SelfportraitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #foxtales5 years ago

This is an entry for @vermillionfox's #foxtales contest.

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgnBfdntZHvMJ4oY7p.jpeg

It should be obvious, but that is @vermillionfox's art that is to be the inspiration for the story. My apologies if I've embedded it the wrong way or something.


Sluice. Calm. Congenial. A watershed outward projection pushing out out mirrored. In the mirror. Myself? My reflection? Me? Fully me? Perceived me? What blue project pushes forward from myself into myself. Into the world. Into oblivion yet permanent momentarily. I create what I perceive to be myself, in blue, in gray, mirrored, swapped, static as I look upon it. Fleshed. Painted. Promulgated as fact. Truth? Self-truth? A deception beyond my own comprehension as creator and created. Seen, surely. Misidentified. UFO. A skin showing self outwardly projecting inwardly scrambled scared screaming. Thoughts rivulets paint drips brush strokes screams. Nausea. Half hidden half true half human half. Waterfalls. Tears? Tears. Rips. RIP. Torn away too soon. Niagara. Sluice.


I decided to go with something a bit different today - a bit more stream-of-consciousness. Basically I saw the vertical stroke on the portrait and thought of water and then thought of the idea of it being a self-portrait. While it's not exactly Joyce's "Selfportrait of the Artist as a Young Man", you can see what gears were turned in my brain.

I might submit something a bit more traditional. h/t to @calluna for alerting me to this contest.

Sort:  

Hello, good story good luck in the contest. I like how you explained it all and have featured the post in my pay it forward contest for the week.
https://steemit.com/payitforward/@stever82/my-entry-for-week-46-pay-it-forward-curation-contest

Thanks for the vote of confidence! I'm glad you liked it - this one really went out of my comfort zone as a writer.

For sure good job

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice little story, sir! Thanks for sharing!

Congratulations on being featured by @stever82 in his entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

This post is supported by $0.12 @tipU upvote funded by @stever82 :)
@tipU voting service guide | For investors.

Congratulations @simonpennon! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 50 replies. Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

interesting interpretation of a picture @simonpennon, I think that you create a special story and I enjoy reading it... thoughtful!
I found yoru post through @stever82 entry post in the pay it forward contest this week and glad that I can read something ,ike this on steemit.

Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Very cool man would have loved to see a few more shots of the process! Good luck with the contest and hope to see you continue to share your creative work

I found your post via @stever82 submission for @pifc

Thank you! Hopefully the judge likes it as much as you do!

Very nicely done. I love the write up you did go along with it. It makes you think, wonder.

You were featured in week 46 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @stever82. @pifc is a Pay It Forward Community which believes in by helping others grow we build a stronger community. We run this contest each week, it is open to everyone. It's a great way to show off people you find that might need some more exposure or meet new people.

I'm never good at arts lol. Anyways, congratulations on being selected for this week's pay it forward (pifc).

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61766.85
ETH 3081.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82