5-minute Freewrite: Prompt- Home Alone

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

sad-505857_1280.jpg
Pixabay

A cold slice of fear cut through her like a knife.

She ran as fast as she could, rushing out the door and down the flights of stairs. Her eyes wandering wildly, her heartbeat racing violently.

"Ashley! Ashley! Where are you, baby? Mommy's coming for you!"

"Mommyyy!"

Her screams got further and further, it was like she was being pulled away by force.

"I'm coming for you, baby! Mommy's coming for you!"

"Mommyyy! Nooooo!"

And the screaming stopped.

Mary has been living like this everyday for the past six years, repeating the scene of every single step, every screeching scream, ever since the day Ashley was taken away.

It was a week before Ashley's 5th birthday, Greg, Mary's second husband took it upon himself to teach her a lesson for spilling her milk on the floor. It was just minutes after their huge fight, as he dragged the little girl out the kitchen door like a rag doll, grabbing her by her hair as she screamed in pain crying out for her mommy.

He had always been 'strict' towards Ashley, grabbing her by the hair and spanking her whenever she made a mistake, even a mistake as small as forgetting to say 'thank you'. He had expressed his disdain over the fact that she didn't come from his loins, so it was his responsibility to make her straight.

Mary was in the bedroom toilet when it happened, her little girl's screams were so frightening it shook her to her core. Without a second thought she dashed out with all her might, ignoring the pain on her left cheek from the blow she took from the fight.

And then it happened, right before her eyes.

It was as though everything was set in slow motion as he lifted the little girl's tiny body up high and slammed her whole being to the ground like she was nothing.

Everything in that moment stood still.

She found herself in the same spot again. Only this time, she was being reminded of the quietness of the moment.

She was home alone.


20180212_193505.png

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

20180516_002249_0001.png

banner_steemsugars.jpg

Asapers.gif

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Okay, I wanted to comment, but it is a disturbing story. Well written, and very sad.
So I put a heart.
But this deserves more than a heart.
This is very well written, and draws you right into the story. You cant start reading and then not finish!

I enjoy your freewrites!!

Thanks, @squishysquid. I agree, it is indeed disturbing. Domestic and child abuse are so rampant behind closed doors they need to be exposed. It's sad many lives could have been saved or changed but most of the time people tend to turn a blind eye. 😭

This is so true! Things like this happen ALL THE TIME and most people turn their heads because it is awful and I suppose they dont know what to do, or are afraid to speak up.
Writing about it is a great way to help bring awareness!

Ah - step dads.

Great story.
Nice imagery.

Haunting piece.

Thanks, @metzli. Well, I'm glad I've met a number of stepdads that are great guys too. But it's true that there are also plenty of spoiled apples out there. May we raise great men who love and protect!

A well written family drama, thanks for sharing :-)

Thanks for dropping by @abmakko :)

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Ouch. This story really cuts to my soul. So you're brilliant!;)

Ouch, sayang sayang your soul k :)

Wow! Your stories are so sad :( What an arsehole of a father. I wish there was more than just the 5 minutes written. I want to see justice served!! YOU ARE SUCH A TALENTED WRITER @alismamasstory

Aww shucks @mumma-monza, you're too kind! 😳 thanks for enjoying my stories.

PS: I have happy stories too, not all of them are sad. Haha I shall try to write some again soon! 😁

Don't get me wrong. I love the sad stuff. I am loving what I read stirring my emotions. It's a beautiful break from all the light and airy posts I see everywhere. DON"T STOP!

My heart really breaks when I think about children who deserve all the love,care and protection in the world don't get it. I feel it even more now that I am a parent! With two sons I agree to your prayer that we all raise loving and protecting men and women!

Yes, yes, yes to raising loving and protecting men and women!

Oh dear. That was such a sad story! It made me want to cry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65634.72
ETH 3493.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51