Have Too Much Food In Your Garden? Give It Away! Join The "Food Is Free" Project This Year.

in #foodisfree7 years ago (edited)

It's that time of year again, where we have too much produce for our family to eat, so the sign is out!

IMG_7724.JPG

As our different crops become ready to harvest I add and remove the daily treats available to anyone in our community to come and have, yes, for free.

Giving, sharing, this is the kind of world I want to live in. Trading and bartering all good too! Let's cut out the vicious middle men and begin to truly live in a symbiotic way again. Strong communities make the parasitic systems obsolete.

IMG_7725.JPG

We also rock this sign on our front door, trying to get the bug in people's ears about how simple it could be, to live a completely different kind of life. We have been doing this for 3 years now. It sure has struck up a lot of great conversations on our little road.

We have been able to give away quite a bit of food, meet amazing folks, who are now our friends. Sure, not everyone in our community is growing food now or anything, these things take time and we're in it for the long haul.

Living near historic Peggy's Cove Lighthouse, and with a huge factory across the road from us, we get many, many folks walking by all the time in the summer. If we stay persistent, I know things will catch on eventually.

IMG_7726.JPG

Just seeing the smiles on their faces is good enough for me too. Folks may not stop to get food, yet I see their smiles when they admire our front "Lawn" turned into a sustainable gardening paradise...

IMG_7728.JPG

So what do you think? If you grow food would you consider setting a little aside and putting up a Food Is Free sign?

Would you tear out some of your lawn and plant food?

If you do, make sure to use the FoodIsFree and GrowFoodNotLawns tag so I can resteem you and share your posts in my other networks!

I just put the sign up this afternoon so I don't have any success stories yet, however, be expecting updates and tales of the wonderful folks I meet, and the things we discuss, in the very near future.

And I am so happy to say that the Food Is Free Project has joined Steemit! Follow: @foodisfree

Here's an introduction to the movement for you to read: Hello! I'm John, founder of Food is Free Project, a worldwide network of front yard community gardens

Also, another fellow Steemian has joined the Food Is Free Project, from Spain! Follow @antje and read her first success story: We are with you "Food is Free Project" foodisfreeproject.org

Sort:  

@lindsaybowes While I don't put a sign on my door (I live out in the country with a rather long driveway) I do give extra produce and food I have canned to neighbors. My community is composed of mostly seniors who are on limited budgets. I started giving these folks my extra, asking only that they save the canning jars, lids and rings which I return and pick up. This gives folks not only good fresh produce, but also food to go into their pantry for the time of year when abundance isn't as prolific. I have made some very good friends doing this, and my friends have blessed me over and above what I've been able to share with them.

What a tremendous comment! I am just BEAMING with SMILES!!! :') It is so wonderful hearing how much you are helping your community, eat nutritious foods, and save their precious dollars. I'm just touched that you care so much for the seniors, if the world had more people like you, it would change overnight!!!!!!

This is so beautiful and inspiring. We have just moved into our rural area and don't know many people. Yet at the same time, I have been blessed with two ducks, countless tomatoes, peppers, and even cucumbers by folks who care more about sharing and community than making an extra buck. I would much rather my children learn about this, real "sharing," than the forced toy-passing that is used to explain the term. Can't wait until our garden (which is a plan for next year, once we're more settled!) is abundant enough to share. :)

Ooh just BEAUTIFUL!!! Bless your community!! And bless you too, this is just great to hear and I have the hugest smile on my face!! xoxoxoxoxo I look forward to hearing more #FoodIsFree success stories from you!

I love hearing your story and watching things evolve and unfold. It's so true that just the simple smile on a neighbor or strangers face makes everything worth it. Keep up the awesome community magic. The best is yet to come!

The best is yet to come and thank you so much for inspiring the World to set up #FoodIsFree stands!!

LOVE THIS GrowFoodNotLawns!

Thank you SO MUCH!!! xoxooxoxoxoxoxxo Yesssss!!! Tear out that weed n feeded grass, plant beautiful seeds and then eat your "Lawn"!! xoxoxooxx

Such a great idea! We have a large garde, raw goat's milk and pasture raised chickens. We trade with one of our neighbors frequently. I wish even more people in our area would step up production. Being in the country almost everyone has a garden but not one producing more than they can use.

That is SO awesome that you are trading with your neighbours, it's all about these little steps!! They will make a difference!!

it's so happy to me when i met a lot of great people in here. hope there is still more many people who care each other out there..

There are a lot of good people here on Steemit. And there are a lot of good people in this world. Thanks to the #ActsOfKindness challenge for introducing me to you. Much love @orcheva. Peace <3

yes, me too..nice to met you in here... ;)

That's a beautiful yard with nice plants , I wish I had a place like that , and growing some plants also with a place for some trees , but I know it's a really hard work to do. Farming also it's a great work for the ecosystem and life. I wish luck for all of the people in Foodisfree Project . :)

I hope one day you can be in a place where you can grow food and have trees Davood! xo Thanks for writing!

What a great initiative! We recently started growing our own veggies. It's fun and too easy. I would love to share with others

That's awesome CryptoMam! If you do this, make sure to put a sign that says "Food Is Free" and send either myself, or @foodisfree a photo of it so we can share it in our networks, and @foodisfree will put it on their fb page!

Excellent initiative.

We've particularly had an excess of eggs this year. We regularly get a dozen a day but only use about 4 so we give the rest to friends and neighbours that happen to come by. No one ever says no to free eggs.

I hadn't thought of putting a sign out though. Might try that although we are up a half mile lane with practically no passing traffic.

That is sooooo sweet of you to share your eggs! I Love it!!!! Great job Pennsif! You are BEing the Change!!

That's so cool and grown without the crud the corporations use.
I'd take some off your hands babe but it's a 9 hr flight for me to come get it!
Great post Lindsay, keep on being awesome.

Thank you very much for the support Mr. Tremendos! We'll keep some aside for you, see you in 9 hours lol~~

Damn, fell asleep and missed the flight!
You'll have to post them 😜

I'll keep you posted, you know it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39