One Last Ride (Part I): Popoy's POV

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

maxresdefault.jpg

Popoy's POV


Seven years of togetherness, yet here we are, at our final moment. I was feeling slightly melancholic, but I knew there was nothing I could do about it.

I raised my head and gazed at her graceful entrance. It was my cue to fulfill my role in her life, one last time.

She was looking great in her white shirt and denim shorts, her usual outfit whenever we go on an adventure. I pondered for a moment, and belted out a deep sigh. This was probably our last ride, so I'll make it worth her while.

As the engine started, I blinked, and my eyes immediately accustomed themselves to the road. It was a fine sunny day, the birds were chirping happily in the velvet sky. Yet, I am feeling cold inside.

I had first come across Loise in an auto shop, situated at the famous Damosa Road in Davao City. At first, I doubted if she could handle me. I looked a bit rugged but also a bit scruff, while she was looking sweet in her pink floral dress. I wondered if I complemented her feminine demeanor. Perhaps in the end, it was my androgynous look that appealed to her.

She gently approached me, wearing her biggest smile. I can see how excited she was upon seeing me. Despite my masculine appearance, I blushed when she laid her hands on me. At that very moment, I knew, we were perfect for each other.

I admit I was not easy to handle. But she was very patient and persistent. So it didn't take long before we were in perfect harmony. Wherever she went, I go. No matter how long, no matter how far, no matter how difficult the road gets.

Loise loved adventure. And she was also impulsive. A lot of times we got into trouble because of her clumsiness. Nevertheless, I adored her.

One of my most memorable experiences with her was during our trip to Kapatagan, Davao del Sur. It was not an easy retreat as we both braved the earth's elements. We were driving through a steep, slippery, narrow, and high altitude road while the rain was pounding hard against our window shield. It was nearing zero visibility and I swear at that moment we were ready to fall into a cliff.

Seeing her shaking in fear and all sweaty despite the cold temperature brought by the rain, I mustered all my strength and courage to make sure we all arrive safely at our destination. It took almost all of my power to hurdle the storm, but it was all worth it. Seeing her safe and sound was all I needed to keep me well again.

Most of the time, I just sit in one corner, waiting for her to return. I didn't act clingy knowing how she enjoys her time with her friends. She was full of spirit and energy. Sometimes it was hard to keep up. But that's the beauty of selfless love, no matter how difficult it gets, you still keep going.

Another bittersweet memory I had with her was the first time we had our long drive together. Her friends weren't around, so I had her all to myself.

It was a peaceful night. The stars were brightly shining as if competing for celestial audience and the fiery moon was defiantly dyeing the night sky. The beckoning roar of the waves can be heard from where we were situated. It was just me and her, unruffled, unbridled.

And she breathed deeply the tangy salt breeze of the sea. No words. She didn’t have to. I knew she was in pain.

She grabbed her phone and prompted me to play her favorite songs. She plugged the wires and I started serenading her. She soaked in her tears that night. I guess my music only heightened her emotions.

As much as I wanted to comfort her, I knew there was nothing I could do to make her feel better. I badly wanted to tell her that in me she has a friend; in me she has a home.

But sadly, she didn’t think of me that way. I was merely an object to her, a possession. It hurts to admit, but I guess she didn’t want me anymore. After all that we’ve been through, she has decided to let me go.

I was at my best when she first had me. But as I devoted my life to her, I didn’t notice that I was slowly fading away. I was once attractive and fully functional, but now I am full of scratches and broken parts. But these scars I will proudly wear because they were a constant reminder of my great devotion to her.

In all her pain and struggles, success and happiness I was there for her. And though she treated me well, the fact still held true -- she no longer needed me!

I guess it's true what they say about love. It is patient, it is kind, it is not self-seeking. I came to understand that I only hold a very small portion in her whole world.

I came to my senses, ready to bid farewell. But not yet. Just not yet. One more day, I said.

And so we had the best ride of our lives that one fine sunny day. We both marveled at the grandeur of nature. I took her to the mountains, where she loved the most. Then we heeded to the call of the insistent chanting of the waves. And she was cradled by the crystalline waters of the sea. Those memories, though fleeting, were definitely worth keeping.

I wish we could go back to the time when I was still at my best. I wish I was as strong and good-looking as the first time we met. But those were things I could only hope for. Nevertheless, I have no regrets. Because after all, she was worth all the hassle.

And if only she could hear me speak, I would tell her: “All for you, a thousand times over.”


Part II : Loise's POV


Image from here

Sort:  

There's something odd about the POV here - seems that it's not really what it seems, but I'll just read on to the next part and not spoil anything :)

What I love the most is Popoi's emotions here. His acceptance of what's to come next and his love for Loise really shows. Beautiful writing, Maine.

Nyahaha. Yes, there is definitely more to the story Jazz, and good job on spotting the oddness in the story. 😂

Thanks for the usual support. ☺

  • breaking up scenes
  • boys don't cry
  • but guess Popoi did
  • congrats for the curie
  • bakit ang nasa isip ko si Popoi ay si @johnpd

Hahaha! Natawa aq. Bat mo naman nasabi BD? 😂

Thanks sa palagiang support, BD boom! ☺

ewan ko din hehe

most welcome

I hate goodbyes. But this. This is the most beautiful way to do it. I love it Minmin! It made me cry. As if I'm the one feeling the pain. Beautifully written @chinitacharmer!

Thank you ate Rome sa palagiang support. ❤ ☺

wow😍 what a beautiful image📸

Hi chinitacharmer,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you. 💖💖💖

Ugh! My heart! 💔

Why are you doing this to me writers? First its @jazzhero now its you meme @chinitacharmer.

Masyado akong naaapektuhan sa mga gawa nyo. Hahaha
Props to you. :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you sis 😄☺💖

Nice na-Curie. Congrats!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you sis. ☺

This is so sweet, touching, yet sorrowful. Makes one reflect. That's just the way of life.

Thank you Solcross 💖

Maybe I can compliment this story with another article which I just came across: https://steemit.com/writing/@michellesamson/learn-to-walk-away-when-love-is-not-being-served-1a8c7730c71b9

It is not gonna be easy but lousy things like parting time happen in real life.

Good story you have there! How many parts does this story have?

Thank you so much for reading. ☺
There are only 2 parts and you can read the 2nd one here. ☺

Thank you for the link to the second part. I'll surely get there. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58139.39
ETH 2454.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36