The Essential Recipes - (Gluten Free) Homemade Strawberry Short Cake ~ From Scratch

in #food6 years ago

Hello Steemians,

I am @theessential

631B90A1-3965-415E-96AC-E0AEFD8839DF.jpeg

This Is food for everyone- not just those who avoid gluten.

I have shared a few recipes with Steemit since joining about a month ago. I have a passion for cooking and was actually a cook before becoming a nurse.

I’m gonna share with you guys a little something Steemit doesn’t know yet.

I CANNOT EAT GLUTEN!!

Yes it sucks. I have an autoimmune thyroid condition that worsens when I eat wheat products. I have been advised to eat 100 percent gluten- and I do.

Let me first say that it doesn’t matter if you are gluten free, you will enjoy this recipe and most of the other I post. Feel free to use your gluten filled alternatives and when following my recipes. I supplement with gluten free flours and are 1:1 with regular wheat flour.

I believe that our favorite foods can still be eaten. When I first became gluten free, I lost all my comfort foods.

NOT ANYMORE

*I don’t know about you, but I hate reading through super long posts before getting to the actual recipe. Let’s cut to the chase and keep it simple.

GLUTEN FREE STRAWBERRY SHORT CAKE

Ingredients

(Gluten Free flour) 1 1/2 cups of Flour
if using gluten free flour, use a blend with mostly rice flour that includes xantham gum
1/8 cup of Corn starch

1 1/2 cups Sugar (preferably super-fine baking sugar)
regular refined sugar is fine

10 egg whites

(Gluten Free) 2 Tsp Pure Vanilla extract

1 Tsp of Baking Powder

1/4 Tsp of salt (kosher preferably)

2 Tsp Cream of Tartar

🍓 Strawberries

Heavy whipping cream

Optional:

Freeze dried strawberries- mostly a garnish
Cool whip (easier than making homemade whipped cream)

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit

First combine all the flour, corn starch, baking powder and 3/4 cup of sugar. Save the rest of the sugar for the next step. Set aside flour mixture.
sifting these ingredients will create a more desirable texture.

A275A266-D60A-40C7-AD14-DBBCE3434E09.jpeg
This was the flour I used

B80209C9-BCCB-4564-9695-D82B4D7CBC63.jpeg

Separate 10 eggs from their yolks- discard the yolks
IT IS ABSOLUTELY IMPERATIVE THAT NONE OF THE YOKE IS MIXED IN. THIS WILL PREVENT THE EGG WHITES FROM HOLDING

84BFFD86-C5E8-4AF7-993B-0305BE9CA7CB.jpeg

Whisk the eggs (with stand mixer or handheld mixer if possible) until they have combined and have become fuller in appearance. This should not take long.
it’s possible to do this by hand for the next two steps but it will take a while

Next, slowly add the rest of the sugar and the cream of tartar to the egg whites and whisk/mix until they form soft peaks.

ABB7E315-2C6E-4BA7-9647-747148897E52.gif

Once soft creamy peaks have formed stop whisking/mixing. At this point, the flour mixture must be combined with the egg mixture.

A4576FE0-4074-4DBB-BFA5-8912713AD774.jpeg

A creamy sticky batter should be formed. This batter should dumped into a angel food cake pan- or any cake pan really...

Here’s what I used the last time I made it...

6B3C9B82-F500-4CD2-B822-D3D9C0D59186.jpeg

Cook in oven at 350 for approximately 40-45 min until the cake has cooked completely all the way through. Don’t be afraid to cut into it and make sure that it’s totally done.
Optimal texture won’t be achieved unless it’s completely cooked

While the cake is cooking, whip heavy whipping cream with sugar until whipped cream is formed.

Heavy whipping cream or heavy cream will whip fine- just as long as the fat content is high enough.

Use your own discretion on your sugar content. It depends on how sweet you want it.

0371F2FB-DAE6-4E11-9DF8-B41FA7F45489.jpeg

Once cake is completely baked, allow to cool for 30 to 90 min as desired.

Strawberries can be sliced and cleaned at this point in preparation for topping the cake.

Place strawberries on top of cake and add a dollop of whipped cream.

Crush 2 freeze dried strawberry slices to garnish whipped cream like shown in picture.

![F3BC624A-C122-44BA-A903-8E7CB55A44D0.jpeg](

SERVE AND ENJOY!!!

Feel free to ask any questions or comments that arise. I will answer every single one of you...

If you enjoyed my post or enjoyed making this delicious treat..

C3B2116A-5693-444B-AA8B-22E667FD0129.gif

If you wanna learn more about my first month and learn some tips for success click here

Click here to learn how to earn free stuff with sweatcoins

click here to download the Sweatcoin app

Want to support my blog?

Here is my Bitcoin Address: 19QGb9MYmqqECa1fZmkMqBYZEdFNfJLAeB

Thanks from stopping by Steemians,
@theessential

B94498EC-D8EA-456A-A539-744861DF7AEC.jpeg

Sort:  

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using @resteemr.


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.

That looks really yummy :) Great photos to illustrate this, nice recipe post. Cheers - Carl

Thanks Carl, I really appreciate the feedback- Still getting the hang of things on here! I have so many great recipes and cook several times a week. I might as well share it with everyone here on Steemit once in a while.

I made this for my wife the other night and it was a hit! (And believe me- she’s the pickiest eater I know)

Looks yummy. Nice mixer!

Ahh my mixer..

One of the best purchases I ever made- it really has so many uses.

I gotta say though - if someone stuck their hand down in the bowl, I’m pretty sure it wouldn’t make it out. Every time I use it, it crosses my mind lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47