My Favorite FREE Books and Movies!

in #free8 years ago

My Favorite Author: Pope Robert Anton Wilson of Humanity


Over the years I've loved to be able to recommend great books and movies to friends or people wanting to be exposed to a concept. As anyone in a similar position of wanting to share their favorites with people, lend something out enough times and it eventually doesn't make its way back. So I've been particularly attuned to remembering which of my favorites were out there for free, specifically Robert Anton Wilson who wanted (upon passing) his works to be readily available to any reader.

Maybe Logic: The Lives and Ideas of Robert Anton Wilson


I had read a ton of his material before this documentary had come out and was overly excited to see it. Often I'm let down when I as hyped up as that, but I was elated with this production! It surpassed all my wildest expectations! I present this to you as my first FAVORITE FREEBIE!


Click Here for Video With Spanish Subtitles

Prometheus Rising (A Must Read for any Psyche Enthusiast)


I truly feel that anything I say won't fully do this book justice. It brings to light, explains and provides excersices parts of our psyche's that many of us on Steemit already seem to appreciate. Very few of the Facebook people ever ever thought to give this a second glance. Don't be like Facebook people!

How can you not be curious about this book whe seeing a Table of Contents like this!

Need more convincing? How about the start of chapter 10, is that enough to get you to click the link to the pdf below?

Prometheus Rising PDF

Masks of the Illuminati (Historical Fiction)


Masks of the Illuminati was not only my first Wilson read, it was the first book I had ever read for fun. Prior to this I had only read when I had to. While Illuminatus Trilogy is still my favorite to this day, this book is a much better introduction to Wilson's style. It's jam packed with real events and figures in history and takes you through the tale of one persons story of becoming Illuminated.

Fasten you safety belts and keep all limbs inside the moving vehicle. It's going to be a Crazy Ride!!

Masks of the Illuminati PDF

As Usual Folks: Keep Smilin and Steem On!




Image Sources:
Robert Anton Wilson
Imbecile Quote
Prometheus Rising Cover
Chapter 10 Image
Masks of the Illuminati

Sort:  

I wish I could like this twice. well a total of 23 times.

Perfect answer! +22 has been added! Please bury all ancillary material in a coffee can precisely 23 paces out your back door and 9 paces to your right. Await further instructions.

Lol

Thanks so much for this post. I was really addicted to the Illuminatus-trilogy back in college and didn't know about that documentary. This brings back memories. Fnord!

This post deserves to trend.

I'd gladly trade a trending post to have Mr. Wilson back alive with us once again!

I'm a bit embarrassed, but THANK YOU FOR INTRODUCING HIM TO ME. I did not know...

Totally no worries! He's not a well known figure in most circles, but I hope you love him! :D

This is so cool! Thanks for sharing it.

Absolutely! I love putting these out there. This guys whole collection is pretty much available for free now.
I think it'd be interesting to see a trend of 'cool free stuff' posts. :D

That would be a great idea for a series of posts. Free stuff for everyone!

I bet it will catch on! I've got a couple ideas myself. Feel free to give it a try yourself. I can see this site loving a 'free' tag :)

I just want to really read chapter 10! hahaha

Hehe, feel free to jump right in! That is my favorite chapter though, I never remember the title. Lol.

Thank you haven't read Masks fo the Illuminati but some of the others. rstm.

Happy to share! I personally found Masks way easier to digest than some of his other fiction. I hope you like it!

He is a new author to me. I love that he wanted his work in the public domain after he died. I am watching the video now and will probably seek out his work. I am a huge reader am I am wondering how I missed out on him.

He's not one many people have heard of. Most that have fall in love!
Any google search on Robert Anton Wilson will yield so much great stuff. I hope you enjoy!!

Good reminder for me to read his books again! Read all his stuff when I was 16. Well, thanks. (fnord)

He's one of the few that I've really enjoyed re-reading. So many things that I catch a second (or more) time through.

Now off to ride my golden submarine off into the sunset! Fnord

I love Wilson, I read Illuminatus! and Schrödinger's Cat years ago, but I didn't really get further than that. Might be time to pick up some of his other work... Might make more sense with the experiences I've had over the years.

For me it was well worth finding new stuff or re-reading old after some years. I always find something new in there. Did you ever read Cosmic Trigger part 1? It kinda got into things and experiences that 'turned him on.' I debated on including that in here but figured 3 was enough. But it's another great read.

I don't think I read that one. Sounds bad ass

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60596.21
ETH 2611.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64