PLANT SWAPPING WITH STEEMIANS! - @SHALOMACRES & PAPA-PEPPER

in #free6 years ago

This "online" community is impacting my "offline" life in many ways!


It's been a blessing to not only be a part of the amazing online community here on steemit, but also to get connected to all sorts of people in real life because of steemit. Several of the people that we periodically hang out with are people that we first met on steemit. Recently, I got to take the family down to meet @shalomacres, but we did not want to show up empty handed.

GIVING & RECEIVING

Since they are up to many similar things on their homestead (like growing nutritious foods and beneficial herbs) I figured that we would gift them a few plants that they did not have already growing. We brought some stinging nettle, witch hazel, hops, figs, and gooseberry plants down with us. In return, they made sure that we did not leave empty handed.

Before we left, @shalomacres got busy with gathering up some plants to gift us! We received some chives and some onions, which you can see being gathered above here.

IMG_9933.JPG

These are some beautiful Golden Raspberry plants. I've grown ones like this up in Wisconsin, but we don't have any on our property in Arkansas yet, so it was great to get some for free.

Their son @randomstuff was hard at work gathering some of these raspberries for us. It's great to see families accomplish tasks together, as many hands make light work! Thanks @randomstuff!

Here @shalomacres is gathering some of their strawberry plants for us. Like many plants, they reproduce at an incredible rate and provide many extra plants to plant elsewhere, sell, trade, or even give away!

I was very pleased with the size and health of the strawberry plants. The fact that thy were free is even better! What a great gift, and it shows the blessing of trading and gifting very well. These will be delicious!

IMG_9972.JPG

Back at home at got to work before the rain was expected to come. This raised strawberry bed was created just to receive these plants. I simply lined up the rocks on top of a layer of wood chip mulch and then filled the bed with compost and rabbit manure. We will see how they like it soon enough!

The raspberries were planted in one long row, with space to grow. These plants will run under the ground and fill in an area rather nicely. Moreover, eventually they will make too many new ones and it'll be time for us to give some away!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-plant-swapping

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Weldone @papa-pepper , I want to learn more about plant swapping please.

Yes, many of us here like to share what we have, and many of us like to grow our own food rather than buy it. When plants become established, many can be divided into many more, like the strawberries and raspberries.

Yes, thanks for your knowledge and wisdom trying to impact good things in us all. Trying to make food easy for people to plant and make it earlier for a local man to cultivate.

I think that it is good to be connected to the food supply too. When you grow it, then you know how it was treated and what it was exposed to. I do not like many chemicals and such in my food.

Wow, I love this beautiful plants, so gorgeous and so easy to plant. I'm so much interested in knowing more about the plant @papa-pepper

It is amazing to me how easy many of these plants are to grow and to share. Do you grow any of your own food?

Yes of course, I grow vegetables , pepper and cassava. Thanks for asking me.

Aha! PEPPER! A great choice! Do you have animals too?

We have a cow, goats, sheep, rabbits, ducks, chickens, and Guinea fowl.

@papa-pepper, yes also. I rear animals. I'm a fan of animals and plants.

I rear animals like dogs , chicken, goat, rabbit. Yes of course. I rear animals too.

Interesting. We live so far apart, but the animals are the same! LOL! Have a good night my friend!

Wow, I'm so grateful , you are such a mentor for me.

What animals do you raise?

I rear dogs,rabbit

I rear Goat, I rear chicken

Plants swapping, excellent idea @papa-pepper. As always enjoy reading your posts.

I like your homesteading good
I appreciate your post

Your thanks friends

What a display of love. Giving and receiving

I love doing both! It's great to receive and wonderful to be able to give!

Steemit connecting people more than Nokia. That is the benefit of having friends of like-minds on steemit. You get to share ideas and gift and have some good laugh. I like the fact that aside steemit, you both are two hardworking men.

Lol, I love that first sentence! #truestory

I foresee a homestead token pioneer by @papa-pepper hahaha. Steemit moving away from virtual world to the physical...

although the platform has changed a little, I still like the teachings and friendships we can cultivate in this network even if we are at a distance, greetings friend

Giving is indeed an art, so is receiving. This is really nice.

It was a blessing, all around!

No doubt, Papa.

good souvenirs for his friends, may the plant that @papa-pepper can be developed may be very useful, thank you very much for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 62868.73
ETH 3108.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50