Prompt of the day “Quota” - I Demand Too Much Sometimes

in #freewrite5 years ago

What is it that gives us the sense personal achievement, completion, accomplishment? Why can we accept less from others than willing from ourselves? How did we arrive at this level of personal quota?

I have always set the bar high for myself, sometimes only setting myself up for failure. Not because I cannot achieve something but because I set the quota to high to fill, ultimately defeating my motivations.

I find myself asking what is it that drives me to setting this level of accomplishment in front of myself? The only answer that makes sense is high expectations of myself.

But why am I able to accept less from others than from myself? I am fairly easy going but have always been fairly hard on myself, self punishment almost. I have always thought this extends from low self esteem, no matter what I do it’s not good enough. My competitive nature shines through but is hindered by the very thing that keep setting that high quota.

What is it that pushes me to set that high bar of achievement, my personal quota? A desire to be proud of myself, to know I have accomplished something that has a greater meaning.

I am hard on myself not because I am punishing me for what I have done but for the sake of motivating myself to achieve more but simply put....

I demand too much sometimes!!!

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!!!

Thats it @d00k13 OUT

Join Us #OneLoveDtube Discord Server

Join The #OneLoveDTube Curation Trail, Support Us With Your Vote!

#OneLoveDTube Community Main Page

#OneLoveIPFS Subscription Page

#OneLoveDTube Uploader

Free Use #Press-Kit

Have You Tried @Pariko Yet? Download On iOS/Android Here

Start Using Partiko and Get 15 Steem Power Delegation

Check Out Partiko Discord Server

Get Paid For Daily Activities! Download @ActiFit Fitness Tracker On iOS/Android Here

Get Paid To Play! Join The Drug Wars Here



Wallet of a Minnow, Heart of a Whale

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

I had a friend who really demands a little too much from himself and kinda got some level of depression...not totally his fault, the entire course timetable is screwed up for that semester of his. He's alright now too. It's indeed important to not push yourself too hard when having high demand on yourself. Striking the balance correctly gives more productivity and achievements, but gives horrible consequences if otherwise.

Personally I'm quite easy going and sometimes wonder if I'm going a little too loose on myself...well, looking at the fact that I'm doing legit stuff all the time, probably not :P

Great example, your correct it’s a fine line to walk and getting it wrong really can turn out pretty bad. Good to hear your friend is doing well now!

If you feel like your too easy on yourself and still find that your productivity is adequate I’d say you found that balance 👌

Posted using Partiko iOS

You said, "no matter what I do it’s not good enough." But you know what? This might be artificial. I mean, this feeling really might come from just your feeling of lack of others being appreciative of you and your hard work. All I know is, as a wife, I try really hard to thank my husband every day for what he does for the family, for example, "thank you for fixing the door, hun". Or "I appreciate you ordering that online". and if I get busy and forget to say something, he gets so hard on himself and feels unappreciated. But sometimes it's hard for us women to say it every day every time. Women actually think men have it all under control. So we just trust. You ARE good enough. Don't be too hard on yourself.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yea you may be right though I tend to reject appreciation, as in I’m just doing what I’m supposed too....

The demand is more a consistent motivation which when not achieved I find myself distraught even though it’s only myself upholding that standard... not sure any amount of appreciation externally will correct this internal struggle 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

To be honest I accept way more from others as I would allow myself and my kids and I think that is the reason why the world is a mess and so many people are. We do not allow ourselves to be us.

I do not punish myself I am fine the way I am and once dead it was wasted energy.

Posted using Partiko Android

It does seem to be apart of the human condition, we can always do more but refuse to settle for less comfortably!

Likewise, I know the fuss is wasted energy but I just cannot help myself most of the time!

Thanks for stopping in my dear ❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Are you sure this is also not a part of the way you are raised? I know it was the case with me.

Posted using Partiko Android

That definitely plays into it but I do feel since many of us have the battle it also dives into human nature.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I can relate to this
Hmmm.... now you say low self-esteem... I have to give it some thought
I set the bar so high, for me and mine(the kids) but somehow give great advice to others of loving and accepting and knowing they are amazing...

By the way you look snazzy in this pic
And I do like that coffee cup ;p

I do believe this pushing ourselves is an extension of the opposite force but used in motivational ways.... I see nothing wrong with it as long as we realize what it is we are doing and can catch ourselves before causing a complete breakdown over nothing more than our own expectations.

Ahh yea that pic lol was a spur of the moment idea to change out my title image and make my morning freewrite a more about the waking up then anything else, glad you like it there will be more 😎

Thank you for stopping in, appreciate the support ❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Setting the bar high means you have something to reach for; the trick is to not punish yourself if you don’t achieve the goal. Great #freewrite, @d00k13.

That is definitely the trick I struggle with 😅 Thanks for stopping in 💪

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.74% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Dunka 🙌

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 6.24% upvote from us for your 1398 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Dunka 🙌

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57237.65
ETH 2358.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34