5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Mosquitos

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

Again, Finland theme, Finland's 100th Anniversary... yada, yada you know; I have 'Finland' -themed contest going on. Check that out if you haven't already!


To the freewrite of Day 49:

Finnish summers are lovely; the one time of the year when it's warm and sunny (hopefully, one time it snowed in June or July when I was in my family's summer cottage). But they are not perfect: mosquitos are a pain in the ass. In June they swarm in the nature hunting down blood from other mammals, though they're only doing it for their own survivor so I guess I cannot blame them.

Do NOT touch it!

But the thing I've learned from mosquitos is patience and self-control. The sting of the mosquito is so incredibly itchy that scratching it is the most urging and pleasurable thing to do. But the down side for immediate release is breaking your skin. And when you break your skin it itches even longer and the cycle never ends. That's why: Don't even touch the sting. After a short while you'll get over the urging period and the sting will heal much faster.


I'm wondering if @mariannewest is in intentionally choosing such prompts so I can promote my contest. If yes, thank you. If not, thank you for accidentally choosing so good prompts.

Introduction to freewriting

Sort:  

They sure are a pain in the ass! LOL! Something bit me last summer and it wasn't a mosquito. I think it might have been a spider. It swelled up so bad and itched for a week. I even wrapped it up at night to make sure that I didn't scratch it in my sleep. Tip!

That sounds vicious!

I even wrapped it up at night to make sure that I didn't scratch it in my sleep.

If you can't resist, make it so you don't need to. That works.

Thank you for the tip my friend!

Your story is so true! :D

I have been yelled at many times to "Stop Scratching!" even as an adult!
:D

You can climb mountains naked and beat bears with your own hands, but what divides a hero from a master is the ability to not scratch a mosquito sting. -@celestal 2017

Feel free to use that quote.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by celestal from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You know, I put those prompts together a month ago - but you know what they say - there are no coincidences. It was meant for you to be able to promote your contest!!
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-50-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-snoring

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50