An ALMOST Perfect Hollandaise Sauce

in #food6 years ago

Just down the road from where I live, there’s a quaint little restaurant that has a beautiful out-door setting. They also have an amazing menu and the most mouth-watering Eggs Benedict with Hollandaise sauce. I have been trying to replicate this Hollandaise for quite some time now and on my most recent attempt (the fourth attempt), I almost got it right.

Friday nights are “quick meal” nights, where we don’t really stick to the regular theme of meat, veg and starch. On a Friday night, anything goes! So last night I decided to fry up some bacon and eggs and give the Hollandaise of my dreams one last go. While it wasn't the exact replica that makes me go weak at the knees, it was still super delicious.

I give to you, Hollandaise a'la @sweetpea:


The recipe I am about to share is a mixture of three recipes I have tried and tested. I originally started making the sauce on the stove top only, but in last nights attempt I used a blender to get the sauce thick and creamy, which I found was quicker, and worked better!

To Make An Almost Perfect Hollandaise You Will Need:


  • 2 egg yolks
  • Half a cup of butter
  • A teaspoon of water
  • A teaspoon of vinegar
  • A teaspoon of fresh lemon juice
  • A pinch of Cayenne pepper
  • A pinch of salt

Utensils: stick blender and beaker, saucepan, cup, teaspoon and mixing spoon.


Instructions:


  1. Add your egg yolks, water, vinegar and lemon juice to your beaker.
  2. Melt butter and remove it from the heat as soon as it starts to boil.
  3. Add butter to egg yolk mixture.
  4. Blend everything together on medium until the sauce becomes thick and creamy.
  5. Add Cayenne pepper and salt to taste!

* Serve on eggs and bacon!

Yup, we had breakfast for dinner! I told you, anything goes on a Friday night! The meal went down well! The only bummer, once again, was dishes! This is one of those meals where you have to use tons of utensils and with all the butter and oil splashing around, the kitchen looks like a war-zone after cooking. Did I mention I DON’T have a dish washer??

Let me know if this sauce hits the spot for you? Perhaps you have some trick and tips up your sleeve to make an actual PERFECT Hollandaise? Do share?

FYI

This post was inspired by @jaynie, the creator of #steemitbloggers and the #whatscookingchallenge. If you often find yourself conjuring up a storm in the kitchen, you can enter the challenge too. In fact, I challenge and nominate @karenmckersie @deelusions @hubbi @dansum86 and @roseri to get cooking and enter the #whatscookingchallenge


Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Join us @steemitbloggers

Animation By @zord189


Sort:  

Yarrrr !!!!

that'll get your day started right !!

Lol, it was actually breakfast for dinner, a good end to the day ;)

Looks good! The ingridents remind me of homemade mayo. Im going to do a post on that soon.

Looking forward to it :) it almost tastes like mayo, just not as "tangy"

I really, really need to try this recipe. The hollandaise sauce I've ever attempted was the dry packet style and it is just not the same as it is when made fresh. Thanks for sharing.

Oooh, I didn't even know you got it as a dry packet sauce, but hmmm, doesn't sound like it could be that appetising.

I have an ancient double boiler that I think came from my partner's great-grandmother, which makes Hollandaise really easy.

I'm very much a butter and egg yolk purist in mine, though. Maybe wave a lemon at it at some point.

Ha ha, the lemon makes all the difference, and the vinegar too! They don't make cooking appliances like they used to, some of my favourite utensils have been passed down to me too!

That's something I want to try out in the future for sure :)

Yay, enjoy it when you make it!

Never heard of this before. It actually looks yummy, thanks for sharing your recipe with us!

My pleasure! It's quite a popular addition to modern breakfast dishes at restaurants, keep an eye open for it, it's sooo delicious!

This sure looks amazing!!!!

Thanks, which I could send you a taste tester ;)

Yeahhh, I shall virtually do the tasting! Hehehehee! :D

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Hello @sweetpea, it looks very delicious your sauce, I would like to try it, some day of these you invite me. God bless you. Greetings to your family.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57912.63
ETH 2348.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37