Russell Brand: A five minute free write

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

The #freewrite prompt for March 20, 2018 was brand. My first thought was about branding, as in the marketing concept, but that was a dead end. I guess I am clueless about marketing myself. Then I thought of Russell Brand. I was in a seminar yesterday for my day job, and the subject matter (laws and regulations) was very dry with a few interesting stories told by the instructor to mix it up. I did my freewrite longhand during one especially dry section. I have transcribed it here, and edited it slightly.

Is Russell Brand a megalomaniac or messiah? I knew Brand as a comedian, actor, and Dr. Nefario’s voice from “Despicable Me.” While watching his comedy special “Russel Brand: Messiah Complex” I expected him to aggrandize himself and prove that he was both. By the end, however, I was thoroughly impressed with the depth and intellectual nature of his comedy. He made me think, and changed my mind about a few things. Since then, I have found that Brand is also a radio and podcast host who uses his platform for social activism. He draws attention to financial inequality, drug addiction, corporatism, and media bias among other topics. His podcast has been enlightening, and whatever else Russel Brand is, he is also a teacher. Namaste.

Sort:  

I will definitely have to check out Russel Brand. Using comedy to get the truth out is a great and so is this freewrite. Tip!
Coming to you with a spring in my step and a fresh new prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-153-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-speaker

Hi @ghostsinahatbox! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @whatisnew!

This is an amazing use of the prompt! I started off with the marketing thought myself and didn't get anywhere, so I turned it into something else, too - but a Freewrite about Russell Brand is awesome! He also founded the Trew Era Café in London (always wanted to drop by). He had started off with a few shows on BBC that I didn't really consider funny (or it just wasn't my humor), but he has done a lot more since then, and many things that I really love, also very witty with words, especially when he's doing something together with Noel Fielding :))

Thanks, I might have to let my mind wander in dry seminars more often.

That's definitely a good plan, haha ;)

Nice job on this freewrite challenge. It's so interesting to me how different minds make different leaps. One second you're thinking about advertising, the next, an actor, etc.

And in case you didn't know, you can tag newbieresteem day. They will resteem posts from new Steemit members there. You and I both qualify ;)

Thanks for the tip about newbieresteem day :-)

I love Russell Brands humor. He makes me laugh so much! I also love that he uses his comedy to draw attention to the matters that mean the most to him! I wish more actors did such.

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60004.45
ETH 2418.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43