Freewrite – A Special Occasion - Original PhotographysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite7 years ago

He was not the kind of guy who bought flowers. Not usually. Only for special occasions. It had been thirty years. Thirty long years since he had left the Scottish glen for the anonymous cosmopolitan soup of London. Thirty years since he had turned his back on his glen, his home, his family, and all that he had once held dear. Thirty years of shame clung around his neck like the albatross in the Rime Of The Ancient Mariner.

She loved poinsettias. She loved Christmas. Poinsettias are not technically flowers, but guys don't know these things. It was Christmas Eve, so poinsettias then! It was settled!

As he trudged through the soft snow, he could almost feel the albatross of the last thirty years releasing from his neck. The world had changed, but his Highland glen that he once called home remained the same. Nothing had changed. What a fool he had been to walk away!

What would she say after all these years? What was there to say?

Nervously he tapped on the door.

“Dad!”
“Maureen”
“You are too late. We buried Mum last week.”

poinsettia.JPG
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.

Thanks to @mariannewest for creating the #freewrite challenge. You can read about today's challenge here


Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it.

dmcamera steemusa banner.png

TEAMCANADA-SIGN - smallest.png

To check out my art prints and stock images online, please visit my website.

Sort:  

What she would have said-
What a fool you had been to walk away!

But, too late! :-(

Yeah that :'(

She could visit him in his dream?

Ah, how sad! 🙁

Can I have the Poinsettias then? 😏

That was a very nice and well done 5 minute freewrite, you had me all the way to the end, so much so that I could almost feel the blow, the disappointment, and the guilt. Again, well done! 👍

Thanks! Glad I had you till the end! :-)

Arghhhh!! You killed her off!! I wanted her to kick his you know what ... :)
Two options today! Challenge yourself with a 3-prompt freewrite (15 min) or choose from any of the single prompts we did before.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-3-the-first-sentence
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-31-weekend-freewrite-3-single-prompt-option

Haha! He got his butt kicked psychologically. LOL!

keep it up. nice.

Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for stopping by.

That last line felt incredibly heavy. It was amazing that he was able to make it to the door with all of that weight pulling on him. Well done!

You write so trully... Thank you

Thanks. I'm glad you dropped by!

That's a hard lesson to learn. Don't leave it too late. Great post!

Thanks. I wrote a similar (much longer) short story about 30 years ago, and some of the ideas from it popped into my head for this short freewrite.

The last part really choked me up. Nevertheless, it was beautifully written. Beautiful poinsettia photo too! Well done @dmcamera :)

Yeah, that was the twist at the end. I'm glad you liked it!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 16 November 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

A beautiful read indeed. Touching but facts are facts. Wish he would have realised it earlier. Upvoted and following u.
Regards Nainaz
#thealliance

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54134.64
ETH 2467.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16