LAZY KITCHEN🍳: CHICKEN QUESADILLA

in #food7 years ago (edited)

2017-09-28 04.10.51 2.jpg

2017-09-28 04.10.50 1.jpg

It's been a hot minute since I posted a Mexican dish on my blog, so I decided to make some amazing quesadilla's for you guys. Also I'm sorry I haven't posted in a while, I have been away on holiday at a beach house with some friends and since I've gotten back I haven't had any access to a camera until today. So here's my next lazy kitchen post..

What you'll need:

2 Whole wheat tortillas (Or alternatively; gluten free rolled oats to make some gluten free tortillas)
Pre-made cut up pieces of chicken (Otherwise saute a skinless fillet, cut up into pieces, in a pan for roughly 10 minutes.)
Half a handful of frozen sweet corn
2 tablespoons of Black Beans
A diced tomato
Half a chili (Or a whole chili if you're daring)
Some avocado
Fat free cottage cheese (Alternatively sour cream)
Salsa (Because what Mexican food doesn't have salsa?)

Okay so let's start. As you may know, I can't have gluten for medical reasons, so I made gluten free quesadilla's instead of whole wheat ones. If I was allowed gluten, I would have bought some tortillas from the store a long time ago and would already have made quesadillas multiple times by now. It was only today that I learnt how to make gluten free tortillas without messing up the recipe. And this is the easiest way to make them too! All you need is one ingredient; gluten free rolled oats, and for an oat addict like me, this was no problem.

Gluten Free Tortilla Recipe:

So what I did was put 70 grams of rolled oats into my blender (Nutri-bullet - by far the best blender I have had that hasn't broken.. yet.😄) and about the exact same volume of water. (I did this by taking a small cup and made sure both ingredients were filled to the top before pouring them in.) Then you blend for a little until it is all blended together, then take it off and let it sit for about a minute or two to make it into a batter and not a runny mass. Put your stove onto a low-medium heat (Make sure it isn't too hot!) and spray some spray-cook or put oil onto your pan so that your tortilla doesn't stick to it. Then, when your pan is relatively warm, put your batter onto the pan so that it forms a very thin layer on the pan (I used about 2 large tablespoons a tortilla) and then wait for it to cook on the one side and flip it over. (Make sure you wait long enough! At least a minute or two.) Feel with the spatula to see if the bottom of the tortilla is loose enough to flip, before trying to flip. My recipe made 4 small tortillas and it was so quick to prepare!

2017-09-28 04.10.54 2.jpg

Quesadilla Recipe:

So now that you have your tortillas and your ingredients ready, you're ready to start. So firstly you must put your diced tomato, corn, chilli and black beans into your pan and allow it to cook for 1-2 minutes. While that's on the stove, mash some avocado with salt and pepper (However much avocado you want with your quesadilla.) Right before the stuff on the stove is done, add your chicken with it so that the chicken can warm up a little on the stove before putting it off the heat.
Warm up 2 tortillas in the microwave for 30 seconds and then add a teaspoon of cottage cheese and salsa onto the one. (I used cottage cheese instead of sour cream, because I didn't have sour cream in the fridge so I improvised and it still tasted amazing, but if you prefer the traditional sour cream, use that instead.)
Then add everything from the pan onto the tortilla until there's no more space for anything anymore and put the other one on top. Cut it into 4 pieces and add your mashed avo, extra cottage cheese and extra salsa to the middle and you're done.
Didn't take me much more than 8 minutes to prepare. You should have extra ingredients for another quesadilla too depending on the size of your tortillas. 😊

2017-09-28 04.10.53 1-1.jpg

I hope you enjoyed another Lazy Kitchen🍳 post. I hope I see you in the next one. 😌

CHECK OUT MY LAST POST✋: https://steemit.com/food/@themessup/lazy-kitchen-rocky-road-waffles

And if you like my work, be sure to click here to follow me and together lets build a bigger bond on steemit. ✊

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @themessup to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Yeah I guess it is. 😄

mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm....

It was really good. 👌

Thanks for sharing. They look delicious!

Thanks. I devoured them. 😉

Hahaha - I would totally do the same too! Hope you had a nice vacation!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61