5 min Writing Prompt "Surprise Coming to You" #freewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago

surprise.jpg

He walked into the room.

"SURPRI - oh, it's Terry."

Standing there for a minute, Terry didn't quite know what to do, until someone took his arm and made him hide behind a couch.

A few minutes later someone else showed up.

"SURPR- ak! Not him!"

It was Rob's birthday. Everyone was waiting for Rob. He was supposed to show up. Another shadow fell across the doorway.

"SU- dammit!"

Everyone but Rob.

Pretty soon the party broke up. Sarah was beside herself, but Terry didn't really know her that well; he'd only shown up to borrow an LP from her boyfriend Mike. So after Mike gave him the vinyl he left.

On his way home he ran into Rob.

"Hey Rob! Happy birthday!"

Rob was impressed, even more so when he gave him the LP as a gift. It just seemed like the thing to do.



Fair Use image reference from Kenny G Greatest Hits Compilation available here.

Written in five minutes from the writing prompt, "Surprise Coming to You" as part of the #freewrite exercise. You can view the prompt here and check out the other entries; you will never guess in a hundred years what they are... Thanks to @mariannewest for creating and running this daily dose of the unexpected.

Sort:  

This was very well done. It really tells a story in a very short time without having that feeling of: but what's all the shit he left out? Very cool, it feels from a different time.

I don't know, I interpreted as that it could be set in the present time. Four years ago, I decided to go back to vinyl and I know I'm not the only one.
:-) Great story.

Yeah, a few days ago, I got my turntable hooked back up to my amp. Still have about a hundred LP's hanging about, but don't listen to them exclusively. The story can take place at any time and while not dependent on the LP's, they were probably my only time clue. While you listen to vinyl, do you have that many friends who also listen to them? Just wondering what the culture is like there. Ta.

Thanks @dennisauburn and @mr-neil, and lets not forget that Kenny G will always remain timeless.

I'm from UK, so there is always music available. I got lucky one time, I found 30 LPs for 50p each. Good ones. There are new second hand record shops opening everywhere.

For new LPs, I get them off Amazon. I live in the UAE, but the delivery prices are very reasonable. I pay more than CD, but it is standard to have a digital download card or even a CD included.

I think you've just given me the idea for my next blog. Super.

You just buying new or old LPs? What kind of equipment do you use?

Both, old and new. I got a Pro-ject Elemental for £150 which needed a small pre-amp. It is light, so I brought it over to the UAE with me.

Ok guys. I decided that I am going to do a series of blogs about my vinyl collection. I've started with Queen's debut album. This blog is my inspiration.

It is a daily dose of the unexpected. Love the gift of the LP :)
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-71-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-toothache

Thank you. Kinda stumped on the toothache prompt... Wait...

"toothache"... "stumped"...

And so it begins...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50