Freewrite Favorites Week 7/9/2019

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

Freewrite House Favorites from Your Recommendations

Week7/9/2019 - Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

)

Click on the photos to read the blog posts

Remember if a post is older than 6 days, try to find something more recent to upvote so they can get the rewards. Thank you so much for your support!

FWH-faves.png

@sidequest

I just read a really well-written freewrite for the calico cat prompt:


I love the narrator’s voice and the pacing is fantastic, just right to take a very ordinary, realistic scene and make it exciting and almost unbelievable, and then bring it home with the perfect ending. The fact that @ddschteinn had a good time writing it really shines through and makes it fun for all of us reading.

FWH-faves.png

@carolkean

The calico cat prompt drew me too. Limiting myself to just one Favorite (for the second week in a row!), I'm calling attention to a new Freewrite member who just posted his first freewrite with us--and he's only just learning English. We at @Freewritehouse have a lot of respect for non-native English writers. I love @gingbabida's commentary on mange.


This is my first time to enter in this challenge. But first, I have to google the meaning of mangy calico cat. Being a non-English speaker myself, I'm just learning English more and more. And now I have learned something new: mange! This is a new vocabulary for me.

(Carol again:) I'm wondering what it says about it me that so many of us had to look up "mangy calico" while I knew first-hand about that stuff, having grown up on a farm half a century ago. (Go easy on me, Millennials, and I'll go easy on your English. Maybe. Pinkie-Swear.) :)

@whatisnew

Listen up everyone! @byn is back in the house! She never disappoints. The dark story she wrote, "One Last Try" is so full of imagery that it heightened all of my senses to make me feel like I was there. I could especially feel the pain and despair of the character, and the ending was a cliff-hanger. You don't want to miss this one.

I was laughing like crazy with @fitnfun's hilarious freewrite for the 2 prompts: @deeanndmathews and the Sexy Tango. @fitnfun gives us her interpretation of what she thought happened with the prompt mix up, by writing her own version of a conversation between @mariannewest and @dreemsteem. You don't want to miss this one either.

And then there is @wonderwop. OMG! I was ROFLOL! He writes what his version of the sexy Tango would be and the reasons why. You definitely can't miss this one!

FWH-faves.png

@marblely

Hellooo there!! My favourites this week are:

@wonderwop says it as it is. Pepperoni pizza (or any pizza for that matter) does not stand a chance to turn stale when @wonderwop is around. I like how candid and funny the post was, coupled with a photo of himself and Debbie with a big tray of pizza in front of them makes it all worth the while to read.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@owasco/zapped

An interesting freewrite from @owasco that shows the positive side of things - even after being zapped by the frayed power cord. When I think about getting zapped or electrocuted, I would think of possible death but who knew a new life began in this story after being zapped - a wonderful story.

@mariannewest

I am a sucker for a good twist. And I liked this one by @sidequest. Don't want to say too much and give the story away, all I am going to tell you is that it starts with a Victorian-era setup that transports you back to the classics of that time. You have to read it yourself LOL

FWH-faves.png

@wonderwop

Today while I was dropping the morning prompt, I spotted this #freewrite by @myjob on the prompt frayed power cord. She was having issues with her fish finder and found out it was the transponder cord, but the cool thing was as she was reeling in her catch, a shark took a bite out of her fish and just left the hook and head. Great photos! 👍

FWH-faves.png

@fitinfun

I have two recommendations this week; both from "The Sexy Tango" prompt:
@deeanndmathews has probably muted me since I have mentioned her so many times this week, but I love this post she wrote about music in the Senior Home. I used to work in that business, and she captures so well the way things change when music comes on. A slumbering land becomes animated.

@marblely's post is a touching, sad, hopeful tale of a woman making the best of her situation, and feeling happy anyway. I teared up at the end of it.
Wonderful reads from both of them:)

FWH-faves.png

@wakeupkitty

Two this time. Instead of taking the train I ended up with a ride in the ambulance to the hospital.
It is all about stale pepperoni pizza.
Not everyones favorite.I thank both writers for the good laugh they gave me.
My 1st recommendation is written by @fitinfun.
With this one she is catching up, inviting the freewriters and is delegating them some (of her) work.
She has been busy, while being sick, with "weight losers" and after she recommended the present freehouse adoptee of the week, she is even busier. Writing tips for minnows is one of her babies (use them).
What this all has to do with pizza you can find out yourself.

My 2nd recommendation is about pizza too. It's written by @mgaft1
Rodney does not like the last piece of pizza left in the fridge. It's pepperoni and smells stale so it ends up in the garbage can.
The garbage can is just not what Rodney thinks it is and the piece turns out to be a gift from heaven.

FWH-faves.png

@chireerocks

@freewritehouse, Team kindly find the below piece for your reference which is shared by @wonderwop.
https://partiko.app/wonderwop/day-623-freewrite-friday-deeanndmathews?referrer=chireerocks
In my opinion particular individual as a prompt happens rarely but definitely in the Freewrite Ecosystem it happened. @deeanndmathews as prompt and @wonderwop expressed very poetic way towards @deeanndmathews's art.
Keep up team and have a wonderful time ahead and stay blessed.

FWH-faves.png

Happy Friday from @carolkean!

Thank you for nominating, everyone, and thank you for reading, upvoting, resteeming, and social media sharing!


Make sure to participate in all the fun events at the Freewrite House
Regular Features
Freewrite House Adoptee of the Week
Steemzuela Ventest - Stories of Venezuela
Recommend your Favorite Freewrite and Win SBI - Tuesday
We-Write and win SBI -coming back in the middle of June
Freewrite Favorites
The Freewritehouse Literary Talent Award - English, German & Spanish - monthly with reminders.
Beta Reader Group -ongoing
Author Reading
Make a House video

Finding a Freewrite

If you are not familiar with the daily freewrite prompt and the many wonderful writers who produce the most amazing 5-minute (or sometimes much longer) Freewrites, go to @mariannewest and look for the prompt. The graphics look like this

In the comments, you find lots of links to all kind of freewrites.

Check Out The @FreeWriteHouse Prompt Of The Day By @MarianneWest

Join us on Twitter to spread the word about Steem https://twitter.com/FreewriteHouse

Sort:  

Thank you to @whatisnew and @wakeupkitty for nominating my ramblings about the our talented adoptee, @deeanndmathews . In the words of @chireerocks:

In my opinion a particular individual as a prompt happens rarely but definitely in the Freewrite Ecosystem it happened.

Hahaha!

Thank you for all the laughs this week, when I really needed them.

@fitinfun, Thank you so much for your kind mention of my thoughts. Have a pleasant time ahead.

Posted using Partiko Android

You are welcome. @chireerocks. Thanks for the laugh :)

Welcome. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

You are welcome you gave me a good laugh too 😘💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Awww, thank you @carolkean for mentioning me as a favorite. I never saw it coming. Thank you so, so much. It means a lot. I never thought that my ignorance about the word "mange" would capture you. Hahaha! 😂😁 Again, thank you.

Thank you everyone as well. I had a good laugh reading your writeups, and I'm learning from you all. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

You're most welcome, and I hope to see more from you.
And I still love that name - Ging Babida!

@freewritehouse, Thank you so much for your kind mention team. Stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, I'm in here! Thank you @mariannewest :)

How fun to be nominated for this! 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54034.48
ETH 2262.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31