Miss. Delicious #77 : Seraser in the Old Town of Kaleici (Antalya)

in #food7 years ago

Dear Steemit friends :

Every now and then, I like to go somewhere against the grain of popular opinion. Somewhere that people have told me isn't worth going to, or somewhere that is too touristy, full of people, uncultured, ugly.. the reasons go on. For my time in Turkey, one such place was Antalya.

Having experienced and seen the beauty and depth of Turkey first hand, I became curious as to why Antalya was singled out as being a notorious tourist spot with no real history and culture to experience, surely all the millions of people who visit there each year have experiences worth taking home with them?

In this edition of Miss. Delicious, we'll be venturing into the heart of the Antalya, deep in the old town district known as Kaleici. Aside from the gorgeous food that is to follow, take your time in admiring some of the surpsingly intact ancient buildings that remain in this little town.

Though evident in age, the Hadrian Gate, is a beautifully intact rustic building that oozes Roman style architecture, reminding us of the rich heritage this, and many other places in Turkey hold.

Legend says that the Queen of Sheba passed through an earlier iteration of these gates. For us, passing through this gate with four pylons and triple arches, grants us passage to the old town of Kaleici and a visit to our restaurant of choice.

Located just a few gentle minutes inside the old city, we arrive at Seraser fine dining restaurant.
It's not a grand entrance, comparable to the likes of say, The Dorchester or The Ritz, but then, Seraser isn't trying to give that kind of fine dining impression, instead, it fits in effortlessly with the local old town motifs and welcomes it's guests through a small side entrance, labelled with only a small plaque and minimalist hanging banner.

You probably wouldn't think of entering this place unless it was your intention all along, and in that vain, I really appreciate it's low profile approach. You will find that the exclusivity comes without the garish illusion of grand luxury fine dining, and surprisingly, a price tag to scorn at.

What you might not notice or even know, is that Seraser is a member of Confrérie de la Chaîne des Rôtisseurs.

What exactly is that you might ask?

Here is the description from Wikipedia.

Confrérie de la Chaîne des Rôtisseurs is an international gastronomic society founded in Paris in 1950. The Chaîne is based on the traditions and practices of the old French royal guild of goose roasters, whose authority gradually expanded to the roasting of all poultry, meat and game. It is dedicated to fine cuisine and promoting and developing the gastronomic values while at the same time widening its focus to table art.

Entering the restaurant, you suddenly feel like you've entered the garden of someone very important. As if you are the guest of a Royal. Indeed, the mansion house used to belong to a Royal some 300 years ago!



Being a member of a long time secret society of the gastronomic arts, Seraser has done exceptionally well in creating an environment that not only titillates the eyes, but also arouses the stomach.

Before sitting down, I recommend you take a walk around the courtyard, frame your mind and senses for the occassion. It isn't just about the food at Seraser, it's about the people, the place and the experience.

Ambient lighting with various kinds of lanterns, and lamps help with calming down and engaging relaxation mode. You will find quite a few places other than the dining tables to sit down and relax with a drink. After-all, gastronomy is as much about the food, as it is the infusion of art, culture of food through service.

It also helps that the restaurant is enriched with so much vegetation. There are plants, trees and vines absolutely everywhere.
Parts of the dining area are almost covered in lush green trees, shading the guests from the sun whilst the dim lamps create an ever so romantic atmosphere.

Further down the courtyard, you'll also find an interesting area devoid of tables and chairs. This place is decorated with some pottery, vases, and even a mini fountain. A wonderful area to waltz to when you feel a sense of claustrophobia.

Before sitting down, I was pleasantly greeted by a family of cats who seem to have made this restaurant their forever home. Unlike other ferral cats I have come cross, these are very friendly and constantly brushed themselves against my feet and legs as I walked around, and even when I sat down at my table.

The Menu

Cocktails

The first order of the day, and a perfect way to cool down from the heat and to prepare for the food to come.

