Time as Currency. How We Spend Time Matters.

in #freedomtribe5 years ago

IMG_5141_01.jpg

"To me every hour of the light and dark is a miracle, every cubic inch of space is a miracle." -Walt Whitman

Today I carefully affixed some super strong duck tape, in black (just to be stylish) to my boots. Water is leaking in from a number of cracks and it's not fun working with wet feet. I could buy a new pair. I can afford new boots if I really want them. But these boots will do just fine.

When @freedomtribe asked the question "What's the one thing you have lost - or would be afraid to lose - which would limit (or has already limited) your personal Freedom?" The first thing that came to mind was ...

Time

Time is precious. We only get so much and how we spend matters.

I used to spend my days living in what seemed like an eternal time deficit. All of the hopes, dreams, ideas that would spark inside me would silently die because there was rarely enough time to pursue anything outside of the carefully constructed life we were trying to keep together at the seams. I got caught in a loop that I could not escape. I knew time was precious. I knew I was missing opportunities. I knew we needed to change.

A new survey finds that the average American adult logs just four hours and 26 minutes of time to themselves in a given week. A lot of people would even argue they have less free time than this. Have you ever felt like you were negative freer hours - I've been there!

We eventually we escaped that endless loop I was trapped in and with this change we've prioritized time. There's a balance because we do need money to live but with a powerful change in mindset we've made it work for us. Having known what it's like to be in a time deficit, I am quite protective of my time and get very grumpy when it is wasted by others carelessly.

As for what my boots have to do with time - that's simple really. Time and money are deeply intertwined.

Everything dollar we earn comes at the cost our time. The push to want and spend is an eternally hungry machine. Would you rather have new boots or a day to do as you please? A shift in mindset can change everything for the better.

We are incredibly careful with money because it affords us a lifestyle where most days there is plenty of time to do what we want to do. I love being the director and executive boss lady of my life. I don't wear a watch. I guess the time of day by looking at the sky. We are healthier because of it too. Today I'm going to work hard. Tomorrow I'm going to hike in the woods and gather some wild food. My life - my time. So, with that in mind I'll tape up my boots and be all the happier for having done so.

budget3.jpg

"What's the one thing you have lost - or would be afraid to lose - which would limit (or has already limited) your personal Freedom?"


Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I couldn't agree with you more! It is so important to set aside personal time for yourself. If you get to spend that time out in nature, so much the better! I too hope to someday work for myself instead for other people. Stories like yours continue to motivate me to keep reaching for that goal.

I am glad my story motivated you to keep reaching for your goal. :)

YES!!! We were just talking about that this morning. We want to take a year off, but are worried about affording it. jamie reminded me that that simplest, happiest times of our life were penniless, as long as, haha, we had a roll of duck tape. Bring it on! You are lucky to have found your cabin in the woods where you can spend time as you please. xxx

yep - bring duck tape, can fix anything. There is a lot to consider but really ...what's the worst that can happen? Right? Knowing what I know now my answer would be DO IT!

I'll hold you accountable for that, lol!! I'll make sure I buy duck tape in advance.... xx It'll be fine! It'll be fine! It'll be fiiinnnne!

I learned this a couple decades ago while reading Your Money or Your Life by Joe Dominguez and Vicki Robin. It's a concept many people have not connected to their lives.

It can be tricky when everyone else is concerned with keeping up appearances and when we are raised in that environment - so glad we saw a different way because we were talking about it recently and wondered how much we would have grown/changed as people if we stayed where we were. Not much I expect.

🙏🏼🙏🏼🙏🏼 - Thanks for the reminder, indeed we have limited time on this planet. I calculated that I may have about 450K hours if I live another 50 odd year. And how I spend each hour is up to me - we have choice but those choices have consequences. Thank you for making me put these into perspectives. 🙏🏼😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Our time is our life. and the best thing is not to postpone anything and start doing the things we can today despite the small things.

Thanks for sharing this ♥

Lovely thoughts @anggreklestari, very true. ♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62722.59
ETH 3111.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84