Day 46: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: gullible

in #freewrite7 years ago

Giphy.com

At our annual Christmas get together last year for family and close friends I talked at length about blockchain technology and how it was going to change life on this planet as we currently know it. I told everyone that Bitcoin would soon be more valuable than gold and I gave them insights into a new social media site that I had joined called Steemit that was on a different blockchain called Steem. Homer you are so gullible they all said, you are just wasting your time and money on such pipe dreams. How could some computer code ever have any real value I was asked? What serious investor would ever put his money into such a scam, didn't some big baker guy call it a Ponzi scheme? You can be such a fool, no wonder you've never had anything.

Well hello, Christmas 2017 from the Simpsons! And to my friends and family, I would like to welcome you to my new year and future gullibility! How did your investments work out last year?

Disclaimer: I often use the freewrite prompt to tell a story instead of doing a pure freewrite, so they sometimes take longer than 5 minutes and usually have some editing. But I try to do my story straight through at one sitting without any unnecessary breaks.

Graphic by: Giphy.com

Prompt: the smell of a dumpster
Set your timer for 5 minutes.
Start writing
Use the hashtag #freewrite
Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)
Copy and paste your URL into the comment section of the prompt post.
Or, if you don't want to publish your freewrite, just copy and paste as a comment under the prompt post.
If you don't know what a freewrite is, here is a link to the introduction post.

Thank you @mariannewest

Sort:  

Oh, what to do with my fortune when I pass? I hope I'll have one by then. I can't interest any of my fam in crypto. Not dumping it though.
That's a great freewrite. I wonder how many of us are Homers :)

You will be proven to be the wise member of the family. And those who know that you have successfully invested in Cryptos and that you know the ropes will then come to you for advice, so you better be ready for it! 👍

He that laughs last, laughs best.

Yessiree! 👍

I have faith in you!

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

We don't do extended family gatherings, but I'm sure that if we did, we would have gotten the same response from people! I guess those of us willing to step outside the comfort zone sometimes get it really really right, eh?

I can't even begin to tell you how many fortunes that I could have made in my life if I had known what to do and had any extra money. The only time in my life when I was actually blessed with extra income, I was working too hard and was too busy raising a family to do the research or look for good investments. Like a lot of other people I saw Bitcoin early on and for just a few dollars I could have become completely debt free and had enough money stashed away to really enjoy retirement. But I didn't have a clue at that time what it was, what it meant, or even how to go about buying some of it. I even joined Steemit early but never used it or even understood what it really was until I had already missed those early opportunities. Thankfully the best of Steemit is yet to come, we are still in the early days before mass adoption of cryptos begin. I am trying not to miss out this time around, I believe that there are several bitcoin like opportunities out there right now, including Steem, and we are all just sitting on the edge of our seats waiting for them to take off to the moon.

I am in the same boat .... Hoping that this experiment will work out differently for all of us!!

Yeah, my husband was trying to get his parents to invest in bitcoin way back when because he saw the potential, but he was way too busy working and raising our family and even a little bit seemed like too much to invest in something. He still talks about it!

He's invested in numerous crytocurrencies now and is constantly educating himself on as much as he can. That's become his full time job at the moment... that and waiting on the edge of his seat! :)

On the edge of my seat, or rather my bed, is where I'll be tonight because EOS Alpha just went live and there is going to be a lot of intrigue involved. There were things in the White Paper to cause serious concern to many, and that raised a lot of questions. The answers to some of those important questions and concerns could come as soon as tomorrow and there are millions of dollars at stake. 🤔

Hahah short and very funny! I'm sure they will love you when you'll meet them and say Ha-Haaa with Nelson's voice to all of them (I'd suggest you to even show your account from the smartphone ;-P).

We'll just have to wait and see how things turn out, but I'm very hopeful right now that nearly all of the early adopters of crypto currencies will do well in the end. 🙂

Im not an early adopter but in my way Im very satisfied I jumped in (especially with IOTA). The important i guess is to understand and believe in the technology and the vision underlined, i leave the trading to others..😉

This post has received a 4.01 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @deaconlee. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44