Marinaded Flank Steak Photo With Recipe

This top photo is my entry into the foodphotography challenge hosted by @juliank, details here:
https://steemit.com/blog/@juliank/happymondaysteemitshareyourfoodandanimalphotography-201802120000004788

This is marinaded flank steak, cooked to "perfection" although I actually like mine a little more done lol!
DSCF3272.JPG

That fine cut was raised by a preacher in the next town over. All winter we have been blessed to dine on holy cow... :)
Here is how I prepared it last night - easy and delicious! It is great on every kind of meat I have tried!

The marinade ingredients:

DSCF3246.JPG

In a glass dish large enough to lay the meat out flat, combine the following:
1/2 teaspoon of pepper
DSCF3247.JPG

1/2 teaspoon salt
DSCF3248.JPG

1 Tablespoon dried parsley
DSCF3249.JPG

4 or 5 garlic toes, minced
DSCF3252.JPG

1 cayenne pepper
DSCF3257.JPG

I love this little grinder, it leaves my garlic and pepper in big enough chunks to be flavor bursts, but small enough that you don't get a random bite of pure garlic or pure cayenne!
DSCF3260.JPG

2 Tablespoons vinegar
DSCF3262.JPG

2 Tablespoons olive oil
DSCF3263.JPG

Rinse and dry your steak, rub the marinade into both sides then cover and let it soak! You can do this overnight in the fridge, or at room temperature for about an hour. My kitchen is rather chilly, I went for 1 1/2 hours.
DSCF3266.JPG

Put it on a wire rack in a shallow dish, on an upper rack in the oven.
DSCF3267.JPG

Broil for 12 minutes on one side, 7 minutes on the other.
DSCF3270.JPG

Cover and let rest 10 minutes before serving.
DSCF3271.JPG

Printer friendly recipe:
In glass dish large enough for meat to lay flat in, combine:
1/2 teaspoon each salt and pepper
1 Tablespoon dried parsley
4 or 5 minced garlic toes
1 minced cayenne pepper
2 Tablespoons each vinegar and olive oil
Rinse and dry the meat, coat it well and let marinade for at least an hour, up to overnight. Long marinade should be done in the refrigerator.
Place marinaded meat in shallow baking dish on wire rack, broil on upper rack of oven for 12 minutes on one side, 7 minutes on the other.
Cover and let rest 10 minutes before serving.

Trivia! I just realized that you can use "d" or "t"... marinate, marinade. I found myself going back and forth as I typed so I checked to see which was right... both!

Sort:  

The house smelled heavenly! I like it when she cooks. :) Gonna re steem ya girlfriend.

Wow I've learnt a new word today "marinade". It looks tasty and I'm drooling right now. : ) Good luck @fishyculture, I hope you could win the contest.

Thank you, it was pretty tasty.

OH my goodness, this looks sooo GOOD. I am virtually eating it right now nom nom. Good ingredients in the marinade too, good luck with the photo contest.

Thank you! We gave up many of our expensive hobbies to eat top quality food, one of our better decisions in life!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 6.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.22
Server time: 15:32:12
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 138.45/200.00
Total Photos: 18
Total comments: 35
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62881.38
ETH 2449.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62