The last one on earth- Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

Meteor.jpg

This was it, the end was nigh. My parents had thought me all about our history as a species, where we came from and how many million years we roamed this Earth. The last week has been the most difficult, my empty stomach and the extreme cold caused me to hallucinate at times. I hated it at first, but then I used it as an escape from the harsh reality of my present. Sun shines over head, laughter fills the air, family around, friends, food... Yet, each time I came to, that awful day some twenty years ago replays in my head.

It was a day like any other, I was three years old, and although young, I remember it vividly. It is forever etched in my minds eye. Younger friends, who have all since died, remembered it clearly too. As we grazed on our breakfast and goofed around, an amazing shooting star shot through the midday sky. We all stared into the far of reaches of the sky overhead and were wowed by this wonderful fireball as it fizzed overhead. The feeling quickly morphed to utter chaos, the ground shook violently, stones and debris funneled up into summer's sweet sky and then it was night.

A night that never ended.

The meteor through up so much dust, dirt and debris that our closest cosmic neighbour was shielded from our view. Her life giving bounty of warm sunshine was now reflected back into space. The extreme heat in the immediate aftermath killed 65% of the inhabitants of the earth in those early days. My family home in a massive cave became a refuge for us and many other families at this time.

But the white hot heat was soon replaced with a bitter cold. And darkness - a desperate blanket of deathly darkness. Plantlife slowly withered away as the magical power of photosynthesis ceased to function. Each passing day, food became scarcer and scarcer - wars broke out and many died, but it was the hunger which claimed more lives than any in the passing years. My family had large stores of fat, and so we lasted longer than most, and I...

I lasted the longest.

Here I sit, hungry, so very very hungry, and alone...

I lose my thought again now... I'm floating.... laughter... sun's kind warmth... bright light.... Family around...

That was the last day on earth for the last dinosaur some 65 million years ago

It is a stark reminder that, like the dinosaurs, it could all end in the blink of an eye for us too. We are but a tiny blip in the ever expanding universe.

Now go kiss your partner, the kids, the neighbour, the dog, someone, anyone!

Tonight could be your last night....
Divider.png
For those not familiar with the freewrite, you basically have 5 minutes to write a story, beginning to end. Then post it to your page.

I have a confession to make though - today I stretched the rules and used almost double the allotted time, I just struggled to bring this one to an end in time. Sorry for bending the rules, but hopefully you enjoyed the read.

Thanks to @mariannewest as always for the wonderful job she does in keeping this going every day!

This weeks prompt was "Solitude" and the post can be found here https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-131-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-solitude

Image Source

Sort:  

The final twist and change of perspective was great. Yes it-s true..we need to live each day if it is the last and stop believing we're immortals.

Cheers f3nix, I think that can be a good outlook most of the time. We're here for a good time, not a long time!

I like to think like this sometimes how insignificant we really are - puts life into perspective - nice story

It actually hurts my head sometimes when I think about the scale of the universe and the distances involved. Light is the fastest thing we know about, and it takes it 1/7 of a second to travel around the earth.. That same light would take 4.243 years to reach our closest star (discounting the sun) and 70,000 years to reach the closest galaxy to the milkyway, and it is estimated that there are at least one hundred billion galaxies in the known universe!! I can fathom all of this, the thing I have difficulty excepting is the point of singularity theory which says that all mass in the universe started in an almost infidelity dense impossibly small point of singularity.. That's when my head starts to hurt :o)

There would be no greater solitude than to be the last on Earth. I love how you built up to this climax (and the message after) Thanks!!

Thanks @mysecondself01 Really glad you enjoyed it.. I was unsure, as I went over the 5 minutes, whether I should post it, but I hate writing something and not sharing it with all you Freewriters..

Thank you for collaborating with me to promote this post as explained at https://steemit.com/steemit/@jerrybanfield/10-ways-to-fund-a-steem-growth-project.

Love this!!! and your moral to the story that we all need to take more seriously!!

I'm so happy you took more than your 5 minutes!

Cheers @snook, sometimes the 5 minutes seems to go by in the blink of an eye, and your story is half baked! Glad you liked it :o)

An excellent story though bleak.

It's me again with your Wednesday free write prompt:https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-132-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-gardening

Thanks a million @deirdyweirdy yes, bleak for sure, not sure why it popped into my head.. It just did..

Awesome the twist ending! :)

Glad ya liked it, thanks for stopping by..

You now that you can increase you payouts fast just using BOTs?

Learn how here! / https://steewit.com/utopian-io/@yabapmatt/steem-bot-tracker-send-bids-directly-from-the-site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61572.53
ETH 2995.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73