On the left, my all time favourite drink (if you ever want to buy me a drink then this is the one to get!) Pina Colada. And on the right, we have the in-house Paradise Cocktail which consists of grenadine, coconut rum, pineapple juice, and Blue Curaçao. I had a sip of this one but Tania is no doubt a better drinker than I, because I felt a rush of dizziness almost immediately after a sip!

Starters

First up, we have the Moules Mariniere. These are Steamed French Provance style mussels in fruity Sauvignon Blanc. I personally really like anything of the seafood variety, and was most impressed with the slight alcoholic tinge combined with fresh-off-the-sea rawness.

These sesame seed doughballs are complimentary and served as a perfect activator for the appetite. I actually asked for a second serving of these, because they tasted so good with the Mussels.

Grilled Jumbo Shrimps & Aegen Herbs Cream - Grilled Jumbo shrimps; Aegen herbs cream and artichoke in olive oil.

The prawns are delectable, if only a bit small in serving size. In China, we eat prawns by the kilogram, so two jumbo shrimps really felt like nothing at all - I guess it served it's purpose as an appetizer though.

Cuttlefish Alla Sicula. Opting for more variety over sheer quantity, this was the third starter we opted for. Luckily, the serving sizes are quite small so the diversity is actually very welcomed. This particular dish consists of Sauteed cuttlefish with aged sweet passito; sun dried tomato, parisienne vegetables, capers, fried soya and vegetable ravioli.

It's almost hard to believe that all of that can be summed up into such a small cup size dish.

Sea Bass Wrapped in Wine Leaves

Sticking to the nominal serving sizes of the starters, this dish which consists of Sea bass wrapped in vine leaves; pepper salad and lemon & butter sauce is actually a main course.

I've never eaten wine leaves before, let alone wrapped around Sea Bass, it kind of tastes like a mediterranean version of sushi, except replace seaweed with wine leaves, and cooked seabass with raw fish. Definitely an fusion of tastes which require every bit of the platter to make it taste whole.

Octopus with Santorini Style

Grilled octopus; fried zucchini, potato and vanilla cream sauce, this dish brings back fond memories of my visit to Santorini last year. Although my recollection of the foods I tasted there are a distant memory, I remember how fresh the seafood was, as if I was tasting the sea.

Here, I'm sure the Octopus was alive just moments before it ended up on my plate. The tough chewy texture of the meat unleashed a hint of sea every bite you take but it's grilled preparation allows you to enjoy it like you would at a nightmarket on a skewer. A perfect blend of fine preparation and analogy of local folk style food.

I highly recommend the fried zucchini. Usually it can taste a bit bland because of it's large size, but here it is strips that have so much more surface area to absorb the cream and sea like taste of octopus. It's also a completely different texture to the octopus - a crunchy fried chip like taste, except much more delicate.

And that wraps up our visit to the secret Gastronomic restaurant that is Seraser, hidden in the heart of Kaleici, the old town within Turkey's Antalya. Who said there was nothing worth visiting in Antalya? You just have to go exploring a bit more, and be willing to walk in places through the side door sometimes..

As always, if you liked my post, give it an upvote, do follow me to stay up to date with my adventures, and leave a comment to let me know what you think!

P.S. I'm currently travelling in a new location which I will reveal in the next post. With so much of Turkey left to blog about, expect to find a mixture of posts about different places for the next few!


在土耳其,有一个地方,那里有鸟语花香,有曲曲弯弯的老街,你可以倚着城墙倾听古老的传说,也可以寻找一个美丽而有情调的空间,去与历史对话,与时空对话。这里就是安塔利亚的老城区,安塔利亚是我这次在土耳其旅行中最爱的城市之一,它位于土耳其西南部的地中海沿岸,自然和人文景观都让人为此陶醉的没话说。就连把土耳其行程安排满满的我,都任性的一连去了老城好多次。一直渴望在老城区享受一顿晚餐,在执着跑去的第二次,终于实现了自己的愿望。

