Friday Night Eats! | Pesto Pizza Pinwheels!

DSC_0048 (2).jpg

It’s Friday my friends! Anyone In the mood for Pizza?


I think I have mentioned before Friday nights have always been pizza night. I know some people have taco nights…some spaghetti nights… salad nights and so on. But even from the time I was a child this was an exciting night for the family. Favorite TV shows, playing Monopoly and if we were really lucky we might have a Soda with the pizza, lol


Well, Mr. Bird and I don’t have pizza very often these days but this week I was definitely in the mood. Red sauce didn’t sound appetizing so a little spicy Pesto it is!


What a way to spice up a Friday night! Sounds like a #foodfightfriday night!


todaysjourney.jpg

Spicy Pesto Pizza Pinwheels

Pesto Magic!

  • Spinach
  • Garlic Cloves
  • Fresh Basil
  • Nutritional Yeast
  • Sea Salt
  • Red Pepper
  • Birds Sun Dried Tomatoes
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Walnuts
  • Puff Pastry
  • Fresh Italian Sausage
  • Sliced Onion
  • Fresh Mozzarella cheese
  • Fresh Parmesan Cheese

Start with the Puff…


Pastry by laying it out to thaw. Saute the Sausage while the Puff pastry dough is thawing. While the sausage is browning add the Spinach, garlic, basil, yeast, Salt Pepper Olive Oil and Walnuts to your favorite food processor. Pulse until everything is smooth. Add the sun dried tomatoes and pulse until the tomatoes have combined with the pesto. Don’t be afraid to add a little more zesty pepper or salt if you need it. Dull pesto is not good, right?

DSC_0030 (2).jpg

Is it thawed yet?…


Check that puff pastry, if it’s thawed spread your luscious pesto evenly over the crust. Hopefully you’ve been sauteeing those onions…if not do that now!
DSC_0032 (2).jpg

Now pile it on…


Yes, everything! Mozzarella then the onions, sausage and top with parmesan. Oh my, how will I roll that up?
DSC_0036 (2).jpg

No worries…


Just start at the end and roll away, slowly! Trust me you’ll have stuff falling out everywhere if you’re not careful.
DSC_0041 (2).jpg

Slice, slice, slice….


Your roll into ½” slices and place them on a parchment lined baking sheet. Bake at 400 degrees for 15 minutes.
DSC_0044 (2).jpg

Time to start your Friday night fun!


DSC_0045 (2).jpg

Grab the games! Start the Movies, and kick your feet up! It’s Friday


DSC_0061 (2).jpg


I’m so glad you stopped by today. Hope you’ll try these pinwheels too. They’re light and fluffy, no heavy crust! A big shout out for @foodfightfriday and all of the amazing friday night foodies! Keep Steemin!


And as always, blessings to you all!
loveyourself.jpg


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

How on earth did you get these fonts??? These are awesome!

Posted using Partiko Android

We call these pizza snails :D I haven't had pizza in ages.. and pizza snails in many years. I think last time I ate it was when I was still living back home, so it might be at least 15 years ago, lol.. Time flies :D

Great idea to put some pesto on pizza. I'm used to tomato base but this is a nice variation. I would of course combine it differently (being vegan) but the idea is great! Will make it next time when we have a 'stay in' Friday :)

Thank you for sharing! Have a good rest of the weekend!

Thank you @delishtreats! This is indeed amazing with the pesto, grilled onions, nutritional yeast and if you want non dairy cheese, YUM! Delicious too! Pizza snails, I love that name better :)

Just nothing short of spectacular. Who would have thought to roll the dough and slice it. Those just look dammit good.

Yes, puff pastry is utter magic! So light, unlike regular pizza dough so you don't feel like you have just eaten too much. Thanks @bigtom13, you're always so inspiring with your kindess, really appreciated :)

Oh yum @birdsinparadise, these look so pretty and delicious too!

I love using puff pastry, its so light. That way you don't feel so full after eating dinner, lol So glad you enjoyed them. Truly a compliment coming from a fantastic chef like you @lizelle :)

Damn! These look frikken delicious. I’m so jealous of all you pizza crust eating people. You are such a recipe genius @birdsinparadise. And extra big yay, you’re in foodfightfriday!!!! So glad to have you back in the ring and throwing up some of your gangsta meals. Mr. Bird is quite spoiled with you around, but you already know that 😉. It’s good to have join in the Friday fun sista. Save some of those pinwheels for me when I’m able to eat that stuff again. Your pesto looks bomb too.

Just had to join you my friend!! Love the atmosphere around fff! I know I'll never match your fff kitchen magic but so fun to be part of this fun community. I can't wait until you are feeling 100% again! Watch out world...;) I'll be ready to cook for you whenever!

You are great! Of course your kitchen magic is unparalleled, which is why I get so much inspiration from your recipes. Keep it up Master Chef. Food fight won’t know what hit em with you on the roster 😉

Eh, this is awesome, chef! Great job! You had me at the sun dried tomatoes in the blender—fanciest blender shot ever.

Thanks for hanging out in kitchen #fff this week @birdsinparadise! It’s always a pleasure seeing you.

hehe glad to see you @dandays! You two are amazing...and yes I too love those sun dried tomatoes. Since you guys are living in the tropics you could whip up those sun dried tomatoes yourself! Love #fff, thanks for the kindness!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 395 (02/09/19)

Oh I actually thought you made little disk of pizzas for it, but lo and behold you actually made it in a roll!

I am actually very curious about this recipe and I will have to save this aside and give it a try when I get the opportunity later.

Question: do you think after rolling, you place in the fridge to let it cool and harden a little before slicing would have a better effect on not getting the fillings flowing out all over the place?

upvoted

You know I think you are right about chilling the dough...although I think my problem is too much filling! lol I always overdo it :) I hope you'll try this, the puff pastry is much lighter than most pizza dough! Thanks @littlenewthings, so appreciate your kindness

Yum, haven't made these in ages!!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Neither had I...I was seriously in the mood for pizza but didn't want the heavy stuff you know? Puff pastry is great for that! Now if I could figure how to make gluten free ;) I would be really happy! Thanks @riverflows, so great to see you!

You can buy gluten free flour, which works pretty well... well, you can here anyway! I dont know about GF puff pastry though....

Looks really good and they're pretty easy to make it seems! I love how they look after they're baked, delicious...

You are correct @daan, they are really simple to make. Puff pastry is an amazing pastry which is so light when baked. These were light, yet satisfied the big pizza urge! lol Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62980.19
ETH 3123.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87