WORK GLOVES OFF APRON ON...HEAPING SOME HEAT #FOODFIGHTFRIDAY

in #foodfightfriday5 years ago

Hello all my fellow foodie friends. HAPPY FRIDAY !! You know what that means, let's make a mess and get the food flying
around the freezing kitchen. Well it's not exactly freezing, but it will be soon here in God's country NY.
That being said, it's the time of the year here when it's asses and elbows to collect our heat for the winter, we know it's coming come hell or altitudinous (high) water. hum

So @thebigsweed with his eye on the prize and a REALLY, REALLY, REALLY hard working partner, firewood gathering has been the theme on the #farm this past week. Now the wood engineer has got it down to the minutes. For instance, it takes 59 minutes to split enough WOOD to fill the wagon, another 2 minutes to drive the ATV back to the house to unload and stack the WOOD. Now this is where I come in. I'm the best stacker you have ever seen. As soon as I hear the roar of the ATV coming down the pike, on go my trusty ole work gloves. I don't want to mess up my mani.

Just check out what I managed to stack all by myself, well, maybe I had just a little help from the big guy. I think it's just a beautiful sight to see and very soon I'll be feelin' the HEAT.

IMG_6412 (2).JPG

Being that I am in a marriage, I mean UNION, I insist we break for lunch. Now the wood engineer figures he can get another load while his hard working partner turns into his personal chef.

Off with the gloves on with the apron, a trip to the garden to pluck some #herbs and #veggies. With a delivery of fresh eggs this morning from my beloved EGG LADY, I thought a FRITTATA was a great idea. Since I own the deep pan "Copper Chef" how could I go wrong.

Here we go again...let's fight clean, no hitting below the belt.

IMG_6413.JPG

Chopping and dicing some red pepper, green pepper, broccoli and red onions was a snap.

IMG_6414.JPG

After browning up 2 slices of bacon, I added some shredded potatoes, browned them up, then spread the bottom with this nice mix.

IMG_6415.JPG

Added all these perfectly chopped, diced and sliced veggies on top of the potato mix.

IMG_6416.JPG

A dozen eggs whished with a little milk.

IMG_6417.JPG

Eggs are pored over the veggies, a little shredded cheddar and fresh chives top this masterpiece off.

IMG_6419.JPG

Into the HEAT it goes. Oven is what I meant, still thinking of that dang WOOD.

IMG_6420.JPG

Now don't ya know, exactly 61 minutes after I started being the chef, the chef engineer, oh I mean chief engineer shows up and says ''Ready to unload some more HEAT.
NO sir it's time to eat, UNION rules, ya know.

IMG_6424.JPG

Now that lunch is over, it's back to work. Off goes the boss to collect the next wagon full of WOOD. Now I know it's 59 minutes to collect the WOOD and 2 minutes to drive back. So that gives me 61 minutes to clean up the mess in the kitchen right? WRONG, the sun is shinning and my lounge chair is calling me. I whip off my apron and my hoddie and lay right down on the beautiful lounge to catch a few rays. I was asleep in 30 seconds. Thank goodness the roar of the ATV woke me just in time. I didn't want to get fired. Phew it was close.

Next trip up for the next load of WOOD, I jumped on my machine to check out what the boss was up to. Boy was I surprised, here he was just lounging under his own beach umbrella, unbelievable, I'm calling my UNION rep first thing tomorrow.

IMG_6433.JPG

Thank you to our #fff reps @jlsplatts, @dandays and @idig. Do you guys belong to the UNION, I need to report a serious matter.

belt robin.gif

Have a fantastic weekend everyone, enjoy the food.
Enjoy the flower!!

IMG_6357.JPG

Sort:  

Nice #fff entry @farm-mom, I love how you prepared your lunch, almost like a baked omelette, must have been delicious!
We're taking out the summer clothes and you're collecting wood, amazing world we live in not so!

Hello and good morning to you. That's what I love about #steemit, you get to talk to people from all over the world, so cool. You are from south Africa correct? your summer is our winter.
That baked omelet, we call them frittatas, was so loaded with fresh veggies and herbs it couldn't be bad if I burned it. Of course @thebigsweed had his usual "man-sized portion", boy he loves the eat, but he always says thanks, sometimes while burping hehehehe, have a great day my friend.

@farm-mom comes into the kitchen packin’... wood that is!! Don’t let me catch you nappin’ on my watch, you might end up doin’ the sh—- work. Lol.

