Freedom Challenge Entry

in #freedomchallenge5 years ago (edited)

j3q94m7d55.png

Hi Steemians,

Back again today with my entry into the freedom challenge by @FreedomTribe. If you keen to get involved check out the original post here.

We were asked to write a post about:

"What's the one thing you have lost - or would be afraid to lose - which would limit (or has already limited) your personal Freedom?"

Here’s my take on it!

I could feel me slowly losing grip of it all

Having a kid at 33 might give you some level of maturity that allows you to be slightly more mentally prepared than your average 20 year old. Despite this, I was nowhere near prepared for the challenges that awaited me once the kiddo escaped the sanctuary of my womb.

Throughout my pregnancy I was blatantly aware of how slowly I was not able to do certain things anymore. Things that brought me joy. Things I found dear to my heart. And things that kept my ass at a reasonable size! As the baby grew inside of me, the less I could manage and believe me I pushed as hard as I could not to lose touch with these lovely things that made me smile! My efforts were starting to feel like too much effort. And I slowly felt me loosing grip of these things... Time was running out, but I had no idea how much I had before.

I lost my freetime, but more than that I lost my freedom

Maaaaan!! How did I not realise how good I had it. I always hear my parent friends talk about having no time, but did not expect it to be this bad!! Maybe it's just me and my situation. Maybe I need to just deal with the adjustment. But moving from a fairly free and independent adult, being my own person and making decisions on a whim. I now can't. I have a little person depending on me to get her through it all. And though she is cute as a button, she sucks up all my time!!

4 months old, I have been back at work for about 2 months. Being a business owner, I don't have the luxury of enjoying Maternity leave. Shit needs to get done. And I need to get it done!!

Before I would work an 8 to 9 hour day, sqeeze in a run and get supper going at a decent time. I had fun with my husband, fam and friends. Enjoyed the weekend hikes and shenanigans. Travelled alot, locally and internationally. Partied hard. Played hard. Worked hard. Maaaan although I didn't know it at the time this was like living in Hawaii every dang day!!

Now I live on a 3 hour loop of feeding, changing diapers, being a clown and trying to get on with life. On a day by myself I manage to get 2 hours of work done, when I have help I get 4 to 5. I have no time for workouts and fun is luxury. But you just gotta keep on keeping on!!

I lost my freedom, but I gained something very rare and different

Throughout the above chaos, a new little human has joined my crew. She is an energy sucker. I ain't gonna lie. And I keep thinking I can't wait till she grows up. And can't even imagine throwing another kid into the mix. But I never imagined I would love someone, this little, this demanding, this unpredictable, this unstable, so dam quickly. She has a smile that melts my heart and eyes that holds a world of wonder. A cry that makes me want to toss her over the balcony. But a laugh that lights up the whole room.

So how can I be mad at this little crazy pooper. I fell in love. She has me by the metaphorical balls.

Here's me hoping I can get some of that freedom back one day.

#prayforMimi 😂

Update: 7:53am

I was awake since 4 and kido went back to sleep. Wide awake, thought I would squeeze in a quick run! 4kms, stopped only once to take this glorious pic, and once to pick up my phone which fell out of my pocket!

I guess its about the little things. Afterall, life is not about where you been, it's about where you going! I will take the little bits of freedom!!

But still #prayforMimi 😂

Make Steem Not War!!

And if you like what you read, feel free to upvote, comment and resteem!

Much Love From Sunny Cape Town, @mimismartypants

Make Some Money From Your Unused Votes

Not maxing out your daily vote quota? Sign up for smartsteem and sell your votes! And Earn some more curation rewards while you at it! It's really a win-win situation! So click the banner to get started!

Sort:  

It's the little things that keep you sane. It is mental though, you totally don't realise how smashing things were before and then it all changes!!

Maaaan I should have gone on that trip to Europe and just blew all my cash last year this time. Instead I did the responsible thing and had my vision corrected!! Now I'm just slumming it!!!

But seriously I think i just gotta learn to seize the opportunity when it arises. Like I could of smashed out some work this morning but I was like fuck it!! Lets go see the sunrise and burn some of those extra kilos!! I dont regret it!

Posted using Partiko Android

The only time they things is when I don't size the moment. It was chaotic before with one but when we had our second it just went mental, lol

Hahahaha!! No wonder you rushed home at the first sign of...

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehe, exactly!!

Maaaaan I totally get it!! Like an uncle told us recently, it's time to pay for your sins!! It was in jest, but you gotta admit there is some truth in that!

Posted using Partiko Android

Just as I am like SUFFFFFFFFER! then you go and awe but I gained something more special. At least I have the fact that you are older than me :)

Hahahhaha Morticia totes suits you as a cross dressing persona!! I suffer dude so you can get some joy, but im a survivor so will tell the suffering to suck my balls!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Damn my vote is still worth nothing. Hope you have some dusties!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yip got the dust on lockdown, I sweep it under the fridge.

😂 😂 Watch out for the kakalaker!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @mimismartypants!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.115 which ranks you at #9216 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1295 places in the last three days (old rank 10511).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 173 contributions, your post is ranked at #61.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Ah, so many posts by mothers! It's great.. hopefully people will learn how hard it can be! And don't worry, you'll get your freedom back one day, but the wierd thing is, you'll want your kids around then even when they are gone and living their lives!!! Crazy life xx A great entry.

Posted using Partiko Android

Maaaan I did not expect this at all. You totally obvious before you have a kid.
But I do have even more respect for parents, especially mine. I've always spent alot of time with my mom. But I try to even more now. When they born you get this cute little best friend, then they grow up and have attitudes.

I don't think you can fathom how much sacrifices they make, till you there yourself...

Posted using Partiko Android

Children give you the freedom to love like you have never loved anything before. Yes, but sometimes moments of freedom are fleeting.

Little bundles of wonder. Then they grow up to have opinions 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

I think you lose your cool too 🤔...I remember that very clearly....you didn't mention that.😊...pregnancy is the best time in women life...well that what I observed lookinh at others ...a new sphere for all..

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahahaha. You will keep reminding me

Posted using Partiko Android

Also, congrats on making minnow!!! 👏🎊

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @enginewitty.

Mmmmmm and the cake tastes deeeeelicious!! Thanks @helpie and @enginewitty!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66