Day 571: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: global

in #freewrite5 years ago

20161112_163918.jpg

I am your global companion, and with me, you have a love-hate relationship, although I am perfectly indifferent to you as I travel the world (and have been enabling you to travel too, for centuries).

I am the bearer of every tale your nose has ever received. Every perfume that has ever been, from the flower, the wood, and to any human companion wearing it, has come to your knowledge through me. Every stench, from the daily bathroom aromas to the rotting of animal and vegetable, to the chemical miasmas of your human making, has come to you and warned you of something not quite right through me ... and, I have told your tales, foul or fair, to those around you.

In your house, how you feel about me depends upon my mood. You welcome me more in the summer than in the winter, I notice. Of course I can be nasty at either time, and depending on where you live and how I feel, I can take your house away with me at my pleasure, at any time of the year.

Also in your house, fire is my friend ... your fireplace is a pleasure because of me and a proper chimney. But I said fire is my friend, not yours. You control my friend as best you can. If not, we will take your house and every house roundabout, on an energetic day for me.

By me, all things that are dry upon the earth become wet at the proper time, and all things that are wet become dry. By me, there is a global stream of constant change -- and where I am least, such as in the Sargasso Sea at certain periods of the year, all those who passed before you humans invented engines lamented my absence.

If I absent myself just few days from anywhere, all things stagnate, and begin to choke upon the stench of corruption that has not yet been banished from Creation ... along with all the poison you humans have created for yourselves. When I return, you all rejoice at what I do to refresh and relieve the situation.

I am your mightiest global companion, although you have never once seen me, except as the glitter of light sparkling through the swaying trees as I pass, and the kaleidoscope of dancing shadows I make between moving objects and the sun. You have seen my work at every turn, be it a dune of sand or the clouds piling high or floating by above your head. You have felt me playing with your hair, tugging at your clothes and even you and your things -- even big things like trucks and cranes and bridges.

You discuss me in all kinds of categories, yet I defy all your categories when I come as a soothing whisper, a sigh through the woods, a whistle through your sails, a roar in my might everywhere, and pass into your memory, your poems, and your songs ... and carry those away too when you leave your papers for me to scatter like the autumn leaves.

Even the Creator, when He wished to have you understand how His Spirit works in the hearts of men, condescended to use me and how I work to put the matter on a level you could understand.

Who am I?

I am your global companion, the wind.

Photo Credit: Deeann D. Mathews, the author

Sort:  

Hello @deeanndmathews, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

I was just checking out your magazine this week -- I suppose we were meant to discover each other! Thanks for the upvote, and see you again soon!

Congratulations @deeanndmathews! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 50 posts. Your next target is to reach 60 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Wonderful descriptions in your freewrite Deeann.

I was afraid for a minute you were going to leave it at Who am I? and I was gonna have to work it out for myself;)
It's the midweek prompt delivery team here with your prompt for today:

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-572-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-room-service

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

@deirdyweirdy I thought about leaving the riddle unanswered, but then thought better of it ... good writers don't leave their readers frustrated!

Thank you for the prompt about the Freewrite House page -- went over, read what was going on and jumped into a contest, and am about to jump into a second one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62567.98
ETH 2460.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62