Chinese food in all of its deliciousnesssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

chinese.png

I love Asian food. I will admit that when I moved down near Tampa, which I certainly consider a small city, I was hardpressed to find some good Asian food, specifically Chinese food. A neighbor of mine who is from Taiwan mentioned a place that was pretty authentic, so naturally, I checked it out. It instantly became a favorite spot. Except, when it closed. I have no clue why it closed down but it did. So, for the last 6 months or so I have been again without a decent Chinese restaurant to eat at. I had tried other people's recommendations but they were those typical fast take out places and were mediocre at best.

Finally, one day at a bank (Oh my gosh did she just say a bank?! - Yes I did), I had an appointment with someone to do some "banking stuff" and we started to discuss food and restaurants and she let me know about this wonderful little place. To be honest, she let "us" know as my husband and daughter were there too, so he remembered the name of the place. Long story short, this past weekend he decided we were going out for lunch and we ended up here for the first time.

Welcome to...

The Yummy House

FullSizeRender 103.jpg

I knew right from the beginning that this place was going to be good. First off, it was quite busy. We had a 20-minute wait to get a table and then when we finally got called up to be seated, there were much more after us waiting for a table. Throughout the entire meal there were more people coming waiting to be seated. Thankfully, it was a fairly large establishment so the wait times were pretty short.

The menu was about 6 pages or so and included a variety of different dishes to choose from, including dishes with meat, without meat, sizzling pots, noodles, and more. On top of all of that, there was someone coming around with a cart full of different dishes such as stuffed red bean buns and more. I went down through the menu and ordered several things, knowing that I was going to take a good portion of it home like we always do. I placed the order and then waited.

While I was waiting my tea arrived. I always enjoy drinking loose leaf Jasmine tea as the flavor is just so pleasing.
FullSizeRender 105.jpg

Enjoying a bit of the decor

When I am in a restaurant, especially a busy one I don't often take a lot of shots of the inside of the establishment. This is honestly out of respect for other customers who are dining in as well as it is harder to get some nicer shots. Here is what I did manage to take pictures of that caught my eye.

FullSizeRender 112.jpg
These mirrors were hung up all throughout the restaurant, I love the red background as well.

FullSizeRender 111.jpg
A nice photo of a part of the Great Wall of China.

FullSizeRender 110.jpg
This was the top of their ordering sheets for anything from the carts, as well as the paper the bill was written on.

FullSizeRender 104.jpg
This is not decor, but it was part of the uniform of the workers and it was definitely fun to read. This guy was nice enough to fill my request of taking a picture of the back of his shirt. I think I may want one of these to be honest.

The Food Arrives

This is my favorite part! Let's see what we have here...

FullSizeRender 100.jpg
This was what my husband ordered as I am not a meat eater generally. Curious what it is? Well here is what the menu says:

Source of Clip
This dish got devoured. There was nothing left in this pot once he was done. So I take it, that it was good.

FullSizeRender 109.jpg
This was what I was waiting for. Shrimp. I would know for sure how great this place was all by how this dish was going to taste. The previous Chinese restaurant that I loved before it closed its doors, had such a good dish just like this, so of course, it is what I had to try.

Source of Clip
So, what can I say about this dish? This is what I can say: WINNER! This was so good. It was lightly battered and the shrimp was still tender, not overcooked. The sauce is what makes this dish so delicious because it is sweet, but not too sweet, and has this great tanginess to it. I really really enjoyed it. It also tasted delightful heated up the day after.

FullSizeRender 108.jpg
The vegetable dish choice. Even if you are eating out, it is still great to at least get your vegetables in. This was the obvious choice since both bok choy and mushrooms are loved in my household.

Source of Clip

FullSizeRender 102.jpg
Of course, no meal at a Chinese restaurant would be complete without some sort of fried rice. I chose vegetable fried rice.

Source of Clip
I will say, this rice was very delicious. It was not overly oily and the vegetables in it were nice and fresh. It tasted really good heated up the day after with the leftover shrimp dish too.

Dessert time

The food was done. All that was left was to satisfy now a bit of a lingering sweet tooth. There were a few desserts but the winner ended up being the Taro steamed bun.

