TacoCat's TrEats #17: Claypot Rice at Malaysia Chiak! 🍚

in #food6 years ago (edited)


Hey Steemit!

I was walking around West Mall the other day looking for something yummy to eat and I saw this Malaysian hawker centre in the mall called Malaysia Chiak!

Image result for malaysia chiak

I have eaten at Malaysia Boleh! in Jurong Point but I think it's quite similar.

Related image

According to Wiki, claypot chicken rice is usually a dinner dish in the southern regions of China, Malaysia and Singapore. It is typically served with Chinese sausage and vegetables. More often than not, the rice is cooked in the claypot first and cooked ingredients like diced chicken and Chinese sausage are added in later. I'm not really sure about it being a specific dinner dish because I have eaten it for lunch before, but I believe the rice is indeed cooked in the claypot first.

Image result for claypot rice

Traditionally, the cooking is done over a charcoal stove, giving the dish a distinctive flavour. Some places serve it with dark soya sauce and also dried salted fish. Due to the time-consuming method of preparation and slow-cooking in a claypot, customers might have to wait a period of time (typically 15–30 minutes) before the dish is ready.

The claypot flavour is definitely the reason why this is one of my favourite dishes. The rice at the bottom gets stuck to the claypot and ends up becoming very crunchy and a little burnt so I like to mix it with the softer rice to even out the crunchiness. Sometimes it does take quite a while, so I wouldn't really classify this as a quick meal (especially since it'll be quite hot to eat it quickly). What I would typically do is order another dish to share with a friend while waiting for my claypot rice.


Something fast like char kway teow!

I recently ate at Malaysia Boleh! in Jurong Point again and I still think their claypot rice is the better. Even though it tasted slightly subpar than usual since it was during the dinner rush, it was still pretty tasty. The Malaysia Chiak! one was not too bad though.

If you're in the area and craving claypot rice, I'd definitely recommend going to these places and trying them out! They also have soo many other famous and delicious Malaysian food! The Malaysia Boleh! in Jurong Point actually expanded and has many more stalls now; I'll definitely have to go again and try them!

There's always an ongoing debate about whether Singapore food is better than Malaysia food. Tbh I'm on both/neither side since I'm technically half-Malaysian. Besides, it's all yummy and it all ends up in my tummy so who cares!

Image result for sgag best food is malaysia food

What's your favourite food?

Thanks for reading!


To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://tacocat.vornix.blog/2018/11/05/tacocats-treats-17-claypot-rice-at-malaysia-chiak-%f0%9f%8d%9a/

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 1.350191 lat 103.749238 long d3scr)

Check out my previous post in this series!
TacoCat's TrEats #16: Dinner at the MUJI Café!

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=taco.cat
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=tacocatstreats17claypotriceatmalaysiachiak-yfy4esezbm


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TacoCat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This looks so delicious!! I wonder if there is a Singapore Jiak in Malaysia? hmmm

Hehehehe sillyyy most sg food is from msia i thinkk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65316.48
ETH 2593.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65