STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #36: German Style Meal, Chickn Schnitzel, Schichttorte and Orangensaft

in #food7 years ago (edited)

This week culinary is all about German food!!!

Waaaaaay different than my tacos but you know your tio. I'm up for the challenge.

Let me wish you the best for this week and I hope everything is going ok in your life

I love you


For this meal I prepared: Chicken Schnitzel with German Potato Salad

a beautiful Schichttorte and freshly squeezed Orangensaft.


042.jpg


Chicken Schnitzel


For this we need:

1 boneless skinless chicken breast
1/2 C flour (I used almond flour)
1 tsp cayenne
1tsp nutmeg
1/4 c milk (I used almond)
1 egg
Panko crumbs (I used almond meal)
1 tsp garlic powder
350° hot oven

007.jpg

Ok, let's do this!

You know me scratch scratch scratch when possible.

I started with a whole chicken and just got 1 breast out, More than enough for me

and my loved girlfriend who turned 8 weeks pregnant today! 7/31

010.jpg

You have to slice the breast really thin or get it from the store super thin. I'm sure they can slice it for you.

Traditional Schnitzel cuz I made some in school with pork instructed by our own German professor

She is such an awesome baker. Anyway, you have to pound it until super thin.

I did not want to do this with chicken since it is a little bit more delicate

and I did not want to over pound it.

Remember we need 3 different stations to work with our chicken.

032.jpg

We start with a little dip of our chicken breast in the flour, then we move to

the milk and egg mixture to make it sticky and to the panko crumbs it goes

To make it crispy and delicious. This is a super simple recipe, we just have to pan sear it now.

Since I used almonds it did brown right away but you know when you get a good coloration

and brownness we will transfer it to the oven to finish for around 10 to 15 minutes,

depending on how thick your chicken is!


German Potato Salad

For this we need:

2 pounds red potatoes
1 TB salt (to boil potatoes)
12 oz bacon
1/3 C apple cider vinegar
1 TB dijon mustard
1 tsp minced garlic
1/2 c fresh chopped parsley

002.jpg

I know I know it says red potatoes and I really wanted to get some

but they did not have any organic ones potatoes are like big sponges

and guess what they suck on. The soil as all the nutrients in it as all the chemicals in it.

So organic potatoes are a good investment and something we should keep in mind.

We start by washing them really good and place them in a pot and cover with COLD water

Bring to a boil and then let on a slow simmer so they don't break with all the movement.

They will be ready when you can pinche them with a fork and it goes easy to the middle.

Not super easy you want to have a little bit of body on them make sure to not over cook

or they will just crumble once you are mixing it.

While the potatoes are boiling we start to work with our bacon.

004.jpg

We slice it in around 1inch or half an inch length pieces and we cook it.

To the level of crispiness we decide. I like it super crispy ;D

Once you have the bacon to your like, remove it from the pan and put it on the side.

Once the potatoes are cooked drain the water, let them steam for a little while and cut them

you can do 1 or 2 or even 3 cuts depending on the size of the potatoe but you want bite size chunks

around 1 by 1 inch or just cut them in half red potatoes aren't as big :D

028.jpg

We add the vinegar dijon and garlic to the bacon fat and let it cook for a little bit

We basically want to pick up all the flavor from the pan, all those crispy bits stuck to it

This just smelled so GOOOOOOOOD :D and of course it is time to add the potatoes

029.jpg

mix a little bit remember these potatoes are still soft, we don't want to end up with mashed potatoes

now we add the parsley and toss it around a little bit. I like to have it cold so I placed it inside

the fridge right away

030.jpg



Schichttorte

045.jpg

For this we need:

8 eggs separated
1 pinche of salt
125g confectioners sugar
75 g butter, melted and cooled
1 tsp vanilla
1 lemon (sezt only)
175 g rice flour

100 gr mapple syrup
50 gr cacao powder
75 gr coconut oil
1 tsp vanilla

150 gr apricot jam

013.jpg

This cake was something new and never done. It is a beautiful cake but there is a trick,

since I'm not a super baker I will share, Don't be afraid of getting some color between the layers.

