was a truly special moment for me. I just knew without doubt that my question had been answered... on my last day there!

2017-09-24 18.42.49.jpg

^^ I have many pictures that I took in the moments that followed, and soon a second stag popped up from the grassy horizon and they both continued to stare at me. Just magic!

Sort:  

so cool that you found your spirit animal here!!

Yeah it was such a beautiful moment... when our eyes locked like that for so long I just knew my question had been answered!

PS thanks always for reading and commenting <3

Amazing story and what a great experience meeting your spirit animal. I remember when I met mine, it was special, so I know this was a huge moment for you. Thank you for sharing it with us 💚

Yeah it was really a wonderful moment... a fantastic day in general! Awww I'd love to hear more about your experience - how / when you met and what animal it is and what it meant to you!

Thanks so much for reading and commenting, I'm glad you enjoyed the story!

With love
Hart Floe
<3

What a seeet story. Except for the sketchy town.

Thaaaank you! Yeah... Harberville is pretty sketchy... but you can't plaint California as nothing but pure raw beauty when of course, as with everywhere else in the world, darkness and ugliness also exists in the same realm!

Thank you always for reading and commenting... I'm glad you enjoyed the rest of the story. I should have just told that story but alas... the freewrite brought other aspects to the forefront of my mind first!

With love
Hart Floe
<3

Congratulations @hartfloe! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The part I liked the most is the one about Garberville and it's weird vibes, but also the photos.. it really stands there looking at you silhouetted at the horizon.

Yeah it's pretty damn weird there haha... I'm glad you like the photos... I took so many and I feel like they all capture the magic of the moment!

Thanks so much for reading and commenting :)

With love
Hart Floe
<3

Very interesting piece and well written, even if you did have to go 30 seconds over;)

I'm your friendly freewrite encourager visiting with today's prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-111-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-dream

Thaaank you :) You can read my freewrite for dreams at here if you like --> I Dream of Unity

Thanks for dropping by, reading, commenting and sending me the new prompt!

--> Everything Transforms

With love
Hart Floe
<3

I don't understand anything about spirit animals, but this seems like a very special moment for you @hartfloe I'm very happy for you and a stag is a great animal to have a connection with - strong and noble

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61904.26
ETH 2409.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68