More preperations before the winter comes at The Squat Cabin!

in #freedom6 years ago (edited)

Today wasn't raining and so it was "Do Stuff Day!"

I have quiet a few things to do which could be considered quite big jobs. Nobody else has been here for a week and so I've had to just start doing stuff. I got a chainsaw and used it in the last blog post of the squat, but then I tried to tighten it up and then the chain came off. I need to see on Pootube I guess how to sort it out, although I have already one to learn how to tighten it in the first place, now I should find another on fitting the chain!

There's quite a few trees laying down the stream,even more than I thought, including the fresh fat one I cut last time I did stuff here. I started to attack it with the axe but gave up as its in a high position, the chainsaw would slice through it well and then could be carried up in manageable sized pieces. There also many dead standing trees. I think by roughly looking, there is enough dead trees around for a long cold winters warmth from the wood oven.

I started first in the kitchen

P1040735.JPG

There's more things in the kitchen now, the blender, a small kettle from the trash, and a cool compost bin that was also from the trash, and that means more storage is needed. Oh and I got a microwave oven (from the trash) but I think that can stay where it is as I wont use it if at all. Shelves, need more shelves. I had just bricks with planks across them to make a shelf, but I need the bricks, and I got more materials and screws to make good shelves now. In the meantime the condiment's (that is a funny word!) went on this already packed out temporary standing shelf, which of course was also from the trash.

Ok there's the space empty! How will this be done? Hmm.. and there's the white basket I found recently that can surely hang on a wall somewhere

then distractedly I saw it and remembered someone gave me a frozen pizza yesterday when I was at work, cook it now - or never! - Oven on, 20minutes cooking time


And then after pizza came a spliff and a coffee!

P1040744.JPG


Rewind a bit..

I got an apple tree few weeks ago, and before Autumn starts I needed to get it in the ground.. Check the name of it !

P1040762.JPG


Whilst the pizza was cooking, I settled on a one of only two place's where to put the tree. We don't have much soil here because its on a cliff side so its all just rock - but there are 2 small trees that have been growing and so I know its possible for it to grow there, the soil is deep enough. I had a late pumpkin plant growing up it and this was thrown to the compost and I reused the soil with some new, to plant the tree in.

The Apple tree and the uprooted old tree

The hole from the old tree wasn't that deep but I scrapped it out some more with my hand as it was easier, and then added fresh soil. There were no worms I found which means the soil is very crap.

P1040756.JPG

A TREE! Planted in the earth! And one that grows FOOD!

P1040758.JPG

The last time I plant a tree was last year in Germany, I went there for a weeks work and I planted 250 birches and 250 oak trees in a forest that was being made as a nature reserve. Now I know where to buy them and fruit bushes, I will go next year and buy more. Funny story of the apple tree

I got some VERY Nice wood from an old wooden rollercoster for free and with delivery even, but the guys who delivered it drove up the neighbors driveway and ripped of some branches from over hanging tree's and then they started to unload the wood at the bottom of the hill. I went down to try and get them to listen before they unloaded it all at the BOTTOM of the hill and just as I get down there, who arrives and starts driving up the driveway? - The neighbor who's tree branches were hanging ripped swinging in the air! He went fucking mental, and fair play I would have too.

Anyway after a lot more stress of trying to get the truck up the hill and calming the neighbor down, the wood was unloaded (I need to go get it very soon actually lol, but I need a horse maybe to move it!) and later in the evening I thought I should go get him a tree as an apology gift. That's how I also ended up getting one and finding out where to buy them.


The pizza wasn't even half cooked and it didn't take long to do the tree! I then finished the outside of the compost toilet.. next I need to go find a second hand window online and fit that before putting wood on the outside. I need a sheet of ply wood for the roof, I saw near the bus station in town they are having construction works and I'll go look for it in the next days, even tomorrow actually! I'll easily find scrap wood for a roof, and get it on the bus home, no worries there.

P1040754.JPG

P1040764.JPG

I didn't grow much this year as there's not even a garden established yet, but I noticed that I do have potatoes atleast that are growing in buckets.. Theses were from the trash of an organic shop firstly, then got old and unused under the kitchen side and grew roots and so I just planted them a while back.

And these..


There was one late pumpkin plant that I got from the same organic shop in the trash, it was a small pumpkin, and half was moldy, I made a soup from the good half and got seeds, of which this one grew. You reap what you sow! This is half the size of the original parent pumpkin, like I say it was started very late , but just nice to give me back one pumpkin, the same amount as what I ate in the first place hahahah :)

P1040768.JPG

Oh and I planted some ginger also found the same time as the pumpkin. I have never seen Ginger grow before, you could mistake it for bamboo leaves!

P1040773.JPG

P1040775.JPG


One of 4 "major" things to do next, is to cut this up ready to be burnt in the wood oven over winter for heating the cabin! Its the old kitchen!

P1040767.JPG

On the cannabis front, I chopped some buds today the ones that had the first bud rot and so I have this hanging up decoratively in my room! See my personal grow HERE it's an update from yesterday..

P1040783.JPG


Until the next time when ill hopefully organize the kitchen and not get distracted! Big Love and Abundance!

oslo trainstation.jpg

Big love! @movingman

My last post: No Cash, No Problem

helpienaut.png

helpie.png

sugar cocain.jpg
Untitled.png

canna.jpg

Sort:  

Nice! You are doing so much, and getting so much done! The hard work really pays off.

This would be a great post under the tag #ghsc, a growing homestead community.


Global Homestead Collective Come join us on discord! https://discord.gg/KCYH4JX7

Hi! ah yes free living is much harder as you know I guess :P

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 21 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 8 SBD worth and should receive 207 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

For some reason Steemit isn't letting me upvote at this moment. You seem to be doing pretty well for yourself though! 🙂 I got my work cut out for me with my kitchen too. Such a pain!

:) I had hoped to get a better phone today because the one i have is completley smashed and cant hold any apps on it , which means im limited to internet pritty much just on a laptop at the cabin lol. I got one but the battery is terrible like 2 hours life, andthe phones been superglued together! That wasnt in the ad :) i still got lots to do but still 2 months to do it, easy :@

You have recieved a free upvote from minnowpond, Send 0.1 -> 10 SBD with your post url as the memo to recieve an upvote from up to 100 accounts!

There s a certain satisfaction that comes from living at the poverty line; where we live now the expenses keep us from being able to save any $; so we'd rather lower our expenses, than work more, which means time away from the family..

Yep! Whilst growing up we learn thwt the better the job we have, the richer we shall be.. When the truth is that the better your job is, the more money you will spend on living that "better" life..

The truth is, it depends on how much it costs you to live, the expense of your lifestyle.. If i earn 200usd a day from work, then I keep it and can save it 🤗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60787.79
ETH 3242.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46