YOU JUST NEVER KNOW....

in #freewrite6 years ago

Gary had just had a wonderful afternoon. School had let out early and he had played with Jim and Will in the trees up on the hill behind his house. He had played hard and was appropriately dirty. As he skipped down the long driveway to his house his pace slowed. He rounded the turn where the old large family home could be seen and he almost stopped. He hated coming home.
He finally made it thru the front door and was greeted by his mom with his house coat in her hand.
Damn it mom, I'm too hot to wear that thing.
His mom ignored him and straightened his coat on his shoulders. You know we have to look tidy, you never know who's going to drop by tonite.
Gary grumbled. He had made his token resistance and started up the stairway to his room. His mother said that the family members who had lived and died in this dusty old house still lived here and she didn't want her family to be dressed inappropriately. He turned to say something else in rebellion to his mom and saw her smiling and talking softly to something. He knew she was weird, but didn't know she was crazy. He tried to step back down the stairway, but missed the step and tumbled down.
He could hear voices around him. He was laying flat on his back, so he must have passed out for a short while.
Is he going to be alright?
Of course he is, he's strong.
Get a wet towel to put on his forehead.
Gary finally opened his eyes and saw a gathering around him. He could see thru most of them. And they seemed to float.
His mother helped him to his feet and asked if he was alright. I'm not sure he said, who are they?
They are our guests for tonite. And she began to introduce his long-dead relatives.
When she introduced the rigid great-aunt Florence, she replied, well he may be dirty, but at least he has his house coat on.

Sort:  

Mwhahaha this was amazing - awesome fun! i was just thinking, when I started reading, about how I never understood this idea of 'you never know who might drop by', like your house isn't a hotel, you should know when you have guests over, but the twist was just...amazing.
And really fun to imagine. Nice work, do keep it up!

Anyway, I'm in charge of delivering the next prompt (which I really hope you'll do), so there ya go:

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-187-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-nail

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thank you for the read. You never know what's around the corner. :-))

This was GREAT!! silly kid thinking his MOm was crazy! That will teach him!

Thank you. Well, you just never know. :-))

Yes! Wonderful story!!! For some reason, I especially love the line

He had played hard and was appropriately dirty.

Thanks. I gotta say I like it when parents let their kids get dirty and grass-stained with holes in their Levis.

You would have loved my parenting style ;) And now I'm continuing with the next generation by teaching my grandsons to play in the mud, too!

That is so good! I am so glad that you are writing again!! And @byn is not going to like that you didn't put a picture!!

I may have to find a photo to go along with this one. I think it definitely needs to be in the @freewritehouse Favorites this week!

I have these old Daguerreotypes - like tintypes - of my ancestors. They are so faded they look like ghosts now, it amuses me no end but it probably would creep out the grandkids so they are not on the wall...

Bring out one at a time with a ghost story. Keep the little dudes in line. :-))

I like the way you think... bwa-haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67095.54
ETH 3462.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71