Silent Observer

in #foxtales7 years ago

U5dtmp644Son9NU1fVMPzUWHkfRtqgB_1680x8400.jpg


She sits in front of her dressing mirror and works feverishly on her face. Her appearance has changed a little. Last week had been a mass of black hair with curly bangs. Today, her hair is red and the lipstick on the table says she intends to paint the day bloody. She transforms at will, but one thing never changes; her grey eyes. They're my favourite part of her body. They have a way of drawing you in. She drops the lipstick and flashes a smile at me, proof she's satisfied with her looks. She'll leave in a few minutes and I'll do what I do best, watch and wait. I've been watching and waiting since she brought me to live with her. It's a habit turned into skill, and now, it's become an art. My main focus is her king-sized bed. I never liked it at first but now I don't mind. It's become the center of everything that happens in this house. Another thing I used to do is wonder who she'll come home with. There used to be just one visitor - a tall redhead. I never learned her name. She calls her "My Brat." Now, there are many. Maybe I can wonder one more time, if she'll return with more than one. She did once and I had to watch four women cut themselves up and do crazy things with candles. I see all. I know all. I can't do anything though. I'm only a piece of glass that reflects images.


My entry for Foxtales' one paragraph fiction contest. See original post here https://steemit.com/art/@vermillionfox/week-16-fox-tales-a-theme-fit-for-international-women-s-day-winners-and-a-chance-to-win-extra-steem

Sort:  

I'm intrigued and have a real urge to read on. Probably one of the most important aspects to writing, so congratulations, I like it!

Hi @chinyerevivian very interesting story. I think that sometimes flash fiction can force us to refine our work and this is certainly the case with this story. There are few wasted words, everything has a purpose. My impression at first was that it was a partner (boyfriend/girlfriend) watching her put on her make up, then a child, then at the end I was left with the impression that it's maybe a mirror. It left me wondering at the end which is what good flash fiction should do, leaving the reader guessing where the story is going. I liked this story very much :-)

Thanks a lot 👌

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by chinyerevivian from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49