What is the True Meaning of Freedom

in #free7 years ago (edited)

Many of us knowingly or unknowingly are self-made prisoners and secretly dying in pain due to micro or macro environmental factors and thus desire freedom at any cost. What does freedom really mean? In fact the true meaning of freedom is highly contested and for the purpose of this article, I will define freedom according to Dr Shrirang Bakhle : Freedom basically means fulfilling the desires we want – while giving up the wishes we don’t mind giving up  

With regard to the above definition, we can figure out things to do or avoid in order achieving freedom - below are some few points that will help:


Pic source

  • Abusive relationships: many of us stay too long in abusive relationship either  via family/ marriage or friendship due to fear of being alone. In reality, it is very difficult to change an abusive soul so the best thing to do is to free yourself from such person because being alone is far better than being killed by an abusive partner. The good thing, however, is that a new beginning will always  open for you if you close the old one. 
  • Abusive Job / Career : have you ever done a job that you don’t enjoy and just because of getting some money to pay your bills? Many of us would love to focus full time on what we love doing however economic situation might make us to do otherwise. The important thing, is to work hard and try free yourself from the abusive job.  @teamsteem and most recently @ericvancewalton have always wanted to be free from their job and focus 100% on what they love for example their writing careers at steemit and have to make the decision to quite their job in order to do what they love which in return will lead to their freedom. This also relates to freedom from unwanted studies or careers.
  • Freedom from Sickness / Addiction : changing our addictive life style (see my former post :  Reasons Why Many People Fail ) , eliminating negative thinking / energy and  doing more outdoor activities like sports / eating healthy natural foods -  (examples @quinneaker , @papa-pepper , @saramiller , @gardenofeden  and @amy-goodrich  plus others not mentioned here) will help us live a more healthier life and thus be free from sickness and addiction. 
  • Governmental Control: Some control freak governments can make life very difficult for a person therefore the best thing to do is to free yourself from them by voting them out of office or  moving to a country that respect and shares your values. Remember that the world is too big and there will always be a place and people that will welcome you. 
  • Debt : One of the worst thing in someone life is to be in debt because you will never feel free especially if you constantly get mails , telephone threats and knock on your door due to the money you owe. Therefore freedom from debt is crucial to being free . The good news , is that good crypto´s and  steemit allows us to earn money online which  help in taking care of our financial needs.


Do you agree with the points raised here? Now is your turn to indicate the true meaning of freedom.Send in your comments and please would you up vote my post in order to send in your support, click follow in order to see future posts from me on your feed and resteem in order to share this post with your followers. 


Pls see my former post:   Reasons Why Many People Fail



 For those who want to be an investor in Bitcoin wallet see X coins link: https://xcoins.io/investors?r=v93e2z   


Sort:  

People over complicate freedom (probably as a procrastination tool to effect change to that state.)

I am speaking as a single guy, in his late forties, so I also appreciate it may be easier for me to say.

I don't pay taxes (on food and things yes- I realize I have not choice),- haven't done for 25 years.

I will not contribute to my own, or others, repression.

I acknowledge no government or its rules, I stay where i want for as long as I want. ( and yes this had caused many overstay issues on leaving countries - but so what?)
I have no debt. To have debt to any financial institution, is jst putting chains on yourself, and everyone else.
There is no way around this - you are culpable and adding to the problem, or you're not.
Its not rocket science.

The price you pay? - Is high.

For me? - Its not as high as being someone else's bitch.

Why do you you say you dont pay taxes?

I submit, that you do pay taxes that have a different name. Maybe surcharge or fee.

Costs are passed on. Sometimes costs are hidden with a new name. DEATH TAX. Estate tax......

I agree with you, there are some taxes where not paying is not an option. (as the system stands at the moment)

Paying taxes that are optional - (income tax, for example- The biggest one in supporting the slave masters) - is just helping your own enslavement.

Don't get me wrong - It's not easy, and excludes you from many things.

Freedom isn't cheap. I posted this today...

https://steemit.com/blog/@lucylin/contemplation

Good point @lucylin I agree with you.

Makes sense..

Cool post and thank you for the mention. I look forward to freeing us all from abusive jobs.

Amen to that...I hope that I will be next ...and thanks for all your support and upvotes. I wish you a blessed week.

this is an interesting post. I think the meaning of freedom is for every person something differente, it depends also in which culture the person is coming from. Meaning of freedom for me is: Not to think too much about tomorrow, being healthy, have honest friends and being honest, allowed to be myself, making my dreams true, freedom of choice the life that I want to live, freedom is a good health ... and I think there are many other points :)

Health is key.

wow this is a good comment Lena...I agree with you..I wish you freedom

Debt is sure a bad un. I try my best to steer clear of that one

My one friend in USA is a millionaire he says number one cause of debt is stress related heart disease which he avoids by making lots of money, even though he is quite overweight.

I must admit, making lots of money would certainly alleviate the pain of stress!

He said financial stress is the biggest source of stress for people.

The stress of not having enough money or having too much?

good point. more money more problems?

I actually believe more money less problems. I dont believe it entirely buys you happiness but I do think that it lessens the worries you may have.

You may be right. What do you do?

Good point , debt is indeed too bad and can kill a Gentleman like us isnt it?

It can unless the beast is harnessed correctly and ridden like it should!

Good point, I agree

Great! I like you style of writing!
Freedom! Yes, something everyone want but often with a fault image.


I agree 100% with all your points.
I would like to ad something.

Freedom=Responsibility.

What do I mean by that?

It's the way/mentality how you live when you achieved the goal what gives you the freedom. For example quoting the job you don't like.

Now you have the freedom you wanted, but you can also abuse it now. You can lose focus because maybe you don't have to write this article, i will do it tomorrow for example.


There is so much to talk about but I don't want to make it too long. 😄

Well analysed comment, thanks for sharing your thoughts

Thanks for this great article :)

welcome bud...more success to you.

If you can live in the present moment, be grateful and truly happy, only then can you free of all the burdens.

I upvoted and resteemed this post. I love how freedom seems to be the theme of the day for me, I wrote a poem about freedom today if you are interested. Here is the link
https://steemit.com/poetry/@ladyreijya/the-me-inside-me

Good poem, upped and thanks for your comment

Thank you. Also thanks for the upvote!

welcome and more success

Very enlightening post, @charles1! I appreciate you including me in it.

You are welcome Eric, I appreciate your great contents..thanks for your comment

Nicely described about freedom. Upvoted and followed.

welcome and success to you

Thank u .

Please help me out to grow in steemit and suggest some tips.

It is truly hard to be free in a country bursting with addictions, myths, and chains. Great post.

welcome and thanks for your comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30