你们可能听到我的描述,是不是已经满心欢喜,迫不及待想去看看了,现在就请和我一起走进老城区,探索一下这家据说是老城区最好吃的餐厅吧。眼前这个钟塔是老城区最显著的地标了,从远方都可以把它看得清楚,黄昏的时候,塔尖发出了紫色的光束,在古老朴素的老房子中显得神秘而耀眼。迈进Seraser餐厅的第一步,我就被眼前这静谧温馨的小院子打动了心,如果不去了解它背后的故事,你就不会知道,这家餐厅的主楼建筑和石头大院已经有300多年的历史了。这家餐厅的魅力不仅于此,它根据人类的感官器官眼睛,鼻子和耳朵,全方位的把你带入它自己的故事里,除了眼睛所看到的伊甸园美景,鼻子所闻见海岛花儿的清香,就连听觉上,餐厅也请了地道的乐队现场演奏土耳其音乐,给你更加立体的餐厅第一印象。

还有呢,那错落有致的盆景,绿荫下乘凉的小猫咪一家,好似藏在山洞里精致的酒吧吧台,都给了我从未有过的浪漫体验。我忍不住和这些可爱精致的小景观合影好多张。这家餐厅的用餐区还细致的装修成了不同风格,主楼里是略微古典的欧式桌椅,装潢的像座城堡一样;几棵苍天大树倚着的洞穴里,是较为简约风格的布置;还有美丽花园里独具民俗风格的竹椅。这家餐厅平日里都非常火爆,附近酒店的住客都会坐着车为它而来,大部分人喜欢选择坐在洞穴餐区,而我则别出心裁选择了花园用餐区。看了菜单,你会发现,这家餐厅主要提供的是传统的地中海系菜肴,绝对是我期待已久的口味。

首先上桌的是酒吧先生为我特意调制的鸡尾酒,习惯上竟然还印着酒的名字。味道好喝到真的不法用言语形容。接下来上来开胃小菜,搭配面包的海鲜酱,和意大利盛产的油醋汁,搭配了橄榄油和黑醋。接着服务生捧着一篮子可爱的小面包出现在我面前,让我自由选择喜欢的面包。前菜是非常有独创精神的烤大虾和鱿鱼,搭配了土豆,菠菜酱,和地中海一系列的调味小蔬菜水果,不得不说,这样的配菜我是第一次见。主菜是用紫菜包住的新鲜鱼肉和做成蛋挞状的八爪鱼,这盘鱼肉被紫菜包裹着,还真是别具一格,我在猜想,厨师会不会是受到日本寿司的启发。而八爪鱼是做成了希腊圣托里尼的风格,味道鲜美,原汁原味。坐在这仿佛是宫廷版的小院子里,从黄昏到深夜,亮起灯火的院子更显迷人,而我欣赏着美景,久久不愿离开。今天的对于老城最典雅的餐厅的探索就到这里啦,之后还有更多有趣的旅行中美食要分享给大家,大家敬请期待吧。

Sort:  

Hey sister :) It's been way too long since we have caught up! I hope you are doing fantastic. I have so much to tell you about all that has happened so far since we last spoke.

You do realize that you are the only one who was there for me when I needed help in my first few days here. You're such a Lady-Boss with all your efforts. Honestly, still to this date you are the smartest woman I have ever spoken to. I appreciate you my friend!

You can click on my profile, and see how things have evolved since that time you gave me advice. Stay awesome my friend :) Talk soon.

hello @enazwahsdarb, I am also eager to learn to work and be a successful author within the community, I would like to be able to contact you and get tips to achieve it. greetings and happy day

Sure thing brother. I have a ton on messages I still need to respond to on chat, but you can send me a message on steemit.chat (Same name), and ask anything you need help with :) When I get the time, I'll give you some attention!

@enazwahsdarb i am trully inspired by your attitude i must confess and uve earned my followership.
Its not common to find people who would returns to say thank you.
Its really important to give back to those that inspired you to greatness

Well said brother! Of course we need to give back :)

I couldn't bare the thought of not showing my appreciation to the one who was there for me!

