Dinner Ideas: Steak and Mesquite Steak Fries - progress pics and ingredients below!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

To kick off my first cooking post, I decided to showcase one of my previous one pan / cast iron recipes on the grill! Finished product shown below:  Just to clear some things up: After my first introductory post I realized I should've clarified some things. As a minnow and a newbie I didn't realize the difference between "account name" and "display name." I'm formally known as usernamerelevantsoon on Imgur. Now that that’s out of the way, Let’s get to cooking! I’ve cut some large russets into 1/2 inch / 1cm strips. This is more or less a shake and bake style with the following items: a liberal amount of olive oil, a tablespoon of fresh cracked pepper, sea salt, garlic, onion powder, and paprika. To top it off I went with a 1/4 cup of grated Parmesan cheese and shredded parsley for some extra flavor. Next, I’ve evenly layered the seasoned potatoes in the 12  inch cast iron for even cooking. No matter how hard I try , there’s always extra potatoes that don’t fit... I might try some golden potatoes next time. The fries/chips need to bake for about 20 minutes @ 350F ish / 177 Celsius opposite the coals. When you grill indirect heat opposite the hot coals, your grill essentially acts like an oven. Be sure sure to throw in a few chips of any wood top of the coals for extra flavor. Personally I like mesquite for steak fries. In terms of cooking you’re basically looking for a light golden brown coloring before getting the steaks on the coals. After the initial bake I throw the steaks directly on the hot coals. By the time the steaks cook the fries are done as well. like to let my steaks rest for a few  minutes after cooking them, but the cast iron holds a lot of heat leftover form the grill. After a quick probe I found the Ribeye’s are at about 130 ish Fahrenheit/ 55 Celsius. I decided to pull them so they can rest and come up to medium rare. I have a few fries at the bottom so they do not continue to cook directly on the cast iron. Here's my obligatory dog tax, hope you all enjoy!

Sort:  

Oooh, that looks delicious. It's making my mouth water.

Glad you enjoy and thank you for stopping by!

Esto se ve de un bueno! papitas fritas, lo máximo y la cerveza le da un toque genial!

The cerveza definitely gives it a nice touch! Glad you enjoy, thank you for stopping by!

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 2.28% upvote!
I was summoned by usernamerelevant. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish…
woosh


P.S. If you or anyone you know has been a victim of @grumpycat please know that he has been harming people throughout Sōsharumedia (ソーシャルメディア). Stealing the service that I (and other bots) have provided them and hiding behind a facade of stopping bid bot abuse which he clearly has no interest in.
Sneaky Ninja is a very responsible bot, working directly with steemcleaners, actively pursuing spam and abuse on our platform. If you would like to see what steps Sneaky Ninja has taken to fight bid bot abuse see this post and this post. Also know that I am working daily on other solutions.
If you would like to know my personal take on bid bot abuse and why I do not agree with the 3.5 day rule, see this post

Grumpycat is a villain that must be stopped to protect our freedoms here on steemit!

resist grumpycat
There is a resistance that has formed to counter his tyranny.

If you would like to take an active role in stopping this menace and helping other victims like yourself...
Learn More Here
Kusari-Profile-small.jpg

I have also summoned my love, Kusari to offer some limited help to victims like you.
See Here

ymmmmmyyy mouthwatering recipe..... fries my favourite all time thanks for sharing..... keep sharing this type of short and easy recipes @usernamerevelevant

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84