Prompt of the day “Chapter” - Feel Like I Do Not Recognize My Former Self

in #freewrite5 years ago

Life is ever changing, always evolving but looking back I can see defined chapters within my life.

Obviously the childhood years make up a large proportion, they kinda all blend together. Those years under the close watch of my parents were like the cliff notes translation to life for benefit of my young developing mind.

The years I started to strike out on my own, starting young is where the first chapter really begins. Still in school but starting to venture off and discover my own things, largely trouble.

I call from grade 6-10 the shy years, I hadn’t bust out my shell yet. I was the quiet kid, hard to believe hey? Never spoke, always present blending into the crowd finding myself often wanting to participate in goings on but holding myself back as an observer.

Grade 11-12 things changed, I started to smoke pot and that shell I was hiding in disintegrated instantly! This is the time when I really started to discover who I am. Mischievous but well intentioned caring soul whom will often do anything to please his comrades.... I started to get into a lot of trouble at school 😅

After grade 12 was my criminal chapter and the longest one at that. Continued up till about 8 years ago starting in my home town Port Alberni and ending on SaltSpring Island. Don’t forget this entire time I had thought I was doing good, I always tried to provide a service that benefited those less fortunate. Often I would go out of my way to aide the chronically ill whom could only find relief through use of THC. It wasn’t till I got off the island, away from the criminals I was associated with, that I was able to finally break free.

Thus is the beginning of my chapter of recovery starting with mind easing into soul and most recently discovering those two largely related to my body! The biggest evolution of this chapter having come once discovering Steem... this chapter has yet to conclude 🥰

It’s odd being able to look back and see the defined chapters of my life yet feeling like I do not recognize my former self. Suppose that’s proof of the journey in self discovery I have been on these last few years!

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!!!

Thats it @d00k13 OUT

Check Out The @FreeWriteHouse Prompt Of The Day By @MarianneWest

Join Us #OneLoveDtube Discord Server

Join The #OneLoveDTube Curation Trail, Support Us With Your Vote!

#OneLoveDTube Community Main Page

#OneLoveIPFS Subscription Page

#OneLoveDTube Uploader

Free Use #Press-Kit

Have You Tried @Pariko Yet? Download On iOS/Android Here

Start Using Partiko and Get 15 Steem Power Delegation

Check Out Partiko Discord Server

Get Paid For Daily Activities! Download @ActiFit Fitness Tracker On iOS/Android Here

Get Paid To Play! Join The Drug Wars Here



Wallet of a Minnow, Heart of a Whale

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

And then weed turns out to be a miracle of healing for so many! Who knew?

Many have been advocates since way way back, it was formerly viewed as fringe treatments and not acceptable for mainstream to talk about it. Now with the evolution of the internet we are seeing the breaking of that stigmatism with more and more widely available user testimonials.

I was one of those very early advocates having experienced the positive effects, improved focus related to better grades in school though being in trouble often from the crowd.

But that’s why I did what I did for so long, I have seen first hand the effects. Countless examples of people not functioning and with the correct use of extracts having some freedom from their ailments without the side effects of prescriptions!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Each day that passes we write the lines of our history, each one with its palette of colors, sometimes full of shadows, sometimes with lots of light and color, perhaps a mixture of both.
It is a journey of self-discovery and growth that we should take full advantage of. It is not that we run out of colors without smiling enough.

Very well said it’s just the colours of our pallets change to match the situations at hand 💪

Posted using Partiko iOS

Would you have chosen different chapters? I do not think so. All those chapters in your life made you who you are today. You reflected and learned.
I appreciate the person you are
I appreciate this post

SO WELL WRITTEN ERMAAAGEEERDDDDDDDDDDD

Different chapters no.... but I can see had I known what I know now how each chapter could have been filled with more light yet I don’t think I would have ended up where I am now... so no probably not!

I appreciate you, brother 🙌

Posted using Partiko iOS

One is a product of what lives and thinks, those chapters of our lives that mark us forever. It is admirable to see people like you @ d00k13 who may be able to look back and be able to talk about their past without guilt or shame, that's what life is all about! More motivating to know that you had the courage to change your destiny and turn it into something better.

May you continue to win successes and victories in your life story!

Well .... I do have some guilt and shame but what I am now doing I believe is offsetting any wrong doings I may have done previously 😅

Honestly the change wasn’t an active attempt until recently, life was slowly pushing me to this point. Only in the last few years has it become an active effort to be better than I once was as that change within myself became more apparent.

Thanks for the support my friend ❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Looking back we often wonder why we did or reacted in certain ways but it all makes the unique person we are in this chapter of life. 😊

That’s exactly it, often we could never guess from the first where we will be at the last or currently even 😅

Thanks for stopping in 💪

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh, you got that right. Looking back, we see the many chapters of our life. Being initiated, we think the current space is it lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wait you mean there is more yet to come? 🤣🤣🤣

Only if we could perceive time in a nonlinear fashion 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

All those chapters had formed who you are today. I am so touched you shared so honestly and openly of those chapters. And still the one never changed is the love in you. The big heart in you. Keep that up! ♥️

Thanks my dear, I share openly in the hopes of being that example of how things can change for the better sometimes when we aren’t even looking for it yet.

Just a matter of recognizing the change and embracing the love ❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

That he will be and after him the next rescue dog until the time when I can no longer care for a pet then I’ll be the pet being taken care of my a nursing home 😅 I hope I am cared for even half as well as I care for my dogs 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wouldn't that be ideal. Pets are Kings! 👑

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @d00k13! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 32000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 33000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Dunka

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko Partner! You have received a 100% upvote as benefit. Together, let’s change the world!

Excellent thank you 🙏

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56787.81
ETH 2507.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24