A Punchline In Search Of A Joke—Five Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite5 years ago

So, the bartender says, "It's in the club!"

Ha ha ha. That's hilarious. Great joke, my man.

Thank you, Chuck. I've worked on that for a while now.

Enjoy the party.

Thanks, you, too.

club-152526_1280.png

Hey, Dale. Long time no see!

Oh, hey, Larry. It has been a while. How are you?

I'm great. It's nice seeing all kinds of people from our high school days.

Yep. Lots of them here this time around. This your first reunion?

Yeah. I thought they might be lame. This has been cool so far, though.

Yep.

I guess you were telling a joke. Something about, "It's in the club?"

Well, that's the punch line. Kind of had to be there.

I'd love to hear the rest.

I don't know. It's probably not going to be that funny now that you know how it ends.

Try me.

I don't know...

No really. I'd really like to hear it.

All right. You asked for it. So, it goes like this. A neanderthal walks into a bar...

What? Wait. A neanderthal? Are you sure? Bars didn't come along until millions of years after the neanderthals died out.

See. I told you it wouldn't work.

No, no come on. The other guys thought it was funny. I want to hear it.

Okay, but you need to let me get through it.

No problem. Fire away.

Okay. Ahem. So, this neanderthal walks into a bar...

Right.

********END OF FIVE MINUTES*******

...and he asks the gal waiting tables where he can hang his club.

So, this neanderthal speaks English? Or does the waitress speak neanderthal?

It's a joke, Larry. It's not meant to be literal.

Right. Sorry. Continue.

Okay. So the waitress tells the neanderthal "Far wall." Now, the neanderthal, he doesn't hear so well, so he says, "Did you say narwhal?"

Ha ha. Now that's funny. The idea a neanderthal would even know what a narwhal was...

Larry...

Sorry. Sorry. Go ahead.

So, the waitress, thinking the neanderthal is too thick to understand, decides to speak slower and louder, "The. Club. Rack. Is. On. The. Far. Wall."

Did that help?

No, Larry. It didn't. The neanderthal still doesn't hear things clearly, so he says, "The rub clack is on the war fall?"

Ah, ha ha. I see what you did there. You reversed the first letters of the words!

Yes, I did. You know what? I don't think this is such a good idea. No worries, though. It just so happens, I haven't really eaten yet. So, I'm just going to head over to the potato bar, get something, then maybe do some more mingling. It was nice to see you.

Now, hold on there. You're not finished.

It's okay. The joke isn't going anywhere, anyway.

Why don't you just tell me why the bartender says, "It's in the club!"

That's because a T-Rex was enjoying a large barbecued rib and the neanderthal wondered where the flavor came from.

It's in the club!

Exactly.

Ha ha ha. I don't get it.

That's okay. Neither did the neanderthal.

Image source—Pixabay. Post is part of the five minute freewrite. Friday's prompt—in the club.

Sort:  

What a clever way to call someone a neanderthal, I thought the whole joke was funny. A two punchline telling.

Well, thanks @bashadow. I'm glad you liked it all. It kept threatening to get away from me. Hardest part with these particular pieces is knowing when to stop so you can cut your losses if necessary. :)

I rarely know when to stop, and the read through had a good timeliness to it. So I think it was ended just right.

That was sooo funny!!! And I have known a Larry or two. 😂

Well, thank you, @mariannewest. Yes, unfortunately, we all have a Larry or two in our past, present or future. :)

LOL! I kind of felt like the guy waiting...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Howdy sir Glen! very funny! I've never seen anyone break in with the five minute limit too, that was fun. I always wonder how long they actually spend on them!

I'm pretty slow, @janton, so I feel like I need to break in wherever the five minutes stop. A lot of folks will tell you that it took them longer than five minutes somewhere at the end. I've discovered that not everyone reads those little blurbs at the end (most don't read mine), so I figured I'd just throw it right at the point the five minutes expired.

Especially when the rest of it ends up being much longer than the part within the five minute timeline. I like to be close, though. In this case, there wasn't a way. I was making things up as a I go and it wasn't quite turning out the way I wanted it to, so as it steered into that direction I can't stopping, assessing where I was and then adding or subtracting dialogue.

It would take me an hour to write a five minute story, if not longer! lol.
So it took you 30 minutes total? Plus the time to find great photos, that's
what takes the time isn't it?

I'm not sure how long this one took me. Could have been a little longer to than half an hour to write. I don't usually take very long to find photos though. They either have something or they don't on the sites I go to. If they don't have something I'm looking for, it might take longer to come up with some other idea for images, but that doesn't happen a lot thankfully.

Well sir Glen an hour or under for a post would be world record time for me! lol.

haha... good one. Some people just don't have a sense of humour.

Maybe they just do not have a sense of humour. Humour has an intellectual, as well as an emotional element. That is why although we all have a sense of humour, it is more pronounced in some than others. :-)

We're at a point now in our civilization where every little thing needs to be scrutinized, from the mechanics of a joke to whether or not something in a movie is plausible or not. Of course it's not plausible! That's why it's cool!

I don't know. Too many people overanalyze everything and suck the fun right out of it. :)

Reunion.......
I love the way you format it, differentiating from the 5 minutes.

Holla!, am here with the weekend freewrite prompt.
...
...
You might like the single prompt https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-3-2-2019-single-prompt-option
...
...
To go pro with us.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-322019-part-1-the-first-sentence-1551501574
...
...
Do have a nice weekend.

Thank you for the prompt, @botefarm.

Yeah, I've been doing that formatting at the five minute mark more or less as a way of keeping myself honest, I guess. I don't know if anyone really cares how long it took me to write the entire thing, but I know what I did, so when it hits five minutes, I mark it, and then finish the story if there's more to it. Lately, there has been. :)

My jokes never go down well...I guess some people just have the knack. I do not. 😁 Nice write G.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, thank you, @galenkp. I was thinking I would mainly be entertaining myself with this one. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63957.85
ETH 2753.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66