The Great British Pie - Rich in flavour and history!


20180716-IMG_1168.jpg

I was at a sunday market on the weekend sampling the local delights when I encountered a pie stall. Now for anyone who isn't British, your first thought on pie would probably apple or cherry, but here the most common types of pies are meat pies, and they have ancient roots.

Pies have been around since the ancient Egyptians, but it was the Romans who first enclosed a filling with a pastry-type substance made from flour and oil. The first published recipe actually features a rye dough filled with goats cheese and honey. YUM.

The classic british pie was similar to this but used local ingredients, no olive oil was available. So they used butter and lard mixed with flour to create a pastry your could mould into different shapes. It was an early way to preserve whatever filling was inside, so pies became popular food for travel, be it at sea (it was easier than taking a whole cow and butchering it en-route) or as part of a marching army. Generally back then you didn't eat the pastry that encased the filling, that was there to preserve the filling for longer. And so the Pie was born and create such delightful combinations like peppered steak, chicken and mushroom, potato and leak, or like in the image above, roasted cauliflower and caramelised red onion.

So, you can thank the Roman empire for bringing the concept of Pies to Northern Europe where it then evolved into the pies we eat today.

Also, did you know the first fruit pie was a cherry pie served to Queen Victoria? Neither did I.. until I researched for this post!


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-16T15:31:21
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 722.92/800.00
Total Photos: 60
Total comments: 26
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Looks gooooood

It does, doesn't it :) It smelled good too.. really got me hungry lol

Yes people, despite the occasionally funny names like toad in the hole and spotted dick, and the existence of haggis, tasty British food does exist.

I like pie.

lol. Yes, though I quite like haggis :) Its one of those things you have to try, its not as bad as it sounds! Pie is the best; cherry, apple, pear, steak, chicken .. its all good! :D

I did smell haggis once, and opted out. I was afraid it would be as bad as it smelled. I had pie.

lol The quality can vary greatly depending on the restaurant you're in. Pie is always a good choice though :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Hi.
I already knew something about the preferences of the British with regard to meat cuts, I had the opportunity to try them and they are delicious and of course if you accompany them with a coffee or fruit juice.
Greetings from Venezuela

Thanks! They also go well with a nice beer ;)

Oh yum! Your post has made my stomach grumble!! The most amazing pie I've tried recently (in the UK) was an"NY Deli Pie" - imagine your standard pork pie but with inner layers of pickles and pastrami. I swear I went weak at the knees! E x

oh my.. that sounds incredible! Where in the UK was this? It sounds like something I need to try too!

I've just had a reply from my friend... you're not going to believe it... it was from the Tesco deli counter ;) Maybe you can get your hands on some too?!

omg for real? that is so funny! Next time I am in tesco I will check out the deli counter! I need to try this pie! :) Thanks for finding out where it came from! :)

Haha! I know- I thought it would be from some kind of artisan deli so i was really surprised when he told me! Let me know what you think... E x

Ooh it was gorgeous! I'm down in Devon, and a friend brought a chunk in to work for me. I'll have to ask him where he got it, as I'm craving it now ;)

I have heard of this before. It does not look appealing but I still wonder what it tastes like. I hope I will get a chance to try it someday :)

There are many different variations of pies, I'm sure you can find one that appeals to you, sometimes they don't look that nice, but they are delicious .. and very filling!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63123.52
ETH 3121.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88