Norwegian Traditional Christmas Food

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Christmas is almost here and today I had “ribbe” for the first time this year. It’s basically ribs of pork, with potatoes, sauce, veggies and sausage.

My mom made it for her birthday celebration and invited her family. Such a great day!

image

Many Norwegians eat this on Christmas Eve. We celebrate Christmas on the evening of the 24.th og December in Norway. This is also when we open all the presents!

image

We eat «pinnekjøtt» on Christmas Eve in my family.
That’s meat from lamb, and basically means stick meat. Ha ha! Google it!
Some Norwegians also eat fish (cod) at Christmas. It depends on where in the country you live and what you were used to eat when you grew up.

Do you celebrate Christmas? If so, what do you eat?

Susanne

Sort:  

We do ribbe, but ever since I got my smoker I have done it low and slow.
8 -10 hours on the smoker with a quick heat on the fat in the end to get the SVOR! :)

Delicious!!

Oh! Nice!!! That sounds amazing!! SVOR ftw! :p

Deilig

Tell your mother a randon guy called InspirationalRag wishes her a happy birthday and a life filled with joy and wealth :D
The meal your mother made looks delicious...If i were there, I would've devoured the whole thing and asked for a second plate. Great post susanne!

I will! Thanks! Hahaha! That is actually exactly what I did :p Thanks for reading!

tasty and delicious comrades

Med riskrem og bringebærsaus til dessert ;)

Ja, det må til! :p I går hadde vi bare Dronning Maud-pudding da! :p

Veldig godt det også!! ;)

aaaargh savn! SKal bli godt å komme hjem i julen om litt under en måned :)

Er du i Stavanger i romjulen? Må klare å få til lunsj/kaffe eller noe denne ganger hvertfall!

Skal du hjem ja? Din globetrotter! Jeg er absolutt i Stavanger i romjulen, før jeg drar til Sør-Afrika med @travelmarcus. :p JA! Enig.

Where's the LEFSE?!?!?

It's not Christmas yet!! HAHAHHA !

This looks so delicious. Christmas is really here! I also love the taste of dried cod in my soups as an african. Now my appetite is wet o! But for us here in Nigeria christmas is celebrated with rice and chicken with vegetables/salad by the side most times. Do enjoy your meal. Happy birthday wishes to your mom!

Hi! That sounds great too! I love chicken! Thank you so much!

What a tasty food! In Romania, we celebrate Christmas going to church and carolling. Our traditional food is pork steak, boeuf salad and the so-called "sarmale" (cabbage rolls filled with a mix consisting of rice, meat, carrot, onions, tomato sauce and spices). Merry Christmas! :D

This sounds so delicious! I'd love to try that salad!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59604.53
ETH 2413.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43