Aww that is so sweet!

I gotta do it for my Chinese sister over here :D

you are amazing girl...
your neighbour,
@cryptonewz

lel, did you just rip-off my avatar???

Haha I thought you guys were the same person at first!

no we are not bro..hahhaa

i am so confused :D

She's humble woman thats why many people love her bro..

Couldn't agree more. She is a very diverse woman who knows exactly what she wants, and how to get it. Love it!

we are just so lucky to be her friend..^_^

hey my friend i'm so happy to see you're doing so well. I've been unable to login to Steemit chat for a couple of weeks now.. So totally disconnected on there.. when i'm back, i'll definitely drop a message and say hello!!

Ahh I see.. Thanks for letting me know. Yeah it has been quite a while, and it was all of a sudden too. I hope you're doing fantastic?

By the way, I just posted this my milestone post!! :)

[]

I look forward to catching up with you. If you need any help getting chat working, you can send me a message on Discord, or Instagram :)

Is it just me to are you pictures just getting better and better?? They're amazing for low light!!! You really making me want to go to Turkey now 😎

thank you cheeto, I actually used a metabones adaptor, to use my 50mm f/1.4 from my Canon on my Sony A9. I think it works pretty good!

Ah, I have one of those 50mm f1.4s as well - they're amazing!! Don't get upset at me now - but you need a Canon body too - hehe 😉

I made it to Cape Town again!! Love it here!! You definitely have to make a plan to come to South Africa sometime 😁
Please could you have a look at my post? It's only our trip to here, but there will be more ☺️
Thanks @sweetsssj!! You totally rock 😎

Thanks - beautiful post - makes me want to go to all these places.

What a beautiful pictures!

Beautiful you and your posts too. I love to read each and every post of yours. Sometimes I don't get time to read the full content but I make sure that whenever I am free I read the whole thing. Thanks for sharing...

Same here my friend !
That is the reason why I made this for her !!

Thank you kekhrie, it's wonderful to have such a dedicated follower as yourself. I do put a lot of effort into my writing, so i'm happy you take the time to read through it :)

Same here. I'm loving her post and obvoiusly she's beautiful

really it is amazing, I like your comment, it is wonderful, I can not believe it.

Will stop by Sereser when i'm in town..

there is something romantic about courtyard restaurants.

I remember one in particular from my university days and nothing can match the intimacy and romance of being safely walled within your own private garden that's open to the sky.

Of course the plants contribute to the ambiance as does the subdued lighting that conjures the atmosphere of candlelight.

Great restaurants always merge with and complement their surroundings and Seraser does that.

Nestled in the midst of ancient buildings its quiet and unobtrusive presence bespeaks style, grace and tradition.

The seafood entries were visually appealing as well as the colourful drinks.

As you so aptly put in in your review, 'gastronomy is as much about the food, as it is the infusion of art, culture of food through service.' Exactly.

The goal of a restaurant who's intention is to provide fine dining and an excellent cuisine is to relax you-not impress you, and Seraser does that.

I found it charming that several cats have 'adopted' the restaurant and made it their home. Nothing is more cozy and relaxing that a purring cat!

A beautiful dining experience, @sweetsssj, with gorgeous photos and an articulate review. You left the reader intrigued by the magic of fine dining in a historic setting.

Beautiful.

@fede1944 I believe tha nature only nature let us something like that.

Thank you John! I wish I could put things so eloquently as you have done in this comment. Thank you for adding much value to the conversation!

you're welcome, sssj, but don't underestimate your writing abilities. This post was very well-written. I've really enjoyed this tour of Turkey this far. Imagine - Hadrian's Wall and the Queen of Sheba! Magical...

Good point, the objective should be to relax you not impress you. 😃 😄 I hope you have a wonderful day!

thanks, @pjcswart. Have a wonderful day also :)

You're welcome you too!

Your posts never cease to amaze!

I try my best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73