Slush (5 minute free write)

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)


Image source

All I can see is slush, the kind that sticks to your hands and the kind that will take eternity to wash off. I have to power through this every single day, it is not easy, it is not something that I wish to do, but it is something that I have been destined to do all my life.

Ever since I first encounter this slush, I have felt a sense of purpose, a sense of destiny. I wish that it could be easier, that I could just enjoy the sun again. But alas, that is how life is. As I wake up in the middle of the night to deal with the slush while the world sleeps. I know that I am making a difference.

I gently wake my daughter, she stirs lightly in her sleep. I did not want her to see this, I would prefer if she could sleep soundly without any disturbance. Daddy is going to clean the slush now, I say to her. She covers her nose and turns away I turn back facing another pair of eyes, looking up at me. The adorable pair of pearls that pierces through my soul and slowly a smile appears. An innocent smile that almost hides a cruel smirk which says...

"I am sorry daddy, but it's your turn to this."

I gave out a sigh as I slowly take out my youngest daughter's diaper and I started cleaning the slush out of it.

I love fatherhood.

Sort:  
Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

hahaha.... the special slush that only parents get to experience.
Great effort and creative!

upvoted

Thanks! Definitely enjoy the fun times being a parent slush or no slush haha

haha, and I just used your pun-intended word description for my latest post

Woops.. Just realized this is not how the challenge works. Apologies to the organizers

Congratulations @alvinauh! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99