FORAGING IN TEXAS – PRICKLY PEAR

in #foraging7 years ago

Free food can be found all around if we know where to look.


Whether @papa-pepper is at home or abroad, I’m always keeping my eye open to see what is around me. Like many warmer places in the world, Texas has an incredible amount of Prickly Pear pad-type cacti growing.

Back up in Wisconsin, there are even some varieties that grow and can actually survive the harsh winters. At the stores, though, the fruit of the Prickly Pear is shipped up from warmer climates and sold at the super-markets, often for more than 50 cents each. When I look at some of the fruiting cacti down in Texas, I can’t help but see the dollar signs. Not the dollar signs in potential profit, but the dollar signs of money saved or money not spent. An important part of my life is realizing that each dollar that I do not need to spend is a dollar that I do not need to earn, or perhaps $2 that I do not need to earn once taxes are taken into consideration.

For me, there has always been a strong preference to harvest my own food. I think that there is even a connection to the world that we live in that can be achieved when we pluck a ripe fruit from the plant that produced it rather than digging it out of a wax-coated, stickered pile of under-ripe fruit at the grocery store.

To cut open a wild fruit that has been warmed by the sun and feel the juicy nutrition within is an experience that I relish. Something about the whole scenario feels so right, and also tastes so good.

FORAGING IN TEXAS – PRICKLY PEAR


I am amazed sometimes at how many people these days simply do not eat the food growing all around them. The cacti in the video were between the salty waters of the Gulf of Mexico and a restaurant parking lot. Obviously, the patrons of that establishment must be hungry, and yet, the vast majority would never stop to pick one of these incredible edibles as an “appetizer” or for “dessert.”

Well, since I’m not exactly your “average citizen,” I not only had a snack, I made a video and took some photos too. In times of need, this is helpful and potentially life-saving information to have, and even during an extended power outage, you could still get some food at this restaurant if you knew where to look.

MORE ON THIS GREAT WILD FOOD


The name “Prickly Pear” is used to refer to any number of cacti varieties within the genus Opuntia. They are originally native to the Western Hemisphere, but can now be found all around the world. The fruit of the Prickly Pear is known as a "prickly pear," tuna, or a "cactus apple."

Not only can the ripe fruit be eaten, but the pads are also edible. I have enjoyed the cooked pads on many occasions. Down in South Texas, the paternal grandmother of @mama-pepper used to dice them and fry them in oil. On the streets of the border towns in Mexico you can purchase small bags of diced Prickly Pear cactus pads from street vendors. Most notably in my experience was a trip that I took to Acapulco in 2005. I stayed at an all-inclusive resort where there were several buffet-style meals per day. I had never seen cacti prepared in so many incredible and delicious ways.

TRYING A NEW VARIETY


Though I am quite familiar with the purple fruiting variety of Prickly Pear, on this last trip to Texas I was blessed with being able to try some orange fruit from a different species. Not only can the fruit vary in color, the flowers do as well. Most often I see varieties of Prickly Pear that have yellow flowers, but I did see some with pink flowers too.

The orange Prickly Pear fruit reminded me of the Pitaya (AKA Dragonfruit) when I ate it. It has a smoother consistency and "creamier" texture to it. I am always impressed with the amount of variety that there can be in colors, flavors, and textures; even when dealing with very similar food.

The purple fruit that I am used to has a more fruity taste. The fresh one in the video was absolutely delicious. One thing to remember when eating the fruit of the Prickly Pear cactus is that it is full of small seeds. These seeds are very tough and can almost feel like little pebbles. Often I will save the seeds and plant them, but they can also be spit out or swallowed.

WHAT ABOUT YOU?


I am sure that many of you have seen this type of cacti, but have you ever eaten them? If so have you eaten the fruit, the pads, or both? Have you ever eaten them in the wild like I did in the video?

Thankfully, a few varieties grow here in Arkansas too and I have already propagated some to grow on our land. A few even flowered and fruited the first year that I propagated them, which was both excellent and delivious!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-prickly-pear



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Wow @papa-pepper can't remember when last I had some of these. They where very delicious from what I can remember. I am from South Africa and in Afrikaans it's called "Turksvy".

My grandmother used to make the best jam with these as well. Her jam used to go nice with toast and coffee in the mornings.

Nice dear friend :))

Glad that you think so! Thank you!

Awesome, are all prickly pears edible? I have seen some in the wild that look a little different to the ones you just ate? i was scared to eat them though lol

Check with locals in the area that you saw them. Often, someone in the area has knowledge about which wild plants are good to eat in the area.

Very informative @papapepper .This is my first time seeing prickly pear. I have heard of 'pear' but not the prickly one(lol)

Interesting, these ones sure are prickly, so watch out if you find them!

Alright. I'll definitely watch out.

A very memorable adventure. Maybe i will try it later

It is worth the taste. I enjoy them a lot and have been eating them for years now.

I love the idea of foraging, what is there not to like? Healthy free food. I wish someone would create a UK foraging app.

i actually have never seen this type of cactus fruiting before @papa-pepper !
resteemed

They are beautiful when they flower and fruit!

I think I should grow some myself. What would you say is the most challenging part of collecting them? or rather, what's the best way to collect the fruit without lancing yourself over and over?

Some people will use tongs to pick them and then burn off the spines with a blowtorch. Tongs probably make it safest.

Never thought of burning off the spines. Interesting visual to say the least... Forged in Fire, Cactus-Style.

That's great. I've never had prickly pear. I want to look into if they will grow in my area.
My wife and I like to do a little wild crafting. Right now the black berries are crackin in our area. Amazing, juicy, and warmed by the sun, just like nature intended.
Cheers. Thanks for the cool info.

Check if they will. They grow at least from Canada to Mexico depending on the variety so they can span a wide range of growing zones.

Yes, they will. They grow in hardiness zones 7-10. I'm in 9.
Cool. When I get some on a dish I will send you an update.
Thanks for my next wild garden project.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39