My original Local was 1245 out of central California now my home Local is 77
tsyt2fgxjm.jpg

Keep on Keepin’ on! That snow is going to be just around the corner. Things are started to get a little chilly around here. Kids are starting to complain about it being cold in the house when I leave a window open all night. 😉😉

Hahahaha, yeah I almost got caught yesterday napping, it was a close call. But I'm sure I could have used the gender card if I got fired plus I know my union lawyer, we're thick as thieves.
Good for you with the brotherhood, power in numbers, wear you badge with honor, UNION guys are cool in my book.
I just joined the WOOD STACKERS OF AMERICA, GREAT BENEFITS

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

A real contrast between cooking and the hard graft of the firewood prep! I’ve featured your post in the Homesteaders – Living Naturally newsletter.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Nice pile of firewood you have started there!

Good morning my friend, yes it's a beautiful sight for me to see, it really warms my heart, knowing this will warm my house when that white stuff flies.
Have a beautiful day !

Great post not sure if i like the food or wood better!!

hahaha they both look beautiful to me...love to all ry

Ohhh... it's not like that here... ;)

Oh yes my friend, winter is around the corner for us here in Upstate NY. But we still have our beautiful fall, the trees all over the mountains are sight to see. Vibrant colors of gold, red ,orange the landscape just sparkles and shines.
Have a wonderful day my friend. Thanks for dropping by

So your pulling the union card. I didn't catch you napping, but you need to keep that stuff quiet, posting it all over the place is not real smart as you have now been fired. NO, NO, NO, that was a typographical error. For a union Wood Stacker, your rate is pretty reasonable.
You stack for hours, and then cook lunch, that seems like a reasonable deal.
I'm just afraid of what your Benefits package is going to cost me.

Do you know how lucky you are that I was NOT fired? Glad it was a typo, ahem.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks so much, appreciate it.

We've been doing firewood over here too. Firewood heats you twice, I always say. Once when you stack it, once when you burn it! The frittata looks delicious!

It's funny you say that. I think @thebigsweed 's level it's like six or seven times he names. All our wood comes from our land. So he drops the trees, drags them out of the woods, cuts them into lengths, splits it, loads the wagon, unloads the wagon at the house, then we stack and burn. Yup, that dang WOOD SURE KEEPS US WARM.
Love being in the woods doing this stuff especially when the weather cooperates, it's been gorgeous here.
Thanks for checking me out...oh by the way, that frittata never made it to the "leftover lunch".

Have I ever told you this is my favorite contender of yours yet? Because scratch that one and this is my new favorite.

You gotta be kidding me.. I would be just as punctual with the clock @farm-mom, Pura and I are the same way. Even if we want to lag, we lag a timed amount. And Union.. break time.. just when you think you know someone, they totally up their game and mention Union Rep’s.

No grievances here, Miss.

IBEW LU #477.

FDA1BE24-13A7-4F45-825D-9C0FC464BA2E.jpeg

Hello and Good Morning. Oh, boy, I hope I don't give away any family secrets, BUT the sweed is a man of total routine and he has been that way since he was a teenager when we first met. I first noticed it with his sports, practiced everyday, even on weekends, same time, same drills. He even recruited me to rebound for him. Once his routine was done, he would show me tricks. Spinning the basketball on all is big fingers, one at a time, all ten. He could sink a shot from the sitting position from the foul line. He could tip in or block any shot I threw. And by the way, I earned my varsity letter in high school basketball also, so I knew the game.
Gosh we had fun. I think I am rambling, sorry, sweet memories take me off track.
So, yes it's all about routine AND Bob's other thing is "making a list". One of our favorite expressions is when think of what needs to get done, we simply say "put it on the list" we even jockey positions on the LIST.
Helps us old folks stay on task. PHEW !
Now UNIONS ,#1 love the badge, #2 unions helped build the middle class, #3 Norma Ray, #4 United Textile Workers, which I had to join at 16 y/o bc I was working summers in a textile factory. #5 Carpenters Union.
Great benefits and lots of breaks. Bob always gets a chuckle when we are working together and I have to remind him I am CARD CARRYING UNION MEMBER...it's coffee break time.
Have a wonderful day ! I'll be checking your post a little later, my boss just said I'm late. haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58010.39
ETH 2457.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34