Mortality - 5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

Prompt of the Day 69: grounding

Wouldn't want to be left under one, eh?

Grounding is used to prevent damage to electrical devices, right? From lightning storms for example, with lightning conductor. Talking about storms, a story my friend told me some time ago popped in my mind: In his youth there was an incident, I think it involved a storm hence why it came to my head, when a friend of my friend was on a swing when suddenly a tree started falling. So, my friend shouted: "Jump!" He jumped off the swing right on time because the falling tree crushed the swing from the exact spot where he was swinging. Must've been a surreal to think you would be pretty much dead if it wasn't for jumping away from it just seconds before the crash. Talk about a grounding experience, to realize one's mortality...


Introduction to freewriting by @mariannewest


My previous freewrites:


I'll likely have a few day break from posting for I'm going to visit my relatives and there's no computer available there (and what the hell am I doing if I were to travel 500km just to sit on my ass by a computer, like in my home) so freewrites are unlikely, unless I get inspired to write on my phone... which I'm not whether I'm going to so, even tho it has been done before by a fellow freewriter that I can't now recall by name (sorry about that...).

But keep on freewriting and we will see again not later than 2018!


Picture via Pixabay, GIF from Giphy

Sort:  

wow!! good thing he jumped!! Enjoy your family!! and you are right - living life instead of hanging on our electronics is a good thing!!
Just in case.....
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-70-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-surprise-coming-to-you

Congratulations! - As you follow @fisheggs bot your post has randomly been selected for an upvote.
call @originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @celestal to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by celestal from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60343.62
ETH 2490.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53