Blueberry & Black Pepper Bread Rounds - Easy Homemade Healthy Snack (Original Recipe)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food6 years ago


As you know I like to mix it up with the sweet and savoury, so this time it's blueberries and black pepper combo, which is amazing!  Sounds a bit odd, but trust me, these are YUM!  I love the tang of the berries and the kick of the pepper, and a little bit of my 'secret' ingredient which gives the flavour extra depth - rosemary (well, it's not so secret now!)


My little boy is growing, growing, growing, and likes regular snacks rather than big meals.  But it's hard to find healthy options in stores, and the organic varieties are ever so expensive for all that you get.  So I so a spot of home-baking every few days to keep him supplied with tasty snacks that do him good, and this way can avoid all those nasty additives found in most snack-type 'foods'.  I vary the flavours and textures to keep things interesting too.  These went down a treat with Sky, and even my husband had one bite then gobbled down 5 more, so looks like I'll have to return to the kitchen to bake some more!  


Ingredients (organic recommended):


300g wholewheat flour

50g butter

1 tsp baking soda

1 sachet dried yeast

100g dried blueberries

2 tsp black pepper

2 tsp dried rosemary

175ml warm water


Directions:


Cut the butter into small piece and rub into the flour using your fingertips.



Add the baking soda, yeast, blueberries, black pepper and rosemary.



Add the water and mix together using your hand to form a firm dough.



Knead for a few minutes on a lightly floured surface until the dough is smooth.



Roll the dough out to about 0.5cm thickness, and cut out rounds using a pastry cutter.



Place onto a lightly floured baking tray, and pop in a preheated oven at 220 degrees Celsius for about 12 minutes until golden-looking.



Deeeeeelicious hot or cold!



Here's the wee man enjoying his fruity bread... 



For all kinds of health information, tips, recipes (vegan/vegetarian), crafts, photography, and more, please follow me!
 

To find out what my "Make It Healthy Project" is all about, and how you can be involved in growing this project, please click here.


("5 Cs" shared with kind permission from @kiwideb)

Sort:  

Hi Your post is a lot beautiful and your writing Many beautiful posts hope you will comment💜👍 And beautiful nice Food

Thanks very much @ridoy10! :-)

This looks interesting I might adapt it to make it vegan, I really like black pepper in anything.

Yes it can easily be adapted for a vegan option @anthrovegan! Black pepper is one of my favourite spices, it's amazing :-)

Ohhhh! Really looks so delicious! It’s the first time I see the blueberries with black pepper in snacks! But I m sure that the taste very good to mix these two elements, I have to try it.

Thank you @creativewoman, the flavours work really well together and I will be making these regularly for myself as well as my son! I still remember how good your Moroccan baboot looked that time in the SCC and I still have the recipe, though I haven't made it yet... but I will!!!

Hi dear! The Moroccan batbout is very easy, you can make big quantity and you can keep them in the freezer, really nice , you can stuff it with any thing you like.

Ooop yes I meant batbout! I've never forgotten how good they looked and how easy to make. One of these days I'll make them and let you know how they turn out!

it' really healthy snacks @woman-onthe-wing . i think its delicious. I saw many time blueberries with black pepper in snacks. And i was eating this snacks.. and its really healthy and good. i like your blog mam..keep going mam i always follow you.

Thank you again @sanjoy22, you're very kind!

Wow, I just went to my spice cabinet and sniffed my rosemary with the taste of blueberries in my mind and again, wow! What an awesome flavor combination idea! I am always working to find new ways to explore "staple" ingredients and this does not disappoint. I can also see these flavors making an amazing cocktail, thanks for a huge dose of inspiration!!!

Many thanks for your enthusiasm @thedreamsteem... I'm delighted to hear it! I never would have thought of putting those flavours together, except last week I made this same recipe minus the blueberries, and thought it was missing something tangy... so I added the berries and it was perfect! Funny how unexpected things can go together so well! :-)

These sound really interesting with black pepper and rosemary in the combination, would the black pepper and rosemary marry together with raspberry's or blackberries as well.
Over here we are seeing more healthier options for snacks, like raw balls etc but they are starting to get quite pricey, I've noticed to eat healthier you really need to be organised.

I have no doubt they'd work just as nicely with any kind of berries... so if you try them let me know what you think!

It see more healthy options and organic produce over here too... It's great, I think there's so much demand for it now that the big supermarkets don't want to lose all these customers to the wholefoods shops. Still a lot of unnecessary ingredients in many of them, but better than the alternatives!

Will have to add it to the list to try!

There are more and more options, but the cost is quite a off put for many people trying to eat healthy.

Loading...

for the love of your healthy recipes
and blueberries ... please gimme gimme gimme sum! ^ ^

Ok... I'm sending you some via pigeon post... watch out for it tapping at your window ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59099.74
ETH 2639.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49