FullSizeRender 107.jpg

FullSizeRender 101.jpg
It looked so fluffy, and also so delicious. The order came with 3 of them but of course, it was time to share and each of us got one.

FullSizeRender 106.jpg

FullSizeRender 113.jpg
I cut it open. The top was just slightly crispy. The bun was a nice warm temperature as well. The Taro was just slightly sweetened and the bun was very tasty. This was a hit at my table. Even my daughter took a bun and ate the entire thing, filling and all, which is not something she would normally do. I expected her to eat around the middle, but I was wrong, this was right up her alley.

With the meal finished and our taste buds and stomachs satisfied we asked for the bill and some boxes to take home the extras, and paid and left. I also must say that it was not an overly expensive meal either.

I am very happy that there is finally another Chinese restaurant that serves delicious, fresh food, in my area.

I will definitely be returning. I hope you enjoyed this post about this lovely food, it was quite a nice Saturday surprise.

Do you like Chinese food?

Are there any other Asian foods you would like to try that you haven't?


As usual, Stay Awesome Steemians!

muchlovesig.png

nicedivider.png

Check out some more of my recent posts

Time to Play Video Games: The CrewFailed Freewrite Attempt - Crazy
gamecrew.pngfreewrite.png
EOS on Amazon's Radar?Breast Cancer Awareness Walk
eosamazon.pngcancerwalk.png

nicedivider.png

Want to join thealliance? Come to the Alpha Syndicate of thealliance in Discord

CLICK HERE to JOIN the ALPHA SYNDICATE

alphabanner.jpg


teamcanada.png
Banner made by @bearone

Sort:  

Thanks, now I'm all hungry enshit. LMAO Looks 'yummy'. Deserves a tip!

Thank you! It was very very delicious :) Sorry I made you hungry. I would share but it got all eaten up cause of its deliciousness and all

Now I am hungry for Chinese! I am a great fan of Asian food. Here Nicaragua it is difficult to come by...I usually end up cooking some myself but I never get the same quality as in a restaurant...sigh

Awww. Yes I hear you on that. It is a pain when things are harder to come by for sure. Of course, it is much more accessible here than where you are from. I do hope you get to have some Chinese food soon though.

I'll just have to visit my cousins in St. Petersburg soon. Just a hop and skip from Tampa...

good foodies i like chinese food
i m also food lover and maker follow my blog

Yes chinese food is delicious.

Looks very yummy! I live in Malaysia and here we can eat Chinese, Indian and all kinds of Asian food every single day, so we often take it for granted :)

Oooh, yes that would be awesome! I do really love so many Asian foods, it would be cool to live in a place where it is just so common.

Yes Malaysia is well known as a food haven. They are very affordable and yummy. We can eat anything to our heart's content. And also we have exotic food for those who are adventurous....snakes, pangolin, freshwater turtle, wild boar, bats etc LOL.

I love Chinese food so much so our local Chinese place will even pose with me for a three headed Selfie lol

That place and the food looks and sounds so good

I to am fairly picky with wanting authentic Chinese after living in Singapore for a few years I got to appreciate the real thing

haha! I love how you have that type of relationship with the local chinese place. I have to visit Singapore one day for sure. I would love to go to a country and try their local foods.

Your would Love Singapore without a doubt, it has no doubt changes since i was there over 30 Years ago but sure it is still an amazing place

This place looks awesome. I love Chinese food! I've only tried Chinese, Japanese and Tai as far as Asian foods go. Indian if that counts?

Well I mean Indian is technically Asian food. You must try Korean food, it is so delicious as well.

One of a heaven is having a chinese food. Welcome to heaven! All the best for you.
Regarda from Indonesia.

Heaven..fair enough. I have never heard that before. However, good food can definitely be like heaven.

Love, love, love Chinese food and both the main dishes that you and your husband ordered are right up my alley. Craving for some Chinese now.

Seems to be a common theme, I tend to be going around making people hungry now lol.

Hahaha you're so evil!

Hi @topkpop gr8 post, I love Chinese and Thai food. Luckily, where I live in Liverpool in the UK there is a massive China town with loads of restaurants and a few asian supermarkets :) Chinese_Arch_-_geograph.org.uk_-_1021559.jpg

That is awesome. Having access to tons of places like this is something that makes me miss living in a large city.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58551.10
ETH 2514.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35