Homemade Healthy Snack Series - #5 Easy Oven-Roasted Vegetable Crisps (or Chips)

in #food8 years ago


This is another super easy snack, which I often make for taking on walks as a tasty energy-booster! They're great for children to help make and then they can eat as many as they like - much healthier than shop-bought snacks.  


Here I've used sweet potato and carrots, which have such delicious flavours already it's almost unnecessary to season them.  I can't resist the 'kick' of black pepper and chilli though, so that's what I usually put on mine.  Other vegetables that you can use are potatoes (of course, and here is a link to my potato crisp recipe), beetroot, parsnips, butternut squash, turnip... You can even do a fruit variety, using apples for example.  It's fun to experiment!


Method:


It's easiest if you can get the small sweet potatoes, then all you need to do is slice it up as thin as you can, leaving the skin on for extra goodness



Slice the carrots diagonally, as this gives you larger slices than you'd get by slicing straight down (we don't want them to shrivel up to nothing in the oven)



Drizzle finely with coconut, olive or avocado oil, and use your hands to get all the slices evenly coated (not too much or they won't crisp up properly).  Arrange in a single layer in a large roasting tray, and sprinkle with black pepper, chilli, salt or a seasoning of your preference



Bake in a preheated oven at 160 degrees Celcius for about 30 mins, or until nice and crispy.  Sweet potato takes longer to dry out and crisp up than potatoes, hence the lower temperature for this recipe.  


That's it!  Easy!



If you enjoyed this post please follow me on Steemit and you can look forward to more yummy and (mostly) healthy recipes!    


Many thanks. 


For extra tips on health and weight loss, you can also support me as Natural Health Mama at https://www.facebook.com/naturalhealthmamma and https://naturalhealthmamablog.wordpress.com/ 


Logo kindly created for me by @papa-pepper

Sort:  

awesome idea . My to do list is getting sooo long!!

I know, mine too! ha ha

Thank you for sharing . A good idea . It's delicious, is not it?

Oh yes, delicious indeed!

upvoted! I love this !
It's not just easy to make it's really delicious!

Yes, soooo scrummy! It's hard not to eat them all at once... so it's just as well they're nutritious! Thanks very much for your vote :-)

Nice! I'm going to try this.

Great! I hope you enjoy them as much as I do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94