Homemade Healthy Snacks Series - #2 Super Simple Oven-Roasted Potato Crisps (or Chips)

in #food8 years ago

Since most crisps you can buy are not only flavoured with harmful MSGs, they are also usually cooked in sunflower oil, which isn't that good for you either.  So I make my own.


This method is super quick and easy, and great because you can flavour them any way you like.  They are also gluten free.  I'm probably not the only person who does them this way, but I didn't take this recipe from elsewhere, I just used my head and made it up as I went!  This makes a satisfying portion for one.  


I'm using only potatoes here, but you can experiment with different root vegetables, like beetroot, parsnip, carrot, etc.



What you will need:


3 small-ish potatoes (about the size of a crisp in diameter)  

Olive or coconut oil  

Seasoning (e.g. sea salt, black pepper, chilli flakes/powder...)


You can use a mandoline slicer for this (if you have one), but I actually prefer using a vegetable peeler.  The bonus about using the mandoline slicer is it comes with various attachments, and you can make fancy crinkle crisps to impress your friends :-)



Method:


Peel, wash and dry the potatoes.  Using a vegetable peeler, carefully make even slices by peeling from top to bottom. 



In a large roasting tray, finely drizzle the potato slices with olive or coconut oil.  Not too much or they will end up chewy rather than crispy.  Add seasoning of your choice – I did two lots, one with just salt & black pepper, and the other with chilli flakes and chilli powder.  With your hands mix everything well.    Arrange in a single even layer on the tray. 



Pop into a preheated oven at 200 degree Celcius for 18-20 minutes, until golden-brown and crisp.  Using a metal spatula, carefully but firmly lift each crisp from the tray and spread them out on a cooling rack.



 Once cooled you can transfer to an air-tight container.  They should stay crisp and fresh for 2 days.




If you enjoyed this post please follow me on Steemit and you can look forward to more yummy and (mostly) healthy recipes!   

Many thanks. 


For extra tips on health and weight loss, you can also support me as Natural Health Mama at https://www.facebook.com/naturalhealthmamma and https://naturalhealthmamablog.wordpress.com/  


Logo kindly created for me by @papa-pepper














Sort:  

Well done @woman-onthe-wing! This is to let you know that your post is featured on the Steemitrecipes Daily Picks - Entry 004!

Ah thanks so much! Made my day :-)

Thank you for posting this, I've tried doing this many a times, for so many years, I've tried peels also and frying in oil, they were nice but we got sick from too much oil on them, when I tried in the oven and even the microwave they come out chewy, but reading this I think I know were I went wrong.

Ah I'm so pleased to know you've found this helpful! It's all in the type and quantity of oil - coconut, olive and avocado oils are best for crispness (and healthy too so won't make you sick), and they only need a very thin coating, like barely oily at all. Peels should work just as well, maybe do then for 5 mins or so longer. Enjoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73