Let's get hands on!!! I did half of a recipe since I did not need all that cake neither babycakes (my lover)

let me explain the proccess because when baking this helps me a lot!

we have to separate the eggs, whites with whites yolks with yolks. we will foam the whites to stiff peaks

yolks and melted butter get mixed together, we add zest, vanilla, flour and fold in the whites.

014.jpg

to separate the eggs is important that you have 3 containers 1 to crack 1 to place the yolk and 1 to place the whites.

If any yolk leaks to the white while cracking we can just repurpose that white because

it will NOT foam :(, That is the beauty of the 3 bowls. Imagine you have 7 of your 8 whites

and the last one was broken and you get a whole bunch of yolk in there.

All those whites will be ruined :(

016.jpg

ahhaha you can whisk by hand but it will be a little bit too much work. I had 2 hours to finish this meal

I went to the store around 10 am and my babycakes was ready to eat by 12:15 so as you know.

I'm all about fast cooking and getting it done but with new recipes to play, it can take time.

017.jpg

stiff peaks, You have to be able to turn them and they stay in place. Do not deflate them or hit the mixer

against the bowl or hit the bowl or all that, remember we want to keep it foamy so our cake is light

018.jpg

Next, we have to mix the yolks and sugar, I do not use confectioners sugar so you know

coconut sugar is my option. Keep it a little bit healthier :D and we whisk until incorporated

My butter was completely melted so I think room temperature butter will work better next time

Your mixture should be a little bit thicker than this runny one.

019.jpg

And since I couldn't find the zester I had to go by hand :D luckily using a knife is not a problem anymore

also be aware if you use a knife, do you see the white on the right, that is super bitter we only want the

yellow zest so it will add flavor not bitterness :D

021.jpg

and make sure you chop it in super tinny pieces. You don't want to feel a huge chunk of lemon zest

once you bite into your cake. We add the zest and vanilla to the mixture, mix a little and then we

have to sift the flour on top of it and incorporate.

022.jpg

Time to fold in. When folding in remember again try to not deflate as much as you can, no hitting the bowl

no smashing it down, all that can affect your cake texture.

When folding we want to start with 1/3 of the mixture and incorporate a little to make it lighter.

Make sure your mixture is in a bowl big enough to fold in the egg whites a small bowl will not do it

023.jpg

we start from the middle towards us and then fold. boom that is how is done. not a whole lot of

movement to the sides unless you want to pick up not folder batter

025.jpg

And this is the final product once folded. We need to line our molds with parchment paper at the bottom.

Depending on how big the molds are you will pour mixture inside. I did with a scooper and we need a thin layer only

this cake is made layer after layer, we just coat the bottom and bake for 2 to 4 minutes depending how

colorful, remember we will have to do different times to be able to see the different layers.

027.jpg

for the chocolate sauce, we just mix all the ingredients in a blender and incorporate

026.jpg

This is actually the chocolate sauce recipe I have posted but with the variance of using

coconut oil instead of regular liquid oil. Yes it melts and is liquid but once cold it holds its shape

Perfect for coating a cake, also I intended to serve the cake cold :D

034.jpg

You might be able to see the layers, I did definitely not give them time enough to get color

and this is how we cover the cake :D make sure to use a wire rack under and something to

hold the extra chocolate sauce.

Also put the jam on top before, I used mango since I had no apricot sorry German people

I had to give it my own twist hahaha

059.jpg

If you pay attention, we can see the layers but definitely don't be shy once cooking this cake.

Also, coconut sugar did not help since it has a lot of coloration.



Orangensaft

046.jpg

Last but not least!!!

A very traditional German drink. Fruit juice, in this case Orange

038.jpg
For this we need:

Whole bunch of oranges

039.jpg

We have to cut in half and squeeze, You can use a machine but I had only my hands!

as you can see for the tag I think I need some kinds of plastic cover or something,

and especially a bigger kitchen!

We need to strain the juice at the end, I don't like all those seeds so I used a straining bag

And this is my challenge German meal :D with a healthy twist. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did :D


cake cutting :D

043.jpg


049.jpg


060.jpg

This was such a filling meal, look at my babycakes hahaha hopefully our baby will not have

German cravings later on :P

061.jpg

ahahah and this is me tu tio :D

look at my shirt all sweaty all that cooking, this whole meal happened in around 2 and a half hours

also, the little room you see behind is our tiny kitchen ahhaha this apartments do not have lots of space

and I still had to go and get all I needed <3

I love you all and have a wonderful day.

Soy tu tio


TioLuis

Sort:  

Oooh yum yum yum! This looks amazing from start to finish! That cake is the german cherry on top too! I'm going to have to try out that schnitzel recipe!! Well, I'll have to try all of them I guess!!

hahahah Thanks yeah it was really good. The salad especially!

That cake... idk that rice flour I never worked with it before and I'm not a huge fan also I did the butter mistake... baking does not require any mistakes or you pay for them. Maybe with another flour taste was something I wasn't expecting it was super dense and heavy. I had in mind a lighter cake :P
It was good overall I think my not sweet tooth is a tough judge

Ohh wow what I menu you made. The Schichttorte looks so good!

hahah Thanks :D
ISchnitzel was my favorite

Oh I meant to say I wasn't able to view the video clips as they say 'private'... perhaps there's a setting you need to change? Also great tips about using organic spuds, and about using 3 bowls when separating the eggs. Very helpful information!

mmmm Thanks a lot for letting me know. I will fix that ASAP. :D
You know me hahaha I'm all about helping others and cooking

Yeah I didn't know either but my lover confirmed. I just tell her the theme and she chooses the meal I just perform ahhaha. I treat her and the baby I could say :P

Thank for noting the twist ahhaha :D yeah we need to empower everyone and make them confident that way we can have great entries and elevate our levels! I need to try harder all the time everyone comes up with better entries week after week!

@tioluis, your entry is 'hidden' for some reason? Perhaps when you fixed the video clips it messed up other settings somehow? If you're able to bring back into view again that would be good because yours is the winning entry and people will want to see it!!! Sorry to spoil the surprise :-)

It's a long post but worth reading! :-D You really worked hard. Good luck for the challenge and congratulations for the future parents! :-)

ahhaha Thanks :D
Yeah that is why I don't post that often :( takes me time hahaha and now with the new responsibilities, job and all that... it is hard but when it comes to cooking :D I'm committed

Awsome work on these recipes so detailed and very descriptive! Great job. looks like you were both very satisfied after dinner :)

ahhha thanks. I'm glad to see this words coming from you. I have seen your posts and you have mad skills!

Yeah we were stuffed hahaha German food seems to be kinda heavy :P
But we loved it!
Thanks for looking :)

Congratulations @tioluis! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @tioluis! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

simon gracias

My goodness @tioluis, you really go all out for this challenge! What a fabulous assortment of food here, and lovely fresh orange juice to wash it all down. I have no doubt the Germans would praise this delicious looking meal - fantastic looking chicken schnitzel using the almond flour... I think almond flour makes a very successful coating and do this myself when making veggie burgers or such. That potato salad looks amazing too. I had no idea potato salad is thought to have originated in Germany, I just found out now, so there's something new I learned because of your meal! And that Schichttorte looks yummy... you're right it's hard to see the layers but I can just make them out enough! Gorgeous presentation with the mango and chocolate topping. I'm glad you did your own twist as you say, it's creative and inspiring to others who are sometimes not too confident to stray from a traditional recipe. Well @tioluis, once again you have given us a real treat and I wish you good luck!

amazing entry ! everything looks delicious !
well done @tioulis good luck to the challenge !

Thanks @rouketas :D
Have an awesome weekend brother

All the photos in this post have disappeared too. And for some reason you were downvoted by @transisto, so no-one can actually see it. I can't post this as a winning recipe if there's nothing to see! If you're able to fix it, please get back to me as soon as you're online today... I will wait to do the SCC post as long as I can. Thanks @tioluis

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64865.94
ETH 3547.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33