The Worry & Wonder of Motherhood: 5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago

worry-motherhood-canal.png

She heard his laughter echoing along the canal as he ran. Racing along the side of the canal, she held her breath when he got too close, but he was having so much fun! His laughter rang out and soothed her soul.

She never thought that raising children would be so completely draining, exhausting and filled with days of worries and concerns. Never thought about the fact that there was no… concrete finish line. No regular paycheck, of course. It was much more than that. She just felt like she was always on the cusp of making a colossal mistake. Maybe making a decision that had ramifications in her son’s life forever without even realizing it.

She carried the weight of his childhood with her everywhere, always wondering if she had made the right choices, if she would continue to do things right for him. Her worries seemed to be taking over lately as their lives had hit so many crossroads and she’d had such hard choices to make.

As she watched him running and laughing into the trees, saw him scramble up high and wait because he didn’t think she saw him… she knew he would wait in silence, hoping to jump down and scare her in a few minutes. She stopped and watched him. Saw the absolute glee in his posture as he leaned over and waited for her to come through the trees.

canal-200-freewrite.png
Photo Source @beautifulbullies

The sun suddenly peeked through the clouds and illuminated him so perfectly and it was like a weight lifted from her shoulders. She saw his happiness then, the way he was so comfortable in his own skin, saw the kindness that she knew was inside of him… and she knew that she was doing okay. She loved him beyond belief and he was turning out to be a happy, confident and self assured but generous man.

She smiled and stepped through the trees towards her son.


Cover Photo Source


This story was prompted and inspired by both The Freewrite Prompt of the Day by @mariannewest but also by this gorgeous photo post by @beautifulbullies that I saw earlier today when I was perusing steemit. Please go check out the post and see her full size photo. It really is beautiful and worth seeing at full size!!!


If you enjoy reading about the topic of Love this month, don't forget that our CONTEST winners will be posted on Valentine's Day! In the mean time, you can read my story of how @serapium and I met 28 years ago

HOw-We-Met-myside-350.png

You can also read HIS version of that night's events (he's a little more romantic than me!) in:
"What Does Love at First Sight Look Like?

10 Ways He Says "I Love You"

Or if you're not in the mood for mushy stuff and would prefer some salty humor from a cat...

Here is Tempest for you! She is our daughter's cat and she spent some time living on a sailboat with us, journaling her experience as a boat cat through letters to Paris @loliboofae

Tempest-cover-350.png

The Tempest Papers #1

The Tempest Papers #2

The Tempest Papers #3

Sort:  

oh my goodness! It felt like you were writing about my life! I was literally in tears! I love it :) thank you for using my picture xx

Oh I'm SO glad you liked it. I was a little worried! The photo you posted just brought all of these feelings out in me and I had to write it down. I guess you really captured it in a photo! :) Thank you for allowing me to use it!

@byn

This story was lovely and heart warming. Thanks for sharing, Im happy I read it.

Thank you for reading! I'm so glad you enjoyed it.

@byn

I SO love your writing and when something inspires you, you SHINE along with your story!!

Thank you for reading!

Wonderfully written, @byn! It's a very touching story of the love and bond between mother and son!

I think what matters is that a parent does the best he/she can...Good writing ;) Keep it up!

Here's the new prompt: https://busy.org/@mariannewest/day-117-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-church

So beautiful, the life as a mother, perfectly captured in these lines of text.
Motherhood is a lifetime commitment, many times it's hard an gives a lot of worry... But when the children smiles at you or tells you they love you it is so amazing, it takes away all pain and worries:-)

Your freewrite get me glued to my seat. I will be expecting more from you everyday to be reading them because of the quality contents. @byn

motherhood is like that. and somehow it doesn't end. Then there are grandkids...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79