Sand Tarts ~ Great Childhood Memories! ~ Food Photos

in #food7 years ago

These sand tarts are a part of my childhood with lots of great memories.

IMG_1658.jpg

My husband, surprisingly, brought these home last week and asked me if I remembered sand tarts. My jaw dropped open and my mind immediately returned to the past with vivid memories of making these when I was a child. I have not made them for a long long long long time.

IMG_1633.jpg

When I was very young my mother use to make these every Christmas time and it was the time when us kids were able to help and we had such fun in decorating them. We would make Christmas trees, ornaments, santas, reindeers and many others. We would decorate them with all kinds of sprinkles. Of course, we didn't have that many sprinkles to choose from like you have now. We made lots of them for the family and Santa.

IMG_1674.jpg

The key to making sand tarts is to get them thin as possible...almost like a thin cracker. They have a mild vanilla flavor with a crunch. The memories are running through my head as I type.

IMG_1643.jpg
IMG_1663.jpg
IMG_1666.jpg
IMG_1671.jpg

Those times are gone and much of my family is gone. My mother, father, brother, grandparents, aunts and uncles....all gone. It is just my sister and I left. But I do have the good memories. My husband says his mother use to make them as well.

IMG_1658.jpg
IMG_1656.jpg

I already have the sand tarts on my list to make. I had forgotten all about them. Isn't it amazing what we remember and what we forget. It gives me chills.

These sand tarts are beautiful and Chris at the market did a fantastic job in making and decorating. They tasted wonderful with a cup of tea. Brought back some good memories.

IMG_1679.jpg

Give your family members an extra hug tonight! Much Love, Tess

Here are some other recipe posts you may have interest. If you have a chance please check them out!

It Finally ARRIVED! So EXCITED! ~ I need your HELP! Please

Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #26 ~ Meatball Subs

Homemade Applesauce ~ TRICK to making PINK! ~ FruitsandVeggiesMonda

What's for a snack? - Steepshot

Crab and Shrimp Burgers ~ Happy SUPERBOWL Day! ~ Food Photos & Video

Super Nachos Recipe ~ SUPERBOWL FOOD! ~ Food Photos and Video

Greek Hot Dog Sauce Recipe ~ Chili Sauce for Hot Dogs ~ Photos & Video

French Dip Beef Sandwich Recipe ~ Food Photos and Video

Rigatoni with Meat Sauce ~ Food Photos

Follow TESS COOKS4U on Social Media:

STEEMIT ~ YOUTUBE ~ FACEBOOK

WEBSITE ~ TESS COOKS4U AMAZON STORE

TESS COOKS4U PATREON

EMAIL: [email protected]

All images, videos and content are my original work.
Taken with Canon PS SX670 HS.
Please ask before borrowing. Thank you, Tess.

Please UPVOTE and FOLLOW me. Thank you and have a wonderful day.

Much Love, Tess :)

Sort:  

This looks great! I want eat hahaha. I just made "illuminati" semolina dessert 😅

10346627_10200980675038529_5066089996343874357_n.jpg

The unique shape, we always have a favorite cake and we always make it every weekend with family, and we are enjoy it together.
Would like I follow you @tesscooks4u? I want to learn more how to cook variant kind of food,
I am an Indonesian.

Those memories that bring those we love back to us even for just mere moments are the best. Enjoy your cookies sweet friend💜

You got a 0.62% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @tesscooks4u!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59796.03
ETH